Anthrozoology

by Erik Davis Fausak – February 7, 2020

Humanity’s relationship with animals is unique and deep, understanding our relationship with animals in terms of society, psychology, and welfare is the essence of Anthrozoology.  It is about the human-animal bond.  This subject takes a wide range of multidisciplinary approaches to understand humanity’s relationship with animals.  This discipline has also been referred to as human-animal studies.

 

Byam Shaw, “Who Knoweth the Spirit of Man…”, retrieved 1/15/19 from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Byam_Shaw

Based on the tale of Gelert

Erik Fausak

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

edfausak@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6204

In this Guide:

Anthrozoology Medical and Animal Care Resources

Anthrozoology Associations

Government Entities

Anthrozoology Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

2

VPN
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology
Provides online access to current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications. Also includes an archive of all AAA journals back to 1888.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

5

VPN
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles.
Coverage: 1987-present
Tags: Psychology
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

With titles from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute, this collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights throughout the years. It includes philosophical books dating back to the 1800’s, videos, periodicals, brochures, and more.

Health and Anthrozoology

Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links:
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture

3

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help

4

VPN
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science
World's oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Most comprehensive database for wildlife and extensive coverage of field studies. From aardvarks to bees to sloths to wasps to zebras, Zoo Record includes them all.
CINAHL Complete provides coverage of journal literature related to nursing, speech and allied health.
Coverage: 1937-present
Tags: Allied Health, Forensics, Medicine, Nursing
Related links: CINAHL Tutorials

Finding metrics about the articles like in midterms is not very difficult.  Certain databases readily provide citation information about articles.  Publisher websites often provide similar information, as well.  Ultimately, the value of a paper is considered how much it is read and used.  A manner of doing this is by identifying how often the article you are looking at has been cited by other authors in other articles.

 

Databases that make finding article citation information pretty easy:

Ebsco Databases (Academic Search Complete or CINAHL) utilize a resource called PlumX that identify many features about an article, such as how often it has been cited (which is the primary tool in evaluating an article’s effectiveness), viewed, or shared

Proquest Databases (PsycInfo and PsycArticles)  show you the frequency of article citations in the search results:

Web of Science Databases (Web of Science Core Collection and Zoological Record) also readily show you the frequency of article citation in your search results:

 

Scopus also has readily found article metrics once you select the record of interest (it has its own metrics and incorporates PlumX):

 

Databases that are more limited in identifying article metrics:

Anthrosource

Project Muse

Cab Direct

Agricola

PubMed

but no worries, you can often get the metric information from the publisher:

 

 

or cut and paste the title into Google Scholar:

 

Caveat:  different databases have different ways of measuring article citations, so be aware that Google Scholar will not give the same citation information as Web of Science.

 

There is a helpful libguide from University of Chicago on this topic for more information or videos.

Not all information is equal on the internet.  Please employ the following strategies when examining web pages:

 

Corroboration:  does the information on the website match information you see on other web sites?  Does it match the information you see in articles and textbooks?  When comparing one website to other information sources and websites, it becomes quickly apparent which ones may be questionable.

 

When beginning to evaluate websites, utilization of the CRAAP test is a good idea. Keep in mind, who is making website content and why.