ANS 140: Laboratory Animal Management

by Ruth Gustafson – December 2, 2020

INSTRUCTOR:  Sandra Weisker — sweisker@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your UCD animal protocol research.

Animal-Related Library Collections:  UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:

as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, and Avian Sciences.   UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.

To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

 

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

There are a variety of useful Library of Congress Subject Headings for Laboratory Animal materials including: Animal Testing Alternatives; Laboratory Animals (with a variety of subheadings such as behavior etc.); Animal Experimentation; Animal Welfare; Laboratory Animal Science — organization & administration and more.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

SPECIAL NOTE:  Temporary online access is available for some print-only UCD materials.  Look for the gray elephant icon with the link label “Full Text Available at HathiTrust.” Also note that the “Physical copy is Library Use Only”.  Follow the HathiTrust link and LOGIN using your UCD credentials.

COVID TIME DUE DATES EXTENSION:    For any items “checked out, due dates are being extended indefinitely. If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

 

  • Animal Alternatives Information The UC Davis Library Subject Guide for Animal Alternatives places special emphasis on disseminating up-to-date information concerning animal alternatives through every level of public and private education. It also seeks to provide investigators who use animals with information on the most current methods for improving all aspects of animal care during their work.  An especially useful section is: Alternatives Searching: Demonstrating Compliance
  • ILAR: Institute for Laboratory Animal Research  Author: National Academies; Division on Earth & Life Studies.  The Institute of Laboratory Animal Research (ILAR) evaluates and disseminates information on issues related to the scientific, technological, and ethical use of animals and related biological resources in research, testing, and education.
BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science] [via Clarivate Analytics]

1

VPN
BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.
PubMed [via National Library of Medicine (US)]

2

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
CAB Abstracts [via Ovid]

3

VPN

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]
PsycINFO [via ProQuest]

4

VPN
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology
PrimateLit

5

PLEASE NOTE: The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010. The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to November 2010 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). Literature acquisition, analysis, and indexing was a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, the Washington National Primate Research Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

Coverage: 1940-November 30, 2010
Tags: Primatology, Science

VetMed eBooks (from Veterinary Medicine Subject Guide)

Selected current books and links to VetMed eBook collections such as VetMed on ScienceDirect (Elsevier) or VetMed on Wiley Online Library.