American Literature

by Roberto C. Delgadillo – June 19, 2018

This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of American Literature at UC Davis.

Roberto C. Delgadillo

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

rdelgadillo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑8266

In this Guide:

Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature
An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Search the full text of the following Chadwyck-Healey literature databases: 20th Century African-American Poetry, 20th Century American Poetry, 20th Century Drama, African-American Poetry (1750-1900), American Drama, American Poetry (1600-1900), The Bible in English (990-1970), Early American Fiction, Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700), Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780), English Drama (1280-1915), English Poetry (600-1900), The Faber Poetry Library, Nineteenth-Century Fiction, The W.B. Yeats Collection (1885-1995)

Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. The majority of Latino Literature is in English,with selected works of particular importance (approximately 25% of the collection) presented in Spanish.

Coverage: 1850-present
Tags: Language, Latin Americans, Literature

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

Fulltext collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals published in the United States 1639- 1800. All aspects of 17th and 18th century life in America and Europe (especially England). Based on Charles Evans’’ American Bibliography listing all known publications of the period; developed from the microform set of those titles, Evans Early American Imprints Series I.

Coverage: 1639-1800
Tags: History, United States Of America

This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States in the first decades of the 19th century. When the collection is complete in 2007 (the first installment was released in August 2004), it will contain 36,000 primary sources on all aspects of early 19th century America. For 17th and 18th Century American material see Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Evans.

Coverage: Begun in August 2004, there will be monthly updates through July 2007.
Tags: History, United States Of America

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Coverage: 1701-1800
Tags: Europe, History, Language, Literature, North America

Making of America is a digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes full text of both books and journals.

The Library of Congress’ digital collections provides open access to full text historical documents and materials . Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

A full text collection of letters and diaries by hundreds of participants and witnesses to the Civil War. Includes biographies, bibliographies and a day-by-day record of events, all accessible via a detailed search engine.

Coverage: 1861-1865
Tags: History, United States Of America

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

This database includes searchable full text historical documents, a number of document projects based around key questions, teaching tools, plus book, film and website reviews.

Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1492-present
Tags: Empires, History
Related links: Help using this database
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program.
Coverage: 1982-2004
Tags: Multidisciplinary
Offers full, interactive access to scholarly approved editions of great works of literature that are fully annotated for seven literary elements (characters, plot, setting, style, themes/issues, vocabulary, and voice/point of view) and illuminated by artwork and related video clips. Also provides digitized access to Common Core Titles, in keeping with Common Core State Standards in education for Grades 9 through CCR (College and Career Readiness).

Offers the searchable full text of more than 1,500 plays from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century. This database is also available through Literature Online (LION).

Coverage: 1714-1915
Tags: Drama, United States Of America

More than 250 plays, some previously unpublished, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information.

Coverage: late 19th century-present
Tags: Asian Americans, Drama

Black Drama contains the full text of hundreds of plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Also contains theatrical production information.

Coverage: 1850-present
Tags: African Americans, Drama

When complete, Twentieth-Century Drama will contain 2,500 plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama. The current release includes over 300 plays from Britain, Ireland and Australia.

Coverage: 1890-present
Tags: Drama

North American Women’s Drama includes full text of over 1000 plays, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Approximately 20% of the titles have never been previously published. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in the colonial period and spans the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Coverage: 1741-1940s
Tags: Art, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

Historic American newspapers from 1690-1900, parts 1 & 2: images and full-text content, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society and from the collections of other institutions and societies. Note: These parts can be searched separately using the following URLs. For Part 1: http://uclibs.org/PID/42513 For Part 2: http://uclibs.org/PID/275700 This search also includes UCD’s subscription to California’s Historical Newspapers which can be searched separately by clicking the link on the upper right of the search screen.

Coverage: 1690-1900
Tags: History, News, United States Of America

This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.

Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690 - present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles.
Tags: News, United States Of America

4

VPN

Provides full-image reproductions of Harper’s Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.

Coverage: 1857-1912
Tags: History, United States Of America

Aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 71 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Also available in the database Literature Online (LION).

Coverage: 1920-present
Tags: Literature

Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage: 1900-present
Tags: Art, Humanities

Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930. A Chadwyck-Healy Literature Online collection.

Coverage: 1776-1930
Tags: Literature, United States Of America

Gale’s Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.

Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.

Coverage: 1665-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

An online citation index to over 60,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror, developed by Hal W. Hall. This index is a useful supplement to the MLA International Bibliography, since it includes both scholarly and fan writing. Does not include book review coverage.

Coverage: 1878-present
Tags: Language, Literature

Play Index searches publication details of over 30,000 plays published after 1949 and written from Antiquity to the present. Search for plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, cast type, and more. This database searches for copies of plays published both separately and in collections/anthologies.

Related: The print version of Play Index is available for the years 1949-2002 in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, Z5781.P53

Tags: Drama

A critical bibliography surveying the field of American Literature.

"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.