In this Guide:

Browse all  Databases A-Z

Search Electronic Journals by Title

 

Aerospace Engineering Databases

AIAA Meeting Papers Database

AIAA meeting papers contain the most recent discoveries in aerospace and related fields. Coverage: 1963 – present.

Applied Mechanics Reviews

Contains abstracts and bibliographic citation information on articles in mechanics and related fields published in over 500 international journals. Available at PSE TA1.A6, V.1, 1948-2004.

Compendex 

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.

INSPEC

Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1898 – present.

International Aerospace

AbstractsAbstracts of papers and articles in aerospace and astronautics.

Coverage: 1961-1997

Location: PSE REF Z5063 A2 I57 v.1-37

iEEE Xplore

Provides access to full-text IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences. Offers basic, advanced, author and table of contents searching.

NACA Digital Library

Contains abstracts and full-text documents (1917-1958) to NASA’s predecessor the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics.

NASA Technical Report Server

Keyword searchable database of NASA-wide technical reports.

SAE Digital Library

SAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Coverage:  full-text technical papers 1906 – present, full-text journal articles 1998 – present.

SPIE Digital Library 

The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in: Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems, Journal of Applied Remote Sensing, and Journal of Nanophotonics. Coverage: varies; as early as 1962-present.

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)

TRID includes over 900,000 records covering transportation research from ITRD and TRIS. It includes TRB publications going back to 1923, including Highway Research Board, SHRP, and Marine Board publications. Also indexed are Environmental Impact Statements, theses, reports, and research in progress. TRID is the world’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. Coverage: 1920s – present.


Additional Databases

Web of Science                                     

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

Scopus

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

Electronic Journals A-Z List:

Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

 

LIBRARY CATALOG

(formerly Harvest Catalog) The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.

Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

MELVYL UC LIBRARY CATALOG                MELVYL HELP

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:   allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 


Google Books                    Google Books-Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book.
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright).

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl


WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 



 

EBL_Ebrary_EBSCOeBookFAQs

More Publisher Collections

Springer eBooks Package-

Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.

 

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection – NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for, scientific, scholarly and educational uses.

 

UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]

The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program.

 


Books  is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Go to the Advanced Book Search
  2. Specify your search criteria
  3. Make sure you select Search:  Full View Only

HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Use theFull-text Search
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Limit to: Full View Only   (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must login.)
Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology Location: PSE REF TL788 W54 2001
Encyclopedia of Fluid Mechanics Location: PSE Reference TA357 E53 1986
An Illustrated Dictionary of Aviation Location: PSE Reference TL509 K78 2005
International Encyclopedia of Aviation Location: PSE REF TL509 I631 1977
Jane’s Aerospace Dictionary Location: PSE REF TL509 G86 1988
SAE Dictionary of Aerospace Engineering Location: PSE REF TL509 S24 1998
Space Sciences Dictionary Location: PSE REF QB497 K58 1990
World Encyclopedia of Civil Aircraft Location: PSE REF TL515 A8413 1982
Encyclopedia Astronautica  
AIAA Aerospace Design Engineers Guide Location: PSE TL551 .A32 2003
Aviation & Aerospace Almanac Location: PSE REF TL501 A834 2003
Avionics Handbook Location: PSE TL695 A8163 2001
Engineered Materials Handbook Location: PSE REF TA403 E497 1987
Flow Measurement Engineering Handbook Location: PSE TA357.5 M43 M55 1996
Handbook of Fluid Dynamics Location: PSE TA357 H2858 1998
Handbook of Fluid Dynamics and Fluid Machinery Location: PSE TA357 H286 1996
Handbook of Heat and Mass Transfer Location: PSE TJ260 H36 1986
Handbook of Mechanics, Materials, and Structures Location: PSE TA350 H23 1985
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Space Technology Location: PSE TL787 I44 1989b
Jane’s All the World’s Aircraft Location: PSE REF TL501 J3 2011/12
Jane’s Avionics Location: PSE REF TL695 J36 2011/12
Jane’s Space Directory Location: PSE REF TL790 J36 1996/97
SAE Fatigue Design Handbook Location: PSE TL240 S237 1997
Selective Guide to Literature on Aerospace Engineering Location: PSE REF TL790 D46 1997
Space Almanac Location: PSE REF QB500 C87 1992
The standard handbook for aeronautical and astronautical engineers Location: PSE TL509 S664 2003
World Aviation Directory Location: PSE REF TL512 W6 2001
Applied Aerodynamics: A Digital Textbook Compressible Aerodynamics Calculator
Fluid Flow Calculator McGraw-Hill’s AccessEngineering
Metallic Materials and Elements for Aerospace Vehicle Structures – MIL-HDBK 5 (rev. J) Physical Reference Data [NIST Physics Lab]
Standard Atmosphere Computations Thermophysical Properties of Fluid Systems
UIUC Airfoil Data Site

What are Patents?

Patents are defined as “A license to manufacture, sell, or deal in an article or commodity, to the exclusion of other persons; in modern times, a grant from a government to a person or persons conferring for a certain definite time the exclusive privilege of making, using, or selling some new invention.” (Oxford English Dictionary 2nd edition)

Patent literature is a rich source of technical and research data much of which is never published or disclosed elsewhere. In addition, patents and patent applications are often published earlier than academic papers.

There are generally 4 types of patents:

UTILITY Patents

Utility Patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or compositions of matters, or any new useful improvement thereof. This is the primary type of U.S. Patent.

DESIGN Patents

Design patents may be granted to anyone who invents a new, original, and ornamental design for an article of manufacture.

PLANT Patents

Plant patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers and asexually reproduces any distinct and new variety of plants.

REISSUE Patents

Reissue Patents are granted if there is a substantial error or errors in the original patent.

In addition to the USPTOesp@cenet and Google databases linked to below, there are a number of other resources available to UCD that index patent literature. Among those are: BIOSIS, NTIS and SciFinder Scholar. For information on how to access and search these resources, see the PSE Databases page.


Selected Patent Resources

United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)

Conducting a Patent Search at a Patent and Trademark Depository Library (PTDL)

Patent Offices (list maintained by WIPO) UC Davis Intellectual Property Management
Essentials of Patents (PSE T333 .G53 2003) Patent fundamentals for scientists and engineers

3rd ed. (requires UCD IP)

Filing Patents Online: A Professional Guide (requires UCD IP) Fundamentals of patenting and licensing for scientists and engineers (PSE T339 .M3 2009)
Title 35 — U.S. Code — Patents Title 37 — Code of Federal Regulations Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights
FreePatentsOnline Google Patents
pat2pdf.org

 

What are Standards?

Standards and specifications are documents that describe and/or recommend a set of rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, or tested. Standards are used to establish minimum levels of performance and quality and optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of ensuring compatibility of products and services from different sources. Specifications tend to have more limited applications than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations.

The PSE Library has only a limited number industry standards and specifications in its collection. See Standards available at UCD for those that we do currently have access to. Please search either the UCD Davis Catalog or the Melvyl (usually by the title of the standard or specification) to determine whether we own standards from other standards organizations such as AASHTO, ANSI, ASHRAE, ASME, ISO, etc.

Most standards organizations have websites that allow you to search and order standards directly from the publisher. There are a number of more comprehenisve standards indexes available for searching and ordering as well.


IHS Demand Driven Standards

Need an industry standard for your research, teaching, or a project?  The IHS Standards Expert (https://login.ihserc.com/login/erc?) database searches about 1.6 million standards from 370 technical societies worldwide.

The UC Davis Library will now purchase print copies of standards for UC Davis affiliated faculty and researchers for the library’s collection and make them available to you.

  • There is no charge to the requester.
  • Delivery times can vary, but should take 7 working days or fewer.
  • You will be notified when the standard is available for use in the collection.

Please keep in mind that we do already provide full-text online standards from ASTMIEEEASCE, and ASABE and also have current print editions from a handful of other societies and standards bodies.  If you aren’t sure if we already have access to a standard, please feel free to send an e-mail to Melinda M. Livas at mmlivas@ucdavis.edu.

Searching and ordering through the IHS Standards Expert database does require registration.  Step by step instructions are available at http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/IHS_setup.  You are not required to request standards through the IHS interface and/or if you happen to already know what standard you need, you can either request using the following order form or by contacting Melinda M. Livas at mmlivas@ucdavis.edu.


IHS Account Set-Up & Ordering Help

Use IHS Standards Expert resource to search for, and order specific Standards; please register to set-up an account.

Select link to Set-Up your IHS Account- http://people.lib.ucdavis.edu/~bobhg/IHS-Account-Ordering.pdf


ANSI (American National Standards Institute), University Outreach Program

Faculty interested in getting copies of ISO or IEC Standards for use in the classroom can now get copies for students via the ANSI University Outreach Program.

  1. Faculty select specific ISO or IEC standards and complete and return the University Outreach Pilot Project enrollment form.
  2. ANSI sends an e-mail to the faculty member with a unique URL and password for their students to access the standards online and ANSI provides faculty with the University Outreach Pilot Project License Agreement for distribution to all students given access to the free standards.
  3. Faculty distribute URLs, passwords and the License Agreement to their students.
  4. Faculty contacts ANSI with any additional requests for resources.
  5. As they become available, ANSI will contact faculty with additional teaching resources.
  6. At the end of the semester faculty participate in a brief evaluation of the pilot.

To learn more about access to complimentary standards, the University Outreach Pilot Program, or a copy of the enrollment form, please send a message to Melinda M. Livas at mmlivas@ucdavis.edu.


Standards available at UCD

AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) AASHTO specifications include Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing PSE Reference TE200 .A615 2009AASHTO Provisional Standards PSE Reference TE200 .A53 2009Roadside design guide PSE Media TE228 .A49 2006 CDROMAASHTO LRFD bridge design specifications PSE Reference TG310 .A43 2010; and Standard specifications for highway bridges PSE Reference TG310 .A6 2002 among others, please check the Library catalog.
AATCC (American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists) Current Test Methods and Procedures are available via the AATCC Technical Manual Shields TP890 .A25. Earlier years and discontinued Methods are available from UCD/NRLF TP890 .A25
ACI (American Concrete Institute) Most recent edition of ACI manual of concrete practice is available at PSE TA682 .A5. Earlier print volumes are avaialble from UCD/NRLF TA682 .A5.
AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction) AISC specifications can be found in the Steel construction manual in PSE Reference TA684 .A5 2011.
ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers) Web access to current ASABE standards requires UCD IP. Current paper copies are available at PSE Reference S671 .A41. Earlier versions in print are available from UCD/NRLF S671 .A41.
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Online for standards 2016 to present.  We should have a fairly complete set of current ASCE standards and provisions in print prior to 2016. Search the library catalog by the standard/provision title.
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Online access to all ASTM standards (active, historic, and withdrawn) covering a broad range of engineering disciplines (aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering). Standards are searchable by keyword or standard number, with full text access to all standards in either PDF or HTML format. ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library also includes online access to journals, e-books, manuals and symposia papers published by ASTM.  2011 standards, also available in print at PSE Reference TA401 .A68. Previous years available in print from UCB/NRLF TA401 .A53.
AWWA (American Water Works Association) Most recent edition of Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater, available at PSE Reference QD142 .A5. Ealier years are available at PSE & Shields QD142 .A5.
ICC (International Code Council) PSE Reference K3538 .I68 2014, this set includes: [v. 1.] International building code — [v. 2.] International residential code — [v. 3.] International fire code — [v. 4.] International energy conservation code — [v. 5.] International plumbing code — [v. 6.] International mechanical code — [v. 7. ] International private sewage disposal code — [v. 8.] International fuel gas code — [v. 9. ] International property maintenance code — [v. 10.] International zoning code — [v. 12.] International existing building code — [v. 13.] International Code Council performance code — [v. 14.] International wildland-urban interface code — [v. 15.] International swimming pool and spa code.
International Telecommunication Union Recommendations Free web access to all currently approved ITU standards.
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Web access to current IEEE & ANSI/IEEE approved standards requires UCD IP.
NISO (National Information Standards Organization) Web access to all currently approved ANSI/NISO standards.
SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Current SAE ground standards are available via the SAE Handbook, PSE Media TL5 .S6 2008. Earlier years are available at PSE TL5 S6.
UBC (Uniform Building Code) Replaced by International Building Code, see ICC above.

 


Standards Searching and Indexing

ASSIST ASSIST-Quick Search provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)s Scientific and Technical Information Network Provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTICs Technical Reports Collection from December 1974, as well as the electronic full-text of many of these documents.
Document Center Global Engineering Documents
ILI Standards & Specifications (requires registration) NSSN: A Global Resource for Standards
Techstreet

 

 

EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.   

    • To download,  log-on to MyUCDavis,
      • RESOURCES > SOFTWARE > Type EndNote in the search box >  Select download link that corresponds to your desktop’s operations system.
    • For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department’s computer support.
  • EndnoteWeb:   Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.

    • Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
    • Perfect for sharing citations with a group.

Training Videos

Below are training videos on the major elements of the EndNote Program. For more information, you are welcome to browse EndNote’€™s full selection of training videos on YouTube by going to their channel, EndNote Training.

EndNote Introduction

EndNote on Windows

EndNote on the MacIntosh

What’s New in X8


Links & Resources

Instructions for Importing Citations into EndNote
Directions for transferring citations into EndNote for the Mac and Windows are given for the version indicated.  EndNote Web operates independently of version updates.

Windows (X7)

Macintosh (X7)

EndNote Web


CITING

Recommended Guides

Visit these reputable sources for examples of APA style citations.

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide

This comprehensive resource from Purdue University includes instructions on creating in-text citations and References lists.

APA Citation Quick Guide

Created by the University of California Libraries.

 


Citation Generators

These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!

Citation Builder

Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.

KnightCite

This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.

Son of Citation Machine

Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.

NoodleTools Express

This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.

What is it? 

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)- distinguishes your research from other researchers by providing a persistent digital identifier.

What it does:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • seamlessly links to multiple research formats, i.e., grants, manuscripts, etc.
  • ensures that your work is recognized

Sign up for an ORCiD account:

Register in three easy steps: https://orcid.org/

 


 What is it?

Altmetric provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

What it does: 

  • Provides a collated record of who’s saying what about your published work
  • Helps you to monitor and track early engagement
  • Identifies the most effective channels, i.e., Twitter, Facebook, eBlogger

Sign up for an Altmetrics Bookmarklet: it is FREE!!!

Go to  http://www.altmetric.com/bookmarklet.php.
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.