by Melinda M. Livas — November 23, 2020
by Melinda M. Livas — November 23, 2020

Academic Research & Artificial Intelligence: Doing Library Research to Decode the Pros and Cons of Artificial Intelligence

by Melinda M. Livas – November 23, 2020

Library resources for Academic Research & Artificial Intelligence:
Doing Library Research to Decode the Pros and Cons of Artificial Intelligence

38°32’14.3″N 121°45’03.1″W

Need research assistance??
Feel free to email me, [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu] or we can set-up a virtual appointment via Zoom.
Select the link below and find a date that works for you.

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

BROWZINE

BROWZINE is a web-based journal engagement platform that allows you the ability to:

  • Quickly follow
  • Find
  • And access licensed e-Journals on any platform

Take a look at this BROWZINE Subject Guide for more information.

Web of Science

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. It also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

PubMed-NCBI

PubMed is composed of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.

Gartner

A resource that offers technology related trends and insights.

Graphbib

A collection of articles from computer graphics, computer animation, geometric modeling and computer vision.

SPIE Digital Library

A comprehensive online tool used for locating resources about optics, photonics, optoelectronics and imaging.

IQS RESOURCE CENTER

The IQS (Industry Quick Search) Directory is a FREE, website providing content covering engineering, the manufacturing industry and much more.

Business Source Complete

Provides comprehensive access to scholarly business journals from as early and 1886.

Library Catalog

The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.

Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

Melvyl UC CLibrary Catalog

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:   allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

Google Scholar

Google’s version of vetted, academic articles.

JMAI- Journal of Medical Artificial Intelligence

An Open Acces Journal Focus on Medical Artificial Intelligence.

KANOPY

A video streaming service that offers more than 30,000 independent and film documentaries.

[When viewing “off” campus, sign in to Pulse Secure]

How to Avoid Plagiarism- Prezi Presentation

Parts of a Citation*

Source Example
Book Author Name. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. 

Macfarlane, Bruce. Researching with Integrity: The Ethics of Academic Enquiry. New York: Routledge, 2009.   

Book Chapter Author Name. “Chapter Title.” Book Title. Editor. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Chapter Page Numbers.

Tan, Amy. “Yes and No.” The Genius of Language: Fifteen Writers Reflect on Their Mother Tongues. Ed. Wendy Lesser. New York: Pantheon Books, 2004. 25-34.

Journal Article Author Name. “Article Title.” Journal Title Volume Number.Issue Number (Year): Article Page Numbers.
Hess, Mickey. “Was Foucault A Plagiarist? Hip-Hop Sampling And Academic Citation.” Computers & Composition 23.3 (2006): 280-295.
Website Author Name. “Title of Page/Work.” Title of Website. Publisher of Site. Date of Publication. Date of Access.

Stolley, Karl, Allen Brizee and Joshua M. Paiz. “Avoiding Plagiarism.” Purdue OWL. Purdue University. 7 May 2012. 27 Sept. 2012.

*Note: The order and punctuation of the citation components is dictated by the style you use.

CITATION STYLES-GUIDE

ENDNOTE Online:   What it is & How to Get Help

Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

  • Endnote Online:   Requires online registration.

Select the link below to view instructions for registering your EndNote Online account and downloading the CWYW [Cite While You Write] Plug-in.

Myendnoteweb_CWYW_directions

From Web of Science:

Log on to EndNote Online
Search Web of Science.  Then from the Web of Science results screen:

Select citations to export, click on the Save to EndNote online link
choose  Save to EndNote online


From Google: Set up your Google Scholar Account

  1. Go to Google Scholarhttps://scholar.google.com.
  2. Go to the menu and select Settings.
  3. Under Bibliography manager select- [Show links to import citations into- hit drop down and select- Refman]- Do not select EndNote- that feature works for EndNote Desktop.
  4. Make sure to Save your setting.
  5. Go to Google scholar and conduct a search.
  6. Find articles you are interested in, then select [Import to Refman]
  7. Save the file where you save files on your computer.
  8. Go to your EndNote Online account- select [Collect] on the menu, then Import References
  9. Select [Browse] and select the articles you want to upload, then hit [Open].
  10. Under Import Option select [Refman RIS]
  11.  Then select what folder you want to import the article to.

Select link below to view screencast.

How to Export Google Scholar Articles to EndNote Online.

 

EndNote Online-

Follow these steps to create your EndNote Online account

Citation Styles- https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/guide/citation-styles/

The Owl @ Purdue https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

American Psychological Association–   www.apa.org-

Modern Language Associationwww.mla.org-

Citation Machine- http://www.citationmachine.net/-

KnightCite https://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/

Bibmehttp://www.bibme.org/-

When conducting research, do not assume that everything you see in print and on a website is accurate or credible!

It is always important to evaluate your resources.

The CRAAP Method is one way to help you identify the credibility of a resource.

CRAAP has five parts

  • C= Currency
  • R= Relevance
  • A= Authority
  • A= Accuracy
  • P= Purpose

See the worksheet below: