ANT 54 Primatology

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.

•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Factsheets are from Primate Info Net (PIN) and other primate websites. Each Primate Info Net (PIN) Factsheet “covers one or more species, including morphology, ecology, behavior, and conservation with range maps, images, and an extensive glossary of terms to illustrate the text.”

Entries may be sorted by Taxonomy or Geography and entries may be viewed by Common name or Scientific name. You may also limit by the following categories: Apes, New World, Old World, and Prosimians. Most entries are in English with a few in Spanish and French.

The PrimateImages database is a "collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. These images were contributed by numerous photographers through the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin in an effort to preserve the visual record nonhuman primate species. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources."

World's oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Most comprehensive database for wildlife and extensive coverage of field studies. From aardvarks to bees to sloths to wasps to zebras, Zoo Record includes them all.

BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports - 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Provides online access to current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications. Also includes an archive of all AAA journals back to 1888.

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.