This guide lists resources related to animal science and wildlife biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including:  anatomy and physiology, behavior, breeding and reproduction, genetics, and systematics and taxonomy.  To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

Ruth Gustafson

Research Support Services
Animal and Ecology Reference Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as animal genetics or mammal behavior rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or cheetah mate selection.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

Primary database for wildlife researchers. The world’s oldest continuing database of animal biology.  Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.

Coverage: 1864-present
Tags: Animals, Science

UCD’s *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.

Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
Tags: Aquaculture, Biology, Fish Biology, Marine Biology
Related links: ASFA LibGuide [ProQuest] , Setting up Alerts

Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications.

Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
Tags: Animals, Biology, Ecosystems, Wildlife, Zoology

The WAHID Interface provides access to all data held within OIE’s new World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS). It replaces and significantly extends the former web interface named Handistatus II System. A comprehensive range of information is available from: -Immediate notifications and follow-up reports submitted by Member Countries in response to exceptional disease events occuring in these countires as well as follow-up reports about these events, -Six-monthly reports describing the OIE-listed disease situations in each country -Annual reports providing further background information on animal health, on laboratory and vaccine production facilities, etc. To start, select one of the headings on the left. You can then explore available information: -by country (or group of countries), -by disease, -focusing on control measures, or -comparing the animal health situation between two countries.

More than 1 million records. Covers fish, fisheries and aquaculture, including biology, genetics, natural history, behavior, diseases, parasites, limnology and oceanography, habitat management, culture, propagation, fish processing, marketing, and fisheries management. Merged content from thirteen databases including records from the now ceased database Aquatic Biology, Aquaculture, & Fisheries Resources (ABAFR), and from FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations (ABC), the Fishing Industry Research Index (FIRI), Fisheries Review, and a database from the Worldfish Center’s Library. Database producer from South Africa — excellent coverage of African publications.

Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).

PLEASE NOTE: The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010. The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to November 2010 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). Literature acquisition, analysis, and indexing was a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, the Washington National Primate Research Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

Coverage: 1940-November 30, 2010
Tags: Primatology, Science

OMIA is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in more than 135 animal species (other than human and mouse, which have their own resources). The database contains textual information and references, as well as links to relevant PubMed and Gene records at the NCBI. It is modeled on, and is complementary to, McKusick’s Mendelian Inheritance in Man (MIM) or OMIM at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/omim

Indexes 1000s of scientific studies from MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, and Agricola to facilitate review of the evidence of animals as “early warning” sentinels of human health hazards. For each study, curators add information about animal species, exposures, health effects, location, and whether the study includes data providing evidence linking animal sentinel events to human health risk. You can browse the database by year, journal, author, exposure, risk factor, species, outcome, or by methodology.  The database is no longer being updated.

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]

3

More than 27 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.

Coverage: 1964-

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology

Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal science; veterinary science; entomology; plant science; forestry; aquaculture and fisheries; farming, farming systems and crops; agricultural economics; extension and education; food and human nutrition; and earth sciences and environmental sciences. The Bibliography of Agriculture is the print index to the agricultural literature going back to 1942 located on the Shields Library, Third Floor, at call number Z 5071 .U63

NOTE: default UCD Search Type set to Advanced Ovid Search.  IMPORTANT: The largest and most comprehensive agricultural literature database is CAB Abstracts.

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. {RG 12/16/13}

Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Environmental Science, Plants, Science

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

Coverage: 2005-2017

Coverage: 2005-2016
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in: agriculture; biomedical science; chemistry; environmental sciences; food science and nutrition; forensic science;  math and statistics; veterinary medicine and more.The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following TEN packages are subscribed by the University of California/UC Davis libraries and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.

Over 3,000 books with 2013- current publication dates. The Elsevier eBook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The current year’s books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.

Coverage: 2013-

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts “with information on over a 150 million species names.” {RG 12/11/13}

Related links:

The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. “Browse By Category” is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program’s web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on “California Wildlife Habitat Relationships”. NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish adn Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013.

WILDLIFE. The SORA project is an open access electronic journal archive and is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to extensive ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of ornithology in North America over the last 120+ years. Fiveteen major ornithological publication backfiles are now included.

Coverage: Varies according to journal title
Tags: Biology, Birds, Ornithology, Raptors

EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from “The Birds of America” as well as the complete contents of the three-volume “The Quadrupeds of North America”.

Journal Citation Reports is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. Journal Citation Reports indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences.

NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.

Coverage: 1997-2015 release; 1996-2014 data
Tags: Multidisciplinary, Science

A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O’Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O’Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.

Coverage: 2004-present
Tags: Coding, Cyber Security, Digital Media, Forensics, Gaming, Html, Java, Technology

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Ten-page User Guide

A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. {RG 12/11/13}

Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help

Nature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a ’recipe’ style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures that users can take to the lab bench and immediately apply in their own research. Protocols on the site are fully searchable and organized into logical categories to be easily accessible. Together, ’Nature Protocols’ and the interactive ’Protocols Network’ create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols. Also includes Stem cell series, Stepwise blog, Discussion Forum, Tools & reagents, and Featured videos.

Coverage: 2005-

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

Open Access to full-text protocols in three categories of “in vivo”, “in vitro” and “in silico” and a general category of other.

Anyone can add their own protocols or review those under development.

Over 200 protocols available.

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.

•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Coverage: 2003
Tags: Animals, Life Science, Science

WILDLIFE. An electronic encyclopaedia and a library of electronic books and documents providing information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. The Wildpro® Electronic Library contains more than 200 documents ranging in size from single page factsheets or pamphlets to whole books such as the classic 1910 text “Elephants and Their Diseases” (G.H. Evans), the “Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases” (National Wildlife Health Center, USGS) and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust’s “Wetlands, Wildlife and Industry: a manual of principles and practice.”

Authoritative treatise of monographs on birds which nest in North America with accompanying photos, audio and video files. This reference series includes “comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada”. Each monograph includes sections on distinguishing characteristics, distribution (with accompanying map), systematics, migration, habitat, food habits, sounds, behavior, breeding, demography and populations, conservation and management, appearance, measurements and priorities for future research.

Coverage: 2003-

The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates

This new three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology. Volume 1 covers The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior; Volume 2 covers Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake; and Volume 3 covers Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications. Over 300 articles are arranged by the above three volume themes rather than alphabetically. Topics cover these aspects of physiology: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural(Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy and more.

This encyclopedia incorporates research on “the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it”. This three-volume set covers all areas of behavioral neuroscience with a total of 210 chapters.Topics range from: Addiction; Animal Models of Behavior; Behavioral Genetics; Brain Aging; Brain Structure & Function; Cognitive Neuroscience; Disease & Dysfunction; Developmental Biology; Emotion & Emotional Behavior; Ethology & Neuroethology; Evolution & Comparative Biology; History; Language & Communication; Learning & Memory; Molecular Neurobiology; Motivation & Reward; Motor Systems & Motor Control; Neuroplasticity; Psychoneuroendocrinology; Reproductive, Parental & Sexual behavior; Sensation & Perception; Sleeping, Waking & Arousal; Social Behavior/Cognition; and Stress.

This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This “complete” online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Tags: Science

Comprehensive Physiology (the online version of the Handbook of Physiology) is the most wide-ranging and authoritative collection of review content ever assembled in the physiological sciences. Comprehensive Physiology includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology, available for the first time in an online format. This seminal series will be continually updated and expanded to capture the current science of physiology for a twenty-first-century readership. {RG 12/16/13}

Online amphibian catalogue initiated as a program to develop a high-quality taxonomic catalog in response to the needs of CITES (Convention on Trade In Endangered Species of Fauna and Flora). Described as tracking “the state of current taxonomic literature and the state of evidence, not the opinions of self-appointed experts.” Per history of the resource, it includes “synonymies (including the literature source of the synonymy), amphibian species described since 1985, English names, and enormously expanded citations to and abstracts of relevant taxonomic literature.” Species counts for Class: Amphibia (7044 sp.); and three orders Order: Anura (6200 sp.); Order: Caudata (652 sp.); and Order: Gymnophiona (192 sp.) {RG 12/16/13}

Coverage: 1980-present

RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories.  PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

There are eight sections in the publication. The first lists approved drug products; subsections being sorted by tradename and then by NADA number. The second section lists active ingredients and each approved product containing that active ingredient. The third section lists patent information as provided by the sponsors of approved animal drug products. Section four lists exclusivity periods granted for new uses or claims approved subsequent to enactment of GADPTRA. Section five lists any approved products that are currently the subject of a Notice of Hearing and thus may not be used as a basis of an ANADA. Section six lists animal drug products whose approval has been voluntarily withdrawn by their sponsors since GADPTRA was enacted.Section seven lists the actions on ANADA suitability petitions that have been received by the FDA since the enactment of GADPTRA. Section eight is reserved for monthly updates.

Database of field guides that were reviewed and assessed to create a listing of over 5,900 titles. Useful for field researchers who wish to determine if a published, portable guide exists which covers a geographic region and/or type of species, or natural history topic. NOTE: If a field guide you need is not owned by the UC Davis libraries, please contact Ruth Gustafson at ragustafson@lib.ucdavis.edu to purchase the item.

The Animal Science Image Gallery began as a partnership between the Animal Science Education Consortium (fifteen colleges and universities in the northeast and mid-Atlantic states) and the National Agriculture Library (NAL), funded (2003-2007) by a USDA Higher Education Challenge Grant.

A free collaborative collection of photos and videos from amateur and professional photographers workwide with 93.86% of all known bird species included. As of December 2013 includes: 80,299 videos; 104,827 photos; and 11,373 sound files.

“The Internet Bird Collection (IBC) is a non-profit endeavour with the ultimate goal of disseminating knowledge about the world’s avifauna. … While the initial aim is to post at least one video or photo per species, the long-term objective is to eventually include material showing a variety of biological aspects (e.g. feeding, breeding, etc.) for every species.”

Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.

This digital photo collection includes “the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up” NOAA.

This “collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun” and “includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. … The geographic range of NOAA work encompasses polar region to polar region and much of the World’s oceans.”

The PrimateImages database is a “collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. These images were contributed by numerous photographers through the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin in an effort to preserve the visual record nonhuman primate species. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources.”

More than 6780 items are arranged in categories of: Eubacteria, Protista , Fungi, Plantae, Animalia, Human Biology, and Histology. In addition to images, video and animations are also included.
USE INFORMATION from the website: “Copying the material, modifying and adapting it to meet the professor’s needs, and subsequent distribution to students is permitted with the condition that this is noncommercial, that the supplier (BIODIDAC) of the material is acknowledged, and that its use is registered.”
NOTE: Some items only described in French. {RG 12/13/13}

Coverage: 1996-2001

“Morphbank :: Biological Imaging is a continuously growing database of images that scientists use for international collaboration, research and education. Images deposited in Morphbank :: Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. The project receives its main funding from the Biological Databases and Informatics program of the National Science Foundation (Grant DBI-0446224). “

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Portal to UC researchers, centers and research groups including: Center for Aquatic Biology & Aquaculture; California Fish Photo Library; and California Freshwater Fish Laboratory. {RG 12/13/13}

The Census of Marine Life (CoML) is a research program that seeks to assess the diversity, distribution and abundance of ocean life and to explain how it changes over time. The portal provides access to a global network of researchers in more than 45 nations engaged in this ten-year marine life initiative. Includes three major projects: Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS), the History of Marine Animal Populations project (HMAP), and the Future of Marine Animal Populations project (FMAP). Seven studies have been initiated to collect data for these projects: Biogeography of Deep-Water Chemosynthetic Ecosystems (ChEss); Census of Diversity of Abyssal Marine Life (CeDAMaR); Gulf of Maine Program (GoM); Mid-Atlantic Ridge Ecosystems Project (MAR-ECO); Natural Geography in Shore Areas (NaGISA); Pacific Ocean Shelf Tracking Program (POST); and Tagging of Pacific Pelagics (TOPP). {RG 12/10/13}