- Subject Guides
- Librarian Subject Specialists
- Recommend a Purchase for Collection
- Ask a Reference Question
- Ask a UC Librarian
- My Account
- Activate your library card
- Connect From Off Campus
- For Faculty and Graduate Students
- For Undergraduate Students
- Scholarly Communication
- UC Davis Open Access Fund
Humanities & Social Sciences
Native American Studies Print Bibliography
Native American Studies as a discipline encompasses a wide-ranging number of fields: history, linguistics, anthropology, art, literature, folklore, ethnobotany, sociology, etc.
UC Davis is one of the only universities in the United States that offers a doctoral program in Native American Studies. Some of the areas of interest for faculty in the department include ethnohistory, ethnomusicology, literature, social anthropology, and linguistic anthropology.
There are many intersections between Native American Studies and Chicano/a Studies. Among mestizos, ethnic affinities are often a matter of self-identification.
These references provide brief biographical sketches of prominent Native Americans, as well as highlights of recent Native American history.
- Native North American Firsts
- Karen Gayton Swisher, AnCita Benally, [editors]. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, E77 .S96 1998
- A to Z of Native American Women
- Liz Sonneborn. New York: Facts on File, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 S65 1998
- The Encyclopedia of Native American Biography: Six Hundred Life Stories of Important People from Powhatan to Wilma Mankiller
- Bruce E. Johansen and Donald A. Grinde, Jr. New York: Henry Holt and Co., 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, E89 .J69 1997
- The ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement
- Mark Grossman. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1996.
- HSSGIS Reference, KF8203.36 .G76 1996
- Native North American Biography
- Edited by Sharon Malinowski and Simon Glickman. New York: UXL, 1996.
- HSSGIS Reference, E89 .N395 1996
- Native American women: a Biographical Dictionary
- Gretchen M. Bataille, editor. New York: Garland, 1993.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 B38 1993
- Native American Women: A Contextual locationgraphy
- Rayna Green. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1983.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.W8 G75 1983
These references offer information on newspapers and periodicals published by Native Americans from the early 19th century to the present. However, such locationgraphies should not be considered exhaustive, as many reservation newspapers remain uncatalogued.
- Native American periodicals and newspapers, 1828-1982: locationgraphy, Publishing Record, and Holdings
- Edited by James P. Danky. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984.
- HSSGIS Reference, E77 .D3 1984
- American Indian and Alaska Native Newspapers and Periodicals
- Daniel F. Littlefield, Jr., and James W. Parins. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1984-
- HSSGIS Reference, PN4883 .L57 1984
These references provide general-level entries on most aspects of Native American histories, cultures, languages, etc., and generally include concise and well-chosen locationgraphies for further research.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
- Edited by Sharon Malinowski. Detroit: Gale, 1998
- HSSGIS Reference, E77 .G15 1998
- Encyclopedia of North American Indians.
- New York: Marshall Cavendish, 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .E53 1997
- Encyclopedia of Native American tribes
- Carl Waldman. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 1988.
- HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .W35 1988
Handbooks & Guides
These references focus on the (linguistic) anthropology and ethnography of indigenous peoples of the Americas.
- Chronology of the American Indian: A Guide to Native Peoples of the Western Hemisphere, 25,000 B.C.-1994
- Newport Beach, CA: American Indian Publishers, 1994.
- HSSGIS Reference, E58 .C49 1994 Lib Use Only
- Handbook of the American frontier: Four Centuries of Indian-White Relationships
- J. Norman Heard. Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1987-1998
- HSSGIS Reference, E76.2 .H43 1987
- Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico
- Frederick Webb Hodge, editor. Washington: GPO, 1907-10.
- HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.30
- Handbook of North American Indians
- William C. Sturtevant, general editor. Washington: Smithsonian Institution, 1978-
- HSSGIS Reference, E77 .H251
- Handbook of Middle American Indians.
- Robert Wauchope, general editor. Austin: University of Texas Press, [1964-76].
- HSSGIS Reference, F1434 .h4
- Handbook of South American Indians
- Julian H. Steward, editor. Washing: GPO, 1946-59.
- HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.143
- Handbook of the Indians of California
- A. L. Kroeber. Washingon: GPO, 1925
- HSSGIS Reference, E51 .U5 no.78
- Supplement to the Handbook of Middle American Indians
- Victoria Reifler Bricker, general editor. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1981-
- HSSGIS Reference F1434 .h4 suppl.
This section covers a good deal of ground, from culture and oral tradition as well as the literatures of Mesoamerca to contemporary Native American artists and writer.
- Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
- Kathy J. Whitson. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999.
