Global Learning: The Amazon River Basin: Past, present and future.

by Melinda M. Livas – October 6, 2021

Global Learning: The Amazon River Basin: Past, present and future

38°32’14.3″N 121°45’03.1″W

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions about the resources below, by email: [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu]; or set-up an appointment for a virtual consultation via Zoom.  

Select the link below and find a date that works for you.
When I get the notification, I will email you a  Zoom invite. 

Share Your Thoughts-Presentation Evaluation

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

UC Library Search

UC Library Search connects all 10 University of California campuses through a unified discovery and borrowing system. At UCD, our researchers can also search the collections of Mabie Law Library, which is part of the School of Law.

For full access- remember to sign into your account

Use UC Library Search to find books, eBooks, and other research materials.

Feel free to use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in UC Library Search.

UC Davis and Beyond-WorldCat Discovery

Search millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

BROWZINE

BROWZINE is a web-based journal engagement platform that allows you the ability to:

  • Quickly follow
  • Find
  • And access licensed e-Journals on any platform

Take a look at this BROWZINE Subject Guide for more information.

Web of Science

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. It also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

Business Source Complete

Provides comprehensive access to scholarly business journals from as early and 1886.

PubMed-NCBI

PubMed is composed of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books.

Water Topics

From the EPA’s Office of Water. Includes informative articles, educational resources, grant information, and regulatory reports.

Google Scholar

Google’s version of vetted, academic articles.

Google Earth

The World’s detailed globe!!

***Make sure VPN is on***

Use the link above, or,
From the Web of Science database: click on the “Endnote” link  (in tool bar at top screen)

2.  Getting References INTO Endnote

From Web of Science:

Log on to Endnote Online
Search Web of Science.  Then from the Web of Science results screen:

Select citations to export,

click on the Save to EndNote online link
choose  Save to EndNote online

Use Numbers of Records to identify which citations to send, then for Record Content  choose:   (Author, Title, Source, and Abstract)
click SEND

Export will happen automatically.

 

3. Create Libraries (two methods)

ORGANIZE tab

MANAGE MY GROUPS
New Group

–OR–

MY REFERENCES tab

Select references for new library
ADD TO GROUP –> New Group

4.  Getting References OUT of Endnote

To create a List of References:

Select  FORMAT tab
Select BIBLIOGRAPHY

References: choose library
Bibliographic Style: choose citation style
File Format: choose RTF

Choose:  SAVE, EMAIL or Preview & Print

Cite While You Write

Let’s you embed citations in your Word document while using Endnote Online to format them

5.  Sharing References

Allows you to share references with others

ORGANIZE tab
Manage My Groups
Manage Sharing:   Add email(s)


CITE WHILE YOU WRITE:  How to Use Endnote Web for In-text Citations

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature in Endnote and Endnote online allows you to create in-text citations and full citations at the end of your paper.

See the video below for instructions on how to install the CWYW Plugin, and use this feature.

Using the CWYW [Cite While Your Write Plug-In]

Citation Styles- https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/guide/citation-styles/

The Owl @ Purdue https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/

American Psychological Association–   www.apa.org-

Modern Language Associationwww.mla.org-

Citation Machine- http://www.citationmachine.net/-

KnightCite https://www.calvin.edu/library/knightcite/

Bibmehttp://www.bibme.org/-

KANOPY

A video streaming service that offers more than 30,000 independent and film documentaries.

[When viewing “off” campus, sign in to Pulse Secure]

Alexander Street Press [Theatre in Video]

Alexander Street Press offers more than 250 definitive performances of the world’s leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries and online in streaming video content.

The New York Times

NYTimes.com [Via NYTimes.Academic Passes]

Note: First time users must create a new account at AccessNYT.com using their UCD credentials to gain access.

Faculty and Staff must reactivate their accounts here every year.