Aerospace Engineering

by Melinda M. Livas – November 17, 2021

Library resources for Aerospace Engineering. 

I am working remotely, however I am still available to assist you with your research needs.
Feel free to email me, [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu] or we can set-up a virtual appointment via Zoom.
Select the link below and find a date that works for you.

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

BROWZINE

BROWZINE is a web-based journal engagement platform that allows you the ability to:

  • Quickly follow
  • Find
  • And access licensed e-Journals on any platform

Take a look at this BROWZINE Subject Guide for more information.

AIAA MEETING PAPERS DATABASE

AIAA meeting papers contain the most recent discoveries in aerospace and related fields.

Coverage: 1963 – present.

COMPENDEX

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.

INSPEC

Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technologyCoverage: 1898 – present.

IEEE XPLORE

Provides access to full-text IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences. Offers basic, advanced, author and table of contents searching.

NACA [National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics]

Contains abstracts and full-text documents (1917-1958) to NASA’s predecessor the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics.

NASA TECHNICAL REPORT SERVER

Keyword searchable database of NASA-wide technical reports.

Members of the NASA community – NASA civil servants, contractors, and grantees – who have access to registered content in the NASA STI Repository can use the sign-in button to authenticate via their Agency launchpad credentials. Registered content includes the complete STI collection.

SAE DIGITAL LIBRARY

SAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Coverage:  full-text technical papers 1906 – present, full-text journal articles 1998 – present.

SPIE DIGITAL LIBRARY

The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually.

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)

TRID includes over 900,000 records covering transportation research from ITRD and TRIS. It includes TRB publications going back to 1923, including Highway Research Board, SHRP, and Marine Board publications. Also indexed are Environmental Impact Statements, theses, reports, and research in progress.

WOS [Web of Science]

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

SCOPUS

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, and patents. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

APPLIED MECHANICS REVIEWS

Contains abstracts and bibliographic citation information on articles in mechanics and related fields published in over 500 international journals. Available at PSE TA1.A6, V.1, 1948-2004.

INTERNATIONAL AEROSPACE ABSTRACTS

Abstracts of papers and articles in aerospace and astronautics.

Full Text Available at HathiTrust. Physical copy is Library Use Only Z5063.A2 I57

JOURNAL A-Z

Search Journal by title. Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search connects all 10 University of California campuses through a unified discovery and borrowing system. At UCD, our researchers can also search the collections of Mabie Law Library, which is part of the School of Law.

For full access- remember to sign into your account

Use UC Library Search to find books, eBooks, and other research materials.

Feel free to use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in UC Library Search.

UC Davis and Beyond-WorldCat Discovery

Search millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

EBL_Ebrary_EBSCOeBookFAQs

More Publisher Collections

Springer eBooks Package-

Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.

 

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection – NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for, scientific, scholarly and educational uses.

 

UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]

The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program.

 

 

HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Use the Full-text Search
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Limit to: Full View Only   (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must login.)
Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology Location: PSE REF TL788 W54 2001
Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics Location: PSE Reference TA357 E53 1986
An Illustrated Dictionary of Aviation Location: PSE Reference TL509 K78 2005
International Encyclopedia of Aviation Location: PSE REF TL509 I631 1977
Jane’s Aerospace Dictionary Location: PSE REF TL509 G86 1988
SAE Dictionary of Aerospace Engineering Location: PSE REF TL509 S24 1998
Space Sciences Dictionary Location: PSE REF QB497 K58 1990
World Encyclopedia of Civil Aircraft Location: PSE REF TL515 A8413 1982
Encyclopedia Astronautica  
AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide Location: PSE TL551 .A32 2003
Aviation & Aerospace Almanac Location: PSE REF TL501 A834 2003
Avionics Handbook Location: PSE TL695 A8163 2001
Engineered Materials Handbook Location: PSE REF TA403 E497 1987
Flow Measurement Engineering Handbook Location: PSE TA357.5 M43 M55 1996
Handbook of Fluid Dynamics Location: PSE TA357 H2858 1998
Handbook of Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Machinery Location: PSE TA357 H286 1996
Handbook of Heat and Mass Transfer Location: PSE TJ260 H36 1986
Handbook of Mechanics, Materials, and Structures Location: PSE TA350 H23 1985
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Space Technology Location: PSE TL787 I44 1989b
Jane’s All the World’s Aircraft Location: PSE REF TL501 J3 2011/12
Jane’s Avionics Location: PSE REF TL695 J36 2011/12
Jane’s Space Directory Location: PSE REF TL790 J36 1996/97
SAE Fatigue Design Handbook Location: PSE TL240 S237 1997
Selective Guide to Literature on Aerospace Engineering Location: PSE REF TL790 D46 1997
Space Almanac Location: PSE REF QB500 C87 1992
The standard handbook for aeronautical and astronautical engineers Location: PSE TL509 S664 2003
World Aviation Directory Location: PSE REF TL512 W6 2001
Applied Aerodynamics: A Digital Textbook Compressible Aerodynamics Calculator
Fluid Flow Calculator McGraw-Hill’s AccessEngineering
Metallic Materials and Elements for Aerospace Vehicle Structures – MIL-HDBK 5 (rev. J) Physical Reference Data [NIST Physics Lab]
Standard Atmosphere Computations Thermophysical Properties of Fluid Systems
UIUC Airfoil Data Site

What are Patents

Patents are defined as “A license to manufacture, sell, or deal in an article or commodity, to the exclusion of other persons; in modern times, a grant from a government to a person or persons conferring for a certain definite time the exclusive privilege of making, using or selling some new invention.” (Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd edition)

LINK to PATENTS SUBJECT GUIDE

What are Standards?

Standards and specifications are documents that describe and/or recommend a set of rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, or tested. Standards are used to establish minimum levels of performance and quality and optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of ensuring compatibility of products and services from different sources. Specifications tend to have more limited applications than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations.

LINK to STANDARDS AND SPECIFICATIONS SUBJECT GUIDE

 

EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.   

    • To download,  log-on to MyUCDavis,
      • RESOURCES > SOFTWARE > Type EndNote in the search box >  Select download link that corresponds to your desktop’s operations system.
    • For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department’s computer support.
  • EndnoteWeb:   Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.

    • Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
    • Perfect for sharing citations with a group.

Training Videos

Below are training videos on the major elements of the EndNote Program. For more information, you are welcome to browse EndNote’€™s full selection of training videos on YouTube by going to their channel, EndNote Training.

EndNote Introduction

EndNote on Windows

EndNote on the MacIntosh

What’s New in X8


Links & Resources

Instructions for Importing Citations into EndNote
Directions for transferring citations into EndNote for the Mac and Windows are given for the version indicated.  EndNote Web operates independently of version updates.

Windows (X7)

Macintosh (X7)

EndNote Web


CITING

Recommended Guides

Visit these reputable sources for examples of APA style citations.

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide

This comprehensive resource from Purdue University includes instructions on creating in-text citations and References lists.

APA Citation Quick Guide

Created by the University of California Libraries.

 


Citation Generators

These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!

Citation Builder

Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.

KnightCite

This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.

Son of Citation Machine

Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.

NoodleTools Express

This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.

What is it? 

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)- distinguishes your research from other researchers by providing a persistent digital identifier.

What it does:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • seamlessly links to multiple research formats, i.e., grants, manuscripts, etc.
  • ensures that your work is recognized

Sign up for an ORCiD account:

Register in three easy steps: https://orcid.org/

 


 What is it?

Altmetric provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

What it does: 

  • Provides a collated record of who’s saying what about your published work
  • Helps you to monitor and track early engagement
  • Identifies the most effective channels, i.e., Twitter, Facebook, eBlogger

Sign up for an Altmetrics Bookmarklet: it is FREE!!!

Go to  http://www.altmetric.com/bookmarklet.php.
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.