Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info

Anthropology

by David Michalski – March 13, 2020

If you have questions about the use of these databases, research in Anthropology, cultural studies, the social sciences, or if you need support with social sciences data, I am happy to help, or get you in contact with those who can. Feel free to contact me via email, michalski@ucdavis.edu or make an appointment https://calendly.com/michalski-1/research-librarian-consultation.

David Michalski

Researcher Services
Researcher Services Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

916-392-2189

In this Guide:

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology
Provides online access to current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications. Also includes an archive of all AAA journals back to 1888.

Indexes and, in some cases, links to fulltext versions of materials (some open access, others accessible to subscribers only) by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists.

Coverage: 1896-present
Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology

eHRAF World Cultures (Electronic Human Relations Area Files: World Cultures) contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. For more info on this resource see: http://hraf.yale.edu/products/ehraf-world-cultures/features-benefits-uses/

This journal publishes substantial review articles on important anthropological topics. As such it serves as a good reference source for those seeking to better understand the thinking in this diverse field.

Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

eHRAF Archaeology , (the Electronic Human Relations Area Files: Archaeology) focuses on in-depth descriptive documents, (such as scholarly monographs) of archaeological traditions from around the world. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. For more info on this resource see: http://hraf.yale.edu/products/ehraf-world-cultures/features-benefits-uses/

Sage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Tool?).