ABG 202: Animal Biology Grant Writing

by Ruth Gustafson – December 2, 2020

FACULTY:  Alison Van Eenennaam – alvaneenennaam@ucdavis.edu  & Anna Denicol — acdenicol@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your UCD animal-related grant proposals.

Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:

as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, and Avian Sciences.   UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.

DID YOU KNOW?  Shields Library is open – Check out real-time number of people in the building for the open hours @ https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/plan-your-visit/

More about the UCD Libraries during COVID time at https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/coronavirus/

 

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

  • Library Guides & Tutorials
  • Librarian Instructor for Fall Quarter 2020
    • Ruth Gustafson   @ ragustafson@ucdavis.edu
  • Science Consultations: Options to seek assistance now are:

1) book an appointment with your class instructor (see above)
OR
2) email your Librarian Subject Specialist directly

Ruth Gustafson collects materials to support ALL animal-related research with the exception of Veterinary Medicine. Disciplines supported in Biological/Agricultural areas include animal behavior, animal anatomy & physiology, animal ecology, animal nutrition, animal taxonomy & systematics.  Resources in BioAg tend to be located in four call number areas on the 3rd floor of Shields Library: QL — Zoology ; SF — Animal Agriculture ; SH — Fisheries & Aquaculture ; SK —Wildlife and Hunting.  Marine Biology materials may additionally be located on the 2nd floor Shields in the GC area.

The Carlson Health Sciences library collects materials to support VetMed which are classed in the SF area. NOTE:  This is the only VetMed library collection in the UC system.

  • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Collections, Shields Library
    The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the GC classification area.
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library
    The Carlson Health Sciences Library is near the SouthWest corner of the UC Davis campus just North of Valley Hall .

Note that the UCD Library has many books on proposal and grant writing. Search the Library of Congress Subject Heading (LCSH)  Proposal Writing For Grants to see the various resources.  Other subject headings of use are:       Research Grants – Directories  or Research Grants – Handbooks or    Research Grants – United States

NOTE: Books from Carlson Health Sciences Library can be delivered to Shields Library by clicking on book title link, scrolling down below yellow bar and clicking on the Interlibrary Request link.  Your Student ID number is used to REQUEST the item.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
     Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

SPECIAL NOTE:  Temporary online access is available for some print-only UCD materials.  Look for the gray elephant icon with the link label “Full Text Available at HathiTrust.” Also note that the “Physical copy is Library Use Only”.  Follow the HathiTrust link and LOGIN using your UCD credentials.

COVID TIME DUE DATES EXTENSION:    For any items “checked out, due dates are being extended indefinitely. If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present

There are three principle sources for finding grants/scholarships for students:

I. UCD Library print directories/handbooks — often in Reference collections (may cover all disciplines or be discipline-based) II. Subscriptions to services (e.g. Pivot “Community of Science”) [See next resource just below] III.  Grantseeking Web Guides [See next section below in course guide]

I. PRINT LIBRARY REFERENCE RESOURCES  — Shields Library Reference (All Subjects Reference Collection), 2nd floor Shields Library (Northwestern area behind Consultation/Reference desk)

Some titles are specifically for grants for individuals. The following titles are in the Reference collection so cannot be checked out but photocopies can be made from it. When in the UCD Library Catalog and bring up these records, notice all of the linkable subject headings below that may be useful to find additional print tools, such as Endowments — United States — Directories.

1) Foundation grants to individuals / Phyllis Edelson, editor. Edition 19th ed. Published [New York] : Foundation Center, c2010. Call no. Shields Library Reference LB2336 .F598 2010 Lib Use Only

Contents Introduction — Federal laws and grants to individuals — Scholarships and grants to individuals : where to find them — Glossary — Abbreviations — Resources for individual grantseekers : a bibliography — Resources of the Foundation Center — Foundation Center cooperating collections — Descriptive directory — Appendix — Indexes. Subject Endowments — United States — Directories. Learning and scholarship — United States — Directories. Student loans — United States — Directories. Endowments — Directories. Scholarships — Directories. Student loans — Directories. Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations.

