Assistance Animals

by Erik Davis Fausak – June 18, 2019

A guide linked to the article in Frontiers in Veterinary Science aimed to assist the researcher in Assistance Animals for People with Disabilities to find the appropriate searching resources based on the subheadings below. All researchers are encouraged to identify university libraries, like UC Davis, that are open to the public to access our resources and most importantly, our subject specialist librarians.

The following information is not an exhaustive list of resources for each subheading, but identifies important resources for each.  These lists are based on the review of general to specialized examination of subject guides from English speaking specialty library websites around the United States and the world.

For more information, please see this open access article on search strategies involving Assistance Animals. Carlson Health Sciences Library is part of the University of California, Davis and open to the public.

 

Ask Now IconHealth Sciences Libraries CHAT

 

Reserve a room

 

Sini Merikallio [CC BY-SA 3.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL

Erik Fausak

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

edfausak@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6204

In this Guide:

The Museum of Man in San Diego has a Living with Animals exhibit that features our relationship with animals and the human-animal bond.  Additionally, the AKC Museum of the Dog has just opened in NYC and previously had an exhibit on service animals.

Assistance Animals cover a wide range of disciplines, finding the right book depends on two factors, the subject area of interest and availability.  If reading this guide and not affiliated with UC Davis, identify the nearest library open to the public (which could be UC Davis, or the public library) and look for books from there.  LOC range for many Assistance Animal texts are: HV1569.6 and under  the broader category of Working Animals: SF170-SF180.

 

 

Book JacketBook/ Call NumberBook JacketBook/Call Number
Understanding Animal Law 2016
AP Karp
Shields Lib KF390.5.A5 K37 2016
Animals and Criminal Justice 2015
CM Cusack
Shields Lib KF390.5.A5 C876 2015
Accommodation and Compliance Series: Service Animals as Workplace Accommodations 2018
Job Accommodation Network

Air Travel with Service Animals 2018
U.S. Department of Transportation
The Dog, A Natural History 2018
A Miklosi
also in print
Shields Lib SF422.5 .M545 2018a
The domestic dog : its evolution, behavior, and interactions with people 2017
J Serpell
Companion animals in everyday life : situating human-animal engagement within cultures 2016
MP Pregowski
Shields Lib SF411.5 .C658 2016
Handbook on Animal-Assisted therapy 2015
AH Fine
Blackwell's five-minute veterinary consult clinical companion canine and feline infectious diseases and parasitology 2012
SC Barr, DD Bowman & D Horwitz
also in print
Carlson Lib SF991 B36 2012
Jubb, Kennedy, & Palmer's Pathology of Domestic Animals 2007
MG Maxie