- HSSGIS Reference, PS153.I52 W47 1999
- Contemporary Native American Authors: a Biographical Dictionary
- Kay Juricek, Kelly J. Morgan. Golden, Colo.: Fulcrum Pub, 1997.
- HSSGIS Reference, PS153.I52 J87 1997
- Dictionary of Native American Literature
- Andrew Wiget, editor. New York: Garland, 1994.
- HSSGIS Reference, PM155 .D53 1994
- Native North American Literature: Biographical and Critical Information on Native Writers and Orators from the United States and Canada from Historical Times to the Present
- Janet Witalec, editor. New York: Gale Research, 1994.
- HSSGIS Reference, PS508.I5 N38 1994
- The Dresden Codex: Drawings of the Pages and Commentary in Spanish
- Carlos A. Villacorta, J. Antonio Villacorta C. Laguna Hills, Calif.: Aegean Park Press, [1992?]
- Shields LibraryF1435.3.W75 C629 1992 Regular Loan
- Living Traditions: a Museum Guide for Native American People of California.
- California Native American Heritage Commission, 1992.
- HSSGIS Reference, E78.C15 L58 1992
- Native American Literature
- Andrew Wiget. Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1985.
- HSSGIS Reference, PM155 .W54 1985
- Native North American Music and Oral Data: Catalogue of Sound Recordings, 1893-1976
- Dorothy Sara Lee. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1979.
- HSSGIS Reference, ML156.2 .L4 Lib Use Only
- On the Music of the North American Indians
- Theodore Baker, translated by Ann Buckley. The Netherlands: F. Knuf, 1976.
- Shields Library ML3557.B213 Regular Loan
Indigenous knowledge encompasses traditional religions, healing, folkways, etc.
- Dictionary of Native American Mythology
- Sam D. Gill, Irene F. Sullivan. Santa Barbara, Calif.:ABC-CLIO, 1992.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 G46 1992
- The Encyclopedia of Native American Religions: an Introduction
- Arlene Hirschfelder, Paulette Molin. New York: Facts on File, 1992.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 H73 1992
- Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism: Sacred Ceremonies of North America
- William S. Lyon. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.M4 L98 1998
- Native American Ethnobotany
- Daniel E. Moerman. Portland, Or.: Timber Press, 1998.
- HSSGIS Reference E98.B7 M66 1998
- Native American Religions: a Geographical Survey
- John James Collins. Lewiston [N.Y.]: E. Mellen Press, 1991.
- HSSGIS Reference, E98.R3 C69 1991
Laws & Treaties
As sovereign peoples, most Native American tribes in the United States and Canada entered into treaties with colonial and federal governments.
- Documents of American Indian Diplomacy: Treaties, Agreements, and Conventions, 1775-1979
- Vine Deloria, Jr., and Raymond J. DeMallie. Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, c1999.
- Regular Loan, KF8202 1999
- Early American Indian Documents: Treaties and Laws, 1607-1789 (8 vols.)
- Alden T. Vaughan, Editor. Washington, D.C.: University Publications of America, c1979-.
- Regular Loan, KF8202 1979
- Indian Treaties, 1778-1883
- Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler. With a new foreword by Brantley Blue. New York, Interland Pub., 1972.
- HSSGIS Reference, KF8202 1972
- Kappler Revisited: An Index and locationgraphic Guide to American Indian Treaties
- Charles D. Bernholz. Kenmore, N.Y.: Epoch Books, c2003.
- Shields Gov Info and Maps Reference, KF8203 2003 Regular Loan
- Laws of the Colonial and State Governments, Relating to Indians and Indian affairs, from 1633 to 1831, Inclusive: With an Appendix Containing the Proceedings of the Congress of Confederation and the Laws of Congress from 1800 to 1830, on the Same Subject.
- Stanfordville, N.Y.: E. M. Coleman, 1979.
- Regular Loan, KF8203 1979
- Supplement to Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties: Compiled Federal Regulations Relating to Indians.
- [Wash., D.C.] : United States Department of the Interior, 1975.
- Regular Loan, KF8203.5 1975
A good deal of valuable ethnographic and linguistic information is deposited in the papers and collections of a number of American ethnologists and anthropologists. UC special and departmental libraries have large collections of such fieldwork.
- The Papers of John Peabody Harrington in the Smithsonian Institution, 1907-1957
- Edited by Elaine L. Mills. Millwood, N.Y.: Kraus International Publications, 1981-
- Shields Library Microcopy Collection E54.h47 1981 mf
Ethnohistory refers to Native American history as derived from disciplines such as ethnography, linguistics, archaeology, and ecology.