2) Scholarships, grants & prizes 2020 /[Mark D. Snider, editor].. Lawrenceville, NJ : Peterson’s, c2019.  Shields Library Reference LB2337.4 .P475 2020 Lib Use Only

3) Annual register of grant support. New Providence [etc.] R.R. Bowker [etc.] UCD Shields Library Reference Q180 U5 A15 2020 (latest issue)  Lib Use Only

4) The Grants register. Chicago : Palgrave Macmillan, c1969- UCD Shields Library Reference LB2338 G75 latest edition 2018 [This has an European focus]  Lib Use Only

NOW online for 2020 The Grants Register: the complete guide to postgraduate funding worldwide

5) Directory of financial aids for women. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 1978-. Shields Library Reference HQ1381 .S36 Current issue- 2017/2019  Lib Use Only

II. Subscriptions to services

Pivot (Previously Community of Science Pivot) [Restricted]

URL: https://pivot.proquest.com/funding_main

UCD Office of Research subscribes to the licensed CoS (Community of Science) Pivot tool

Grants and Related Resources 

Author: MSU Libraries | Michigan State University

Michigan State University Library provides an excellent guide to Granting resources. The main body of the guide leads one to a variety of categories such as: Grants and Related Resources Background Info; Researching Potential Funders; Grants for Nonprofits (By Subject Categories); Grants for Individuals (By Academic Level, Population Group, and Subject); Funding for Business or Economic Development; Federal Funding Tools and Links; and National Grant Makers.

Grant Writing Links and Resources [UC Davis] 

Author: Office of the Vice Provost – Academic Affairs

The UC Davis Office of Vice Provost–Academic Affairs and Professor Suad Joseph of the Department of Anthropology and Program in Women and Gender Studies have provided this information on grantsmanship to assist UC Davis faculty with understanding the fundamental components of a proposal, networking with potential granting agencies, and learning about available resources.

Funding Opportunities [UC Davis] 

Author: Office of Research

Provides categories on UCD specific funding opportunities and others as follows: Limited Submissions Program; Customize Your Funding Search; Research Funding System (Open Opportunities); Links to Funding Programs; Weekly Research Funding Updates

Candid (previously Foundation Center website) 

Candid is Foundation Center and GuideStar resources merged together.  Candid does have *selected* resources free on the web. You can locate foundations by state, or ranked by assets and total giving.  The Foundation Center is the primary national clearinghouse on grant-making by private, charitable, community and corporate foundations.

For help with any of the tools below, feel free to contact the UCD Library’s DataLab staff

DMPTool 

Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

Build your Data Management Plan using the DMPTool. The DMPTool provides a guide for drafting the document that you must submit with your grant application. Users of the DMPTool can view sample plans, preview funder requirements, and view the latest changes to their plans. The tool also permits the user to create an editable document for submission to a funding agency, and can accommodate different versions as funding requirements change.

It supports data management plans and funder requirements across the disciplines and includes multiple agency requirements. Templates for funders of Biological/Agricultural and Environmental Sciences interest include: Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative, Institute of Museum and Library Services, National Institutes of Health, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NSF-AGS: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, NSF-BIO: Biological Sciences (2013- ), NSF-CHE: Chemistry Division, NSF-DMR: Materials Research, NSF-EAR: Earth Sciences, NSF-EFRI: Emerging Frontiers in Reseach and Innovation, NSF-ENG: Engineering, NSF-GEN: Generic, NSF Polar Programs: Arctic Data Center.

EZID

Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

Makes data easy to discover and cite.

Use EZID to: create identifiers for anything, texts, data, bones, terms, etc.; store citation metadata for identifiers in a variety of formats; and update current URL locations so citation links are never broken.

EZID’s Off Site programming interface allows for automated operation at scale where you can choose from a variety of persistent identifiers, including ARKs and DataCite DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).

Merritt

Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)

Archive and preserve your research. Merritt is a UC repository for all subjects.

Merritt is a new cost-effective repository service from the University of California Curation Center (UC3) that lets the UC community manage, archive, and share its valuable digital content. Merritt features: an easy-to-use interface for deposit and update; access via persistent URLs; tools for long-term management; and permanent storage.

See also these services and tools webpages from the UCD Davis Library DataLab

* Research Data Services @   https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/research-data-services/
* DataLab: Data Science and Informatics  @ https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/digital-scholarship/

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural and Environmental SciencesArts & HumanitiesBiological SciencesEngineering & TransportationGeneral & Multidisciplinary SourcesGovernment InformationHealth SciencesPhysical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as ASFA) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to search by journal title and then look for the black and white striped  symbol  Refereed (referee shirt) indicating the publication is refereed or peer-reviewed.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and sub-disciplines.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, pushing rankings for original research titles lower, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2018 (for 1996-2017 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely