ANS 198 – CMSI professional training

by Ruth Gustafson – December 2, 2020

Coastal and Marine Science Publications and Search Terms

Top publications in coastal and marine science, where you might find interesting topics, are the journals Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, Fish and Fisheries, ICES Journal of Marine ScienceLimnology and Oceanography, Marine Ecology and Progress Series (MEPS), Oceanography and Marine Biology (Annual Review), and Progress in Oceanography (this is an Elsevier journal, <2019 issues have perpetual access but no current access due to UC-wide Elsevier contract cancellation from Jan 2019) .

The UC Davis Library online catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Each library subject database — such as BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record — also uses subject lists that can help you precisely search your topic.

DID YOU KNOW?  Shields Library is open – Check out real-time number of people in the building for the open hours @ https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/plan-your-visit/

More about the UCD Libraries during COVID time at https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/coronavirus/

Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

The U.S. Government Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes a comprehensive resource on Career opportunities and statistics titled Occupational Outlook Handbook.   See the link below.

Shields and Carlson Health Sciences libraries have selected print and online resources for those interested in coastal/marine science and animal-related careers.   See the Library Catalogs box below this one for some search tips.

  • Occupational Outlook Handbook [Bureau of Labor Statistics]

    “The Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations; and sources of additional information, for 334 occupational profiles covering about 84 percent of the jobs in the economy.

    The OOH is broken up into clusters of similar occupations … to find an occupation, browse the occupation groups … on the left-hand side of the homepage, or use the A-Z Index if you know the specific occupation. [Also] … search for occupations by using the selector drop-down menus on the OOH homepage. Select by pay range, entry-level education, on-the-job training, projected number of new jobs, or projected growth rate. [For a] … specific occupation you are interested in, you may enter a job title into the “Search Handbook” box at the top.”
    OOH FAQs

    NOTE:  To be able to access temporary online versions of the below titles, click on the yellow LOG IN button and pull down menu to University of California Davis.  Then type in your UCD Login/Kerberos passphrase.  Your login information may “stick” for days.

     

    Peterson’s graduate programs in biological/biomedical sciences & health-related medical professions (Book 3)  – some editions temporarily online via Hathitrust (latest is 2011); Print in Shields Reference, 2nd floor Shields  LIBRARY USE ONLY

    Peterson’s graduate and professional programs, an overview  (Book 1) – some editions temporarily online via Hathitrust (latest is 2011) ; most recent edition in Print in Shields Reference, 2nd floor Shields  LIBRARY USE ONLY

    Peterson’s graduate programs in engineering & applied sciences  (Book 5) – some editions temporarily online via Hathitrust (latest is 2011) ; most recent edition in Print in Shields Reference, 2nd floor Shields  LIBRARY USE ONLY

 

  • Useful directory from the Stanford Hopkins Marine Station Library:

https://library.stanford.edu/hopkins/research-help/marine-biology-organizations-and-institutions

  • More of an international scope from the National Oceanography Centre for British Oceanographic Data:

https://www.bodc.ac.uk/resources/portals_and_links/links/associations_and_societies.html

  • Semi-comprehensive Wikipedia Institutions and Programs list:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_oceanographic_institutions_and_programs

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as fish genetics or salmon aquaculture rather than the more specific salmon AHR genes or ecological risk of salmon aquaculture.

For locating career information you will need to look under more general science areas:

1)  BROWSE by a discipline and look for the subheading “vocational guidance” e.g. ecology — vocational guidance ; environmental sciences — vocational guidance ; marine sciences — vocational guidance ; veterinary medicine — vocational guidance .

2) For some areas you can combine subject keywords such as, for animal-related careers  KEYWORD Subject Words “animal vocational” which brings up a variety of titles.

JEDI searching – try the following subject headings:   minorites in science ; women in science

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing but more generally in the biological sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include:

Biology — Authorship ; Communication of technical information ; Life sciences — Authorship ; Medical writing ; Proposal writing in biology ; Proposal writing for grants ; Proposal writing for medicine ; Proposal writing for research ; Report writing ; Scientific illustration ; Technical writing ; Visual communication in science 

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

SPECIAL NOTE:  Temporary online access is available for some print-only UCD materials.  Look for the gray elephant icon with the link label “Full Text Available at HathiTrust.” Also note that the “Physical copy is Library Use Only”.  Follow the HathiTrust link and LOGIN using your UCD credentials.

COVID TIME DUE DATES EXTENSION:    For any items “checked out, due dates are being extended indefinitely. If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields LibraryLibrary of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.Date: 2004

 

 

Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.

NOTE that *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely

The UCD Library maintains a webpage on Citation Guides, which focuses mainly on EndNote.

Some additional webpages are:

IUCN Red List of Threatened Species (http://www.iucnredlist.org/)
URL: http://www.iucnredlist.org/
Author: International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN was founded in 1948 as the world’s first global environmental organization and today is the largest professional global conservation network. Over four decades ago, the Red List started as the IUCN Red Data Book and is currently compiled through the IUCN Species Programme working with the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC).“IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction (i.e. those listed as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable).”

In addition, the “IUCN Red List also includes information on plants and animals that are categorized as Extinct or Extinct in the Wild; on taxa that cannot be evaluated because of insufficient information (i.e., are Data Deficient); and on plants and animals that are either close to meeting the threatened thresholds or that would be threatened were it not for an ongoing taxon-specific conservation programme (i.e., are Near Threatened).”

 

Species under CITES Protection (http://www.cites.org/eng/disc/species.shtml)

URL: http://www.cites.org/eng/disc/species.shtml
Author: Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) is an international agreement between governments. Its aim is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.Roughly 5,000 species of animals and 28,000 species of plants are protected by CITES against over-exploitation through international trade. They are listed in the three CITES Appendices. The species are grouped in the Appendices according to how threatened they are by international trade. They include some whole groups, such as primates, cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises), sea turtles, parrots, corals, cacti and orchids. But in some cases only a subspecies or geographically separate population of a species (for example the population of just one country) is listed.