- The Indians of Central and South America: an Ethnohistorical Dictionary
- James S. Olson. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
- HSSGIS Reference F1434.O45 1991
- Ethnohistory: a Researcher's Guide
- [Dennis Wiedman, guest editor]. [Williamsburg, Va., U.S.A.: Dept. of Anthropology, College of William and Mary, 1986]
- Shields Library GN308.E83 1986 Regular Loan
- American Indian Resource Ctr, Huntington Park Lib.
- locationgraphies of Northern and Central California Indians
- Index of Native American Resources on the Internet
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties. Compiled and Edited by Charles J. Kappler
- The full seven-volume set, available online.
- National Museum of the American Indian Web resources
- Native American Documents Project
- Native American Documents: Treaties / Tribal Laws
- http://envirotext.eh.doe.gov/treaties.htm / http://envirotext.eh.doe.gov/triblaw.htm
- Full-text database of tribal legal codes, treaties, and other legal documents.
- "Resources for Indigenous Cultures around the World," including news, links, etc.
- This guide to the world's languages is particularly strong on indigenous languages of the Americas.
- American Memory
- (Indian Land Cessions) The Library of Congress' American Memory digital collections includes a number of historically significant documents, such as the records of Indian land cessions.
- Edward Curtis' photography
- LC has also digitized Edward Curtis' portfolio of Native American photography.
- Portrayals of Native Americans
- A collection from UC Berkeley's Bancroft Library offers digitized images of Native Americans.
- US Census (PDF)
- http://www.census.gov/population/www/socdemo/race/indian.html / http://www.census.gov/prod/2002pubs/c2kbr01-15.pdf
- The US Census Bureau offers demographic information about Native Americans in the United States.
- Canada's Collections
- Digital collections provided by the Canadian government, including dozens of sites devoted to Canada's First Peoples.
- Code Talk
- "Code Talk is a federal inter-agency Native American Web site designed specifically to deliver electronic information from government agencies and other organizations to Native American communities. Code Talk is hosted by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Native American Programs."
- The National Indian Law Library
- "A selection of free federal Indian and tribal law primary resources on the Internet."
- Bureau of Indian Affairs
- Official website for the BIA. Provides links to a number of useful Native American resources offered by the federal government, including recent legislation, census information, tribal affiliations, etc.
- The Newberry Library
- The Edward E. Ayer Collection, housed at the Newberry, is "one of the best in the country and in the words of a former Yale University Library Curator, Ayer is "perhaps the finest gathering of materials on American Indians in the world."
- LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
- Provides links to scholarly and official websites in Latin America dealing with indigenous populations.
Useful call numbers for browsing Native American Studies collections include the following ranges:
- E51-E99 Indians of North America (E99 broken down by individual tribes)
- F1218-1221 Meso-American Indians (Uto-Aztecan, Mexico)
- F1435 Maya
- PM 101-7356 Native American Languages (North and South America)
- PN 1995 Native Americans — Depictions in Film
Useful subject headings for searching Native American Studies holdings include the following:
- America — Antiquities
- American Indian Movement
- American Indian Painting
- Human Geography — America
- Indians in Art
- Indians in Literature
- Indians in Motion Pictures
- Indians in Popular Culture
- Indians of Central America
- Indians of Mexico
- Indians of North America
- Indians of South America
- Indians, Treatment of
- [Tribal name (Inuit, Iroquois, Dakota, etc.)]
Most subject headings can be further refined by the addition of a subheading—either geographic (e.g., Indians of Mexico — Oaxaca, Indians of North America — Arizona) or thematic (Indians of Mexico — Antiquities, Indians of South America —Agriculture — Bolivia).
Individual tribes or cultures can be searched for in the catalogue as freestanding subject entries (e.g., Sioux Indians, Delaware Indians, Yokuts Indians, Miwok Indians). Library of Congress Subject Headings are somewhat conservative, and do not necessarily reflect current tribal self-identification (e.g., those looking for entries on the Lakota will be directed to "Sioux Indians").
The epithet "Indians" is applied to contemporary indigenous peoples throughout the Americas (e.g., Luiseño Indians, Tepehua Indians, Aymara Indians) but not to indigenous civilizations (i.e., there are entries for "Olmecs," "Mayas, "Aztecs," but none for "Olmec Indians," "Maya Indians," "Aztec Indians," or "Inca Indians"; instead, their descendants are known as "Indians": "Nahuatl Indians," "Tzeltal Indians," "Quechua Indians). Eskimo and Inuit are not considered "Indians." Some South American tribes are not described as "Indians (e.g., "Iquitos" rather than "Iquito Indians")."