ART, ARCHITECTURE, ART HISTORY AND DESIGN

by Daniel Goldstein – November 15, 2019

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Researcher Services Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

Scholarly art encyclopedia covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day.
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Coverage: 1929-
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Coverage: 1960s-present
Tags: Art, History

Avery indexes journal articles in the areas of art and architecture. Also useful for Design and Landscape Architecture.

Coverage: 1930s-present; selective coverage dating back to the 1860s
Tags: Architecture

The IBA is the successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art. It is the core bibliography for recent publications (post-2008) in the history of Western Art from antiquity to the present and Global Art since 1945.

Use the BIBLIOGRAPHY OF THE HISTORY OF ART for articles published 1975-2007

Coverage: 2008-current, with some earlier material.
Tags: Art

Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer’s catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009.

Art history is a vast discipline, geographically, historically, and intellectually. This bibliography serves as a guide to the key works in all areas of the discipline

Tags: Art, History

8

VPN
Searchable database of digital images.

Art-Related Indexes

This Index “includes the entire content of The Burlington Magazine dating from March 1903 until December 2002 (NB – currently up to December 1982, work on more recent years is in progress). The Online Index is free to use, subject to free registration. JSTOR subscribers can then view articles and illustrations online.” The indexing is specialized and in-depth, including such browsable fields as artists, collectors and art dealers, patrons, private galleries, and more.

Coverage: 1903-1982
Tags: Art

Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century

Tags: Art

Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late 16th century to scheduled auctions not yet held.

Tags: Art

Related Subjects Indexes

Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile.
Tags: Asia, Literature, Multidisciplinary

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.

Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly
Tags: History, Language, Literature, Medieval Studies
Index of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Coverage: 1949-current
Tags: Classics

This extensive set of annotated bibliographies “explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries” through the lenses of many different academic disciplines. Nearly 100 entries are organized around people, places, concepts, ideas, events and more. They offer, equally, a survey of what is new as well as thoughtful orientations to key primary and secondary literature.

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

This extensive set of 120 bibliographic entries explores the world as known to Europeans during the period “which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. The entries provide excellent orientations to seminal and current scholarships on broadly (the Ottoman Empire)and narrowly constructed topics (Montaigne).

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes.
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This is an extensive database about the sustainability, function and physical properties of materials used in design and construction.

Tags: Design

“The MATERIALS database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials.”  Very useful for some design questions.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains abstracts and bibliographic records relating to aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Art, Design

“The CTBUH Tall Building Database contains information on 10,000+ buildings – including height information, number of floors, function, structural material, location, professions involved, building images etc. This information is free for download and searchable by a number of parameters, including year, location, type etc. Users can create their own lists, which can be captured in pdf format, or transferred via graphs and other outputs.”

This architecture database includes over 11,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database. One can search by architect, subject or location. Includes many images of buildings and plans.

Tags: Architecture

BuildingGreen.com integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, articles from Environmental Building News, peer-to-peer comments, and more than 300 project case studies. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.

Coverage: -1992
Tags: Architecture, Environmental Science

7

VPN
The one-stop source for those who need to stay on top of all of today’s major environmental and energy action. With an average of more than 25 stories a day, Greenwire covers the complete spectrum, from electricity industry restructuring to Clean Air Act litigation to public lands management.
Coverage: January 2012 - present
Tags: Energy, Environmental Science, Government, Public Policy, Science

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.

Coverage: 1892 to present
Tags: Fashion

“Designinform Research Guides No.2: Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet.” The site includes descriptions of and links to more than 50 digitized journals from the U.S. and Europe.

Coverage is mostly late nineteenth and early twentieth century, but some journals are from the mid nineteenth century, while others go right into the 2000s.

This site contains the scanned images of each Royal Academy Winter Exhibition Catalogue. They are both browseable and searchable. Sometimes it also includes color images of some of the works of art represented in the catalogues.

Coverage: 1870-1939
Tags: Art, History

Full-text access to over 60 historic Guggenheim Museum exhibition catalogues. Exhibition dates range from 1937-1999.

Tags: Art

This site is an “open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media. . . detail[ing] the history of contemporary craft in America.” It includes collections on the history of the American Craft Council, exhibition catalogs from the Museum of Contemporary Crafts and the American Craft Museum, and more.

Tags: Art, Crafts, History

Major Current Newspapers

Current full-text of the New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review).

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: New York, News, United States Of America

Current full-text content of the Los Angeles Times.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: California, News, United States Of America

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text from more than 335 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio transcripts are provided.

Tags: News

Scanned (not searchable) page images of:

Los Angeles Times (Library ed.)
Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.)
Washington Post (Final ed.)
New York Times (East Coast, Late ed.)

Other resources may include searchable full-text for these newspapers but not images of the actual printed pages.

Coverage: Coverage begins from 2008 - .
Tags: News

Major Historical Newspapers

Historical coverage of the New York Times from 1857-2016, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Coverage: 1857-2016
Tags: New York, News, United States Of America

Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Times, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue in 1881 through 1995.

Coverage: 1881-1995
Tags: California, History, News, United States Of America

Historical coverage of the Wall Street Journal 1889-2002 with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Coverage: 1889-2002
Tags: News

The Chicago Tribune is one of the oldest continuously published newspapers in the United States. Provides in-depth coverage during the Civil War period and includes many special editions such as the Lincoln Centenary Issue, honoring Abraham Lincoln. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers, this database delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text.

Coverage: 1849-1996
Tags: United States Of America

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The “Access World News” database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

Coverage: 1785-2011
Tags: News

Part of Oxford Art Online, this encyclopedia surveys critical thought on art, culture, and society, including major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts — from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. Because it is included in Oxford Art Online, it can be searched alone when individually selected or in conjunction with the other reference works in the collection.

This is the electronic continuation of Groiler’s four volume print version of the Encyclopedia of American Studies(EAS) It is published online by Johns Hopkins Press. Like its predecessor, it provides topical entries on the transdisciplinary field of American Studies, from Hinduism to Hip Hop, from Television to Think Tanks. Its scholarly survey articles, which cover a deep range of social cultural topics, are furnished with key references to further reading. The editorial advisory board to this publication is appointed by the American Studies Association.

Related: Encyclopedia of American Studies, 4 volume print version, Groiler
Humanities and Social Sciences Reference E169.1 E625 2001

“The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.”

Coverage: 2002-
Tags: Islam, Reference Materials

This encyclopedia looks at Islam’s role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion’s history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

This is a new, fully updated edition. It contains thousands of articles on all aspects of Jewish tradition, contemporary culture, politics and history.

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Tags: Geneaology

This searchable index lists the exhibit catalogs (held by the Cleveland Institute of Art) in which a given artist appears. It also shows all the artists included in a specific exhibit catalog.

Tags: Art

“designinform Research Guides No.1: Internet Sources of Biographical Information” is a pathfinder site with links to dozens of sources of information on the lives of architects, artists, designers, craftspeople and more.

Tags: Art, History

This multipurpose database has a very useful current biography section. To limit your search to biographies, select “Biographical Information” under the “Search by Subject or Topic” option.

Copyright [via University of California]

“As both creators and users of copyrighted and public domain materials, members of the UC academic community should understand and responsibly exercise the rights accorded them under U.S. copyright law.

The information provided on this site is intended as a guide to copyright at the University of California, and should not be taken as legal advice.”

Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts [via College Art Association]

“This Code of Best Practices provides visual-arts professionals with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.”

Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States [via Cornell University]

An excellent summary of when copyrighted works enter the public domain. Author: Peter B. Hirtle

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) [via the Visual Resources Association]

The DIRC is an interactive decision tree program to help you determine what you need to do to legally use a specific image for a specific purpose. At each stage it has a brief description of the issue at hand as well as links for more detailed discussions of those issues.

Copyright, Museums, and Licensing of Art Images [Kress Foundation]

Kenneth Crews, director of the Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office authored this study.

“The principal objectives of this study were to gather a representative sample of art museum license agreements; to analyze their similarities and differences with respect to both terminology and policies; and to produce a systematic inventory of the range of issues addressed in and posed by such licensing agreements and the different ways in which museums have responded to these issues. This inventory and analysis has sought to provide insight into the issues of copyright and licensing that are of concern to art museums and to educational and scholarly users of art images.”

This work was funded by a grant from the Samuel H. Kress Foundation.