ABI 187: Animal Biology Seminar

by Ruth Gustafson – December 2, 2020

FACULTY:  Bob Kimsey — rbkimsey@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your UCD animal researcher mentor research.

 Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:

as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, and Avian Sciences.   UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Ruth Gustafson collects materials to support ALL animal-related research with the exception of Veterinary Medicine. Disciplines supported in Biological/Agricultural areas include animal behavior, animal anatomy & physiology, animal ecology, animal nutrition, animal taxonomy & systematics. Resources in BioAg tend to be located in four call number areas on the 3rd floor of Shields Library: QL – Zoology ; SF — Animal Agriculture ; SH — Fisheries & Aquaculture ; SK – Wildlife and Hunting. Marine Biology materials may additionally be located on the 2nd floor Shields in the GC area.

The Carlson Health Sciences library collects materials to support VetMed which are classed in the SF area. NOTE: This is the only VetMed library collection in the UC system.

The U.S. Government Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes a comprehensive resource on Career opportunities and statistics titled Occupational Outlook Handbook.   See the link below.

Shields and Carlson Health Sciences libraries have selected print and online resources for those interested in animal-related careers.   See the Library Catalogs box below this one for some search tips.

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook [Bureau of Labor Statistics]

    “The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 334 occupational profiles covering about 84 percent of the jobs in the economy.

    The OOH is broken up into clusters of similar occupations … to find an occupation, browse the occupation groups … on the left-hand side of the homepage, or use the A-Z Index if you know the specific occupation. [Also] … search for occupations by using the selector drop-down menus on the OOH homepage. Select by pay range, entry-level education, on-the-job training, projected number of new jobs, or projected growth rate. [For a] … specific occupation you are interested in, you may enter a job title into the “Search Handbook” box at the top.”
    OOH FAQs

Note that the UCD Library has many books on proposal writing. Browse the subject heading PROPOSAL WRITING IN RESEARCH to see the various resources.

For locating career information:

1) You may BROWSE by a discipline and look for the subheading “vocational guidance” e.g. agriculture — vocational guidance ; ecology — vocational guidance ; environmental sciences — vocational guidance ; medicine — vocational guidance ; psychology — vocational guidance ; science — vocational guidance ; veterinary medicine — vocational guidance .

2) For some areas you can combine subject keywords such as, for animal-related careers  KEYWORD Subject Words “animal vocational” which brings up a variety of titles.

NOTE: Books from Carlson Health Sciences Library can be delivered to Shields Library by clicking on book title link, scrolling down below yellow bar and clicking on the Interlibrary Request link.  Your UCD login/Kerberos passphrase is used to REQUEST the item.
  • UC Davis Library Catalog
     Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

SPECIAL NOTE:  Temporary online access is available for some print-only UCD materials.  Look for the gray elephant icon with the link label “Full Text Available at HathiTrust.” Also note that the “Physical copy is Library Use Only”.  Follow the HathiTrust link and LOGIN using your UCD credentials.

COVID TIME DUE DATES EXTENSION:    For any items “checked out, due dates are being extended indefinitely. If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  General & Multidisciplinary Resources, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences

Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, pushing rankings for original research titles lower, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2018 (for 1996-2017 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely