ANS 134: Animal Nutrition Laboratory

by Ruth Gustafson, Erik Davis Fausak, Melinda M. Livas – May 20, 2022

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your UCD animal nutrition research.

Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system.

To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN.  With the VPN Connected, you can now use this direct link to Journal of Animal Science, the journal style you will need to follow.

Check the UCD Libraries hours for latest updates on each library’s hours (including weekend hours) @ https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/hours/

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

The majority of animal nutrition-related materials are found in Shields Library.  UC Davis has 2 separate health sciences libraries and one life sciences collection in the Shields Library (Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences). Important nutritional information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.

  • Biological, Agricultural @ Environmental Sciences, Shields Library:  The nutritional print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library.
  • Blaisdell Medical Library, Medical Education Building, UC Davis Medical Center
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library, Southwest UCD campus
  • Government Information Collection, Shields Library  —  The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. The UCD Library collects extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. The UCD Library collects comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes and assistance from reference librarians.

There are a variety of useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for Animal Nutrition materials including: Animal Feed; Animal Feeding; Animal Nutrition; Animal Nutrition – PeriodicalsAnimal Nutrition SciencesAnimal Nutritional Physiological Phenomena; Animal Welfare; and more.

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS?  We’ll ship it to you!  The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place.   Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you.  Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.

ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM?  Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates.  Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.

Due dates will become active with start of Fall Quarter.  “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

 

Understanding Call Numbers  (Library of Congress)

Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

Date: 2004

  • Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.
Animal nutrition : from theory to practice (2019)
PI Hynd
animal nutritionPrinciples of Animal Nutrition (2018)
G Wu
nutrition experiments in pig and poultryNutrition Experiments in Pigs and Poultry: a Practical Guide (2016)
MR Bedford, M Choct, HM O'Neil
Nutritional and Physiological Function of Amino Acid in PigsNutritional and Physiological Functions of Amino Acids in Pigs 2013
F Blachier, G Wu & Y Yin
poultry and pig nutritionPoultry and pig nutrition : challenges of the 21st century 2019
WH Hendricks, MWA Verstegen, L Babinzsky
facts about fatsFacts about fats : a review of the feeding value of fats and oils in feeds for swine and poultry (2017)
J Doppenberg & P van der Aar
The Value of Fiber The Value of Fibre: Engaging the Second Brain for Animal Nutrition 2019
G Gonzalez-Ortiz, MR Bedford, KE Bach Knudsen, CM Courtin & HL Classen
Gut Efficiency Gut efficiency ; the key ingredient in pig and poultry production elevating animal performance and health (2008)
JA Taylor Pickard & P Spring
nutrition and feeding of organic pigsNutrition and Feeding of Organic Pigs 2018
R Blair
Nutrition and the Welfare of Farm AnimalsNutrition and the Welfare of Farm Animals (2016)
JC Phillips
The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition (2004)
MF Fuller
Recent Advances in Animal Nutrition (2008)
PC Garnsworthy & J Wiseman
nutrient requirements of swineNutrient requirements of swine (2012)
National Research Council (U.S.). Committee on Nutrient Requirements of Swine
achieving sustainable production of pig meat (vol 2)Achieving sustainable production of pig meat. Volume 2, Animal breeding and nutrition (2017)
J Wiseman
Feed efficiency in swineFeed efficiency in swine 2012
JF Patience
Sustainable Swine NutritionSustainable Swine Nutrition 2012
LI Chiba
Nutritional modeling for pigs and poultryNutritional modelling for pigs and poultry 2015
NK Sakomura
Mineral Tolerance of AnimalsMineral Tolerance of Animals 2005
Subcommittee on Mineral Toxicity in Animals Staff National Research Council (U.S.)

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural and Environmental SciencesArts & HumanitiesBiological SciencesEngineering & TransportationGeneral & Multidisciplinary SourcesGovernment InformationHealth SciencesPhysical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped  symbol or referee shirt  Refereed  indicating the publication is “Refereed”.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

CAB Abstracts [via Ovid]

1

VPN
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports - 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]
BIOSIS Previews Classic [via Clarivate]

2

VPN
BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.
PubMed [via National Library of Medicine (US)]

3

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Web of Science Core Collection [via Clarivate Analytics]

4

VPN
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.