ANS 002: Introduction to Animal Science

by Ruth Gustafson, Melinda M. Livas, Erik Davis Fausak, Sheena M Campbell – May 23, 2022

INSTRUCTOR: Elizabeth Maga — eamaga@ucdavis.edu

Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:

as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal BehaviorAnimal Biology, and Avian Sciences.   UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Go to the ANS 2 Library Module/Assignments in Canvas   @ https://canvas.ucdavis.edu

Description of Parts

Note that each part has two questions for a total of 6 questions covering the entire library session

Part I:    Tour of the library website including VPN

Part II:  Library Guides including Subject Guides and getting to ANS 2 Library Course Guide; using the UCD Library Catalog

Part III:  Searching the CAB Abstracts (Ovid version) database; using CAB Database PDFs; using  Get it at UC to locate UC Davis availability of an item

Please evaluate this Library presentation at:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ANS2

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as domesticated animal behavior or farm animal behavior rather than the more specific calve* vocalization behavior .   Useful subject searches by type of animal include cattle reproduction or  sheep reproduction or cattle behavior or sheep behavior etc.

PLEASE NOTE:  The UCD Library selectively buy materials on writing in the sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Biology — Authorship; Chemistry — Authorship  Communication of technical information; Life sciences — Authorship ; Proposal writing in biology; Proposal writing for grants; Proposal writing for research; Report writing; Scientific Illustration ; Technical writing ; Visual communication in science

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
  • COURSE RESERVES – 4 copies of textbook are on TWO-HOUR checkout                                                                                                                                                                         Introduction to animal science : global, biological, social, and industry perspectives.  Damron, W. Stephen, author.  2018.  Edition: Sixth edition.
    Course Info: ANS-002 ; ANS ; MAGA, ELIZABETH A.
    Shields Library Course Reserves SF61 .D36 2018

NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS?  We’ll ship it to you!  The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place.   Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you.  Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.

ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM?  Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates.  Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.

Due dates will become active with start of Fall Quarter.  “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

 

 

  • Understanding Call NumbersAuthor: Library Instruction Services, Shields LibraryThe Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.Date: 2004DOMESTICATED ANIMAL CALL NUMBERS (All in SF area except for fish):SF 195 – SF 275   CattleSF 371 – SF 379   SheepSF 380 – SF 388  GoatsSF 391 – SF 397   PigsSF 756.7   Domesticated/Farm Animal Behavior

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  General & Multidisciplinary Resources; Agricultural & Environmental Sciences; Arts & Humanities; Biological Sciences; Engineering & Transportation; Government Information; Health Sciences; Physical Sciences; and Social Sciences.

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped  symbol or referee shirt  Refereed  indicating the publication is “Refereed” or peer-reviewed.

How to read a peer-reviewed journal article.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Searching library literature databases often requires including synonymous terms, if there is not a specific subject or thesaurus term from your database.  Build your search strategy by incorporating your appropriate synonyms as shown by the examples below.

 

Concept A Concept B Concept C Concept D Concept D Concept E
pre-natal post-natal maternal young behav* cattle
pre-birth post-birth mother newborn etholog* cow
? ? ? ? ? ?

 

  • Combine your synonyms with OR,  such as: offspring OR progeny OR young  ….
  • Concepts that you wish to cross or intersect, combine using AND, such as:  lamb AND vocalization AND behavior  {all words required}
  • MORE than one spelling possibility (American vs. British) or want to pick up plurals?   Use a wildcard, such as the asterisk (*) at the end of words … (this same wildcard is used in CAB Abstracts, AGRICOLA, BIOSIS Previews, and PsycINFO)    kid* AND suckl* AND behav*