ABI 50A: Animal Biology Lab

by Ruth Gustafson – May 3, 2020

FACULTY: Rachel Vannette — rlvannette@ucdavis.edu  & Bob Kimsey — rbkimsey@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your ABI scientific report.

Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:

as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal BehaviorAnimal Biology, and Avian Sciences.   UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

  • Library Guides & Tutorials
  • Librarian Instructor for Fall Quarter 2019
    • Ruth Gustafson   @ ragustafson@ucdavis.edu
  • BioAg Consultations
    • The BioAg Reference Desk located on the 3rd Floor of Shields Library is gone. Most BioAgEnvi sciences librarians are still located on the 3rd floor of Shields in Room 388 at lower left of this Shields third floor map. Options to seek assistance now are:
      1) book an appointment with your class instructor (see above)
      OR
      3) email your subject specialist librarian directly
      OR
      4) email the list of all BioAgEnvi sciences librarians at lib-bioagquestions@ad3.ucdavis.edu
Accuracy
Does the author cite references to support her/his thesis? Are the references also from credible sources?
Author
Who produced the information? What can you find about the author’s credentials?
Objectivity
Is the content presented as fact or speculation? What is the source’s purpose?
Timeframe
When was the source written/created? Is the information still relevant?

A useful method to evaluate websites — CRAAP test: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose

Abstract
A brief summary of the main points in a book, article or other work.
Bibliography
A list of works cited at the end of an article, book or other information source.
Catalog
A list of records that represent the holdings of a library.
Database
An organized, searchable collection of information, often related to a specific subject area. One of the primary tools for locating articles by topic. Most databases available through the library are licensed resources with access restrictions.
Peer Review
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.
Scholarly Journal
A publication containing articles that have undergone peer review, a process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.

 

  • How to Do Ecology: A Concise Handbook [via EBSCOHost]

    Authors: Rick Karban, Ian Pearse and Mikaela Huntzinger Date: 2014
    General reference for conducting research in ecology. From publisher description: “provides nuts-and-bolts advice on organizing and conducting a successful research program. … explains how to choose a research question and answer it through manipulative experiments and systematic observations. … provides strategies for working with other people, including professors and collaborators. It suggests effective ways to communicate your findings in the form of journal articles, oral presentations, posters, and grant and research proposals. The book also includes ideas to help you identify your goals, organize a season of fieldwork, and deal with negative results. This second edition … features new sections on conducting and analyzing observational surveys, job hunting, and becoming a more creative researcher, as well as updated sections on statistical analyses.”

  • Field Guide to the Common Bees of California including Bees of the Western United States [via EBSCOHost]

    Author: Gretchen LeBuhn Date: 2013
    From Publisher description: ” … natural history guidebook provides a thorough overview of native and honey bee biology and offers tools for identifying the most common bees of California and the Western United States. Full-color illustrations introduce readers to more than 30 genera of native bees, noting each one’s needs and habits and placing them in their wider context. The author highlights bees’ties to our own lives, the food we eat, and the habitat we provide, and suggests ways to support bees in our own backyards. In addition to helping readers understand and distinguish among major groups of bees, this guide reveals how bees are an essential part of healthy ecosystem and how many plants, including important crop plants, depend on the pollination they provide. As growing evidence points to declining bee populations, this book offers critical information about the bond between plants and pollinators, and between humans and nature.”

  • The Bee : A Natural History [via EBL]

    Date: 2014
    Publisher description: “In this richly illustrated natural history of the bee, Noah Wilson-Rich and his team of bee experts provide a window into the vitally important role that bees play in the life of our planet. Earth is home to more than 20,000 bee species, from fluorescent-colored orchid bees and sweat bees to flower-nesting squash bees and leaf-cutter bees. This book takes an incomparable look at this astounding diversity, blending an engaging narrative with practical, hands-on discussions of such topics as beekeeping and bee health. It explores our relationship with the bee over evolutionary time, delving into how it came to be, where it stands today, and what the future holds for humanity and bees alike. … section on beekeeping and handy go-to guides to the identification, prevention, and treatment of honey bee diseases. Covers bee evolution, ecology, genetics, and physiology. Includes a directory of notable bee species.”

  • Pollination and Floral Ecology [via Project Muse]

    Author: Pat Willmer Date: 2011
    Publisher description: ” … the most comprehensive single-volume reference to all aspects of pollination biology–and the first fully up-to-date resource of its kind to appear in decades. This beautifully illustrated book describes how flowers use colors, shapes, and scents to advertise themselves; how they offer pollen and nectar as rewards; and how they share complex interactions with beetles, birds, bats, bees, and other creatures. The ecology of these interactions is covered in depth, including the timing and patterning of flowering, competition among flowering plants to attract certain visitors and deter others, and the many ways plants and animals can cheat each other. … Describes flower advertising features and rewards, foraging and learning by flower-visiting animals, behaviors of generalist and specialist pollinators. … Examines the ecology and evolution of animal-flower interactions, from the molecular to macro-evolutionary scale.”

  • Animal Diversity Web

    Author: Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan

    “Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology …”

    Animal Diversity Web has
    •Thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. These may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy.
    •Descriptions of taxa above the species level, especially phyla, classes, orders and families. Hundreds of hyperlinked pages and images illustrate the traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare these pieces, for the most part.

 

  • FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes

    Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).

  • Centrarchid Fishes — Wiley Online Library

    Centrarchids are ecologically and commercially extremely important, including species such as Largemouth Bass and Bluegill Contains vital and commercially important information for fisheries managers An essential reference source for graduate students and academics Covers an important multi-billion dollar industry across many countries.

  • Fish Parasites — CAB eBooks collection

    Date: 2012
    This book covers protozoa and metazoan parasites that cause disease and mortality in economically important fishes. All chapters are written by scientists who have considerable experience and expertise on the parasites. The selection of pathogens for inclusion in the book are made by the editors, and it is based on mumerous criteria of aquacultural importance. The book is targetted towards research scientists in aquaculture industry and universities, fish health consultants, fish health specialists, students, veterinarians, aquaculturists and laboratory managers.

  • Leeches, lice and lampreys: a natural history of skin and gill parasites of fishes [Print Springer book]

      Date: 2004
    Many different kinds of animals have adopted a parasitic life style on the skin and gills of freshwater fishes. This book explores the remarkable biology of these animals. It considers for each group of parasites: how they find their hosts, how they attach, feed and reproduce, the damage they inflict and how the host’s immune system retaliates.

  • Parasites of North American freshwater fishes [Print Comstock book]

    Date: 1999
    “This thoroughly revised and updated edition of a classic reference work is the definitive guide to the identification of the parasites of freshwater fishes of North America.” “The book provides information on public health concerns about fish parasites, the methods used to examine fish for parasites, and those parasites found only in very selective organs or tissues. It lists the known species of each genus, along with reference citations that enable readers to find literature pertinent to species identification, life cycles, and in some cases, control.”–Jacket

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the sciences.  Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Communication in the environmental sciences; Environmental literature — Authorship ; Ecology — Authorship; Natural history literature — Authorship; Communication of technical information; Report writing ; Technical writing.   Locate pollination books by using the subject headings for Pollination or Pollinators. Locate books on fish parasites by using the subject heading Fishes — parasites.
  • UC Davis Library Catalog
     Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

    Library of Congress Classification Outline

    Lists the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification.  Explore the Q area for Science and S area for Agriculture.

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  General & Multidisciplinary Resources, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped  symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed”.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, pushing rankings for original research titles lower, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely