Calisphere [via the University of California]
“Calisphere is the University of California’s free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere’s content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations.”
Online Archive of California (OAC)
The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. It includes searchable finding aids for collections held in these institutions as well as a large selection of scanned images and documents from these collections.
Access World News [via Readex/Newsbank]
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress’ digital collections provides open access to full text historical documents and materials . Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
ProQuest Current Newspapers / Major Dailies [via ProQuest]
Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Direct Links to the individual papers:
http://uclibs.org/PID/301866 Chicago Tribune (1985- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301869 Los Angeles Times (1985- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301870 New York Times (1980- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301871 Wall Street Journal (1984- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301872 Washington Post (1987- )
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Historical coverage of the following U.S Newspapers. The include both full page and individual article images. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Years included varies by title.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Arizona Republican (1890 – 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931 – 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909 – 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 – 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Cleveland Call and Post (1934 – 1991)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 – 2005)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 – 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922 – 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 – 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912 – 2001)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911 – 2002)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle (1865 – 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal (1889 – 1999)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877 – 2000)
Welga! Digital Archive and Repository
The Welga Project Digital Archive and Repository focuses on preserving and presenting primary sources regarding the Filipino American activism, labor, and immigration history. The majority of the collection focuses on Filipino involvement in the Delano Grape Strikes and United Farm Worker history.
Note: The Welga Project will be incorporated into the future Bulosan Center for Filipino Studies in the Asian American Studies Department at UC Davis.
Chinese in California, 1850-1925 [via OAC]
“The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter.” Some of this material is available online.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
The Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA) serves as a gateway to the archival and manuscript holdings of numerous California archives, libraries, oral history programs, and museums featuring online finding aids, digital images, electronic texts and oral histories. There are 10,000 digital images complemented by 20,000 pages of electronic transcriptions documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps.
Densho Digital Repository
The Densho Digital Repository provides digital access to oral histories, historical newspapers, photography, and other primary source material documenting the Japanese American experience, including the forced relocation and incarceration of American citizens in concentration camps by the US government in during World War II.
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA)
The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) documents, preserves, and shares stories from South Asian American history and experience.
Korean American Digital Archive (USC Digital Library)
SEAAdoc: Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
Pioneering Punjabis Digital Archive
This archive offers a window into the story of South Asian immigrants from the Punjab region in north India to California since the turn of the twentieth century. Explore over 700 video interviews, speeches, diaries, photographs, articles, and letters in which Punjabi Americans share their life stories, values, and contributions to California’s history over the last hundred and twenty years.
A free on-line resource about the history of the Japanese American WWII exclusion and incarceration experience. The Densho Encyclopedia covers key concepts, people, events, and organizations that played a role in the forced removal and incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II. The reviewed articles are written by a wide range of contributors, and are enhanced with photos, documents and video drawn from Densho’s digital archives and other sources.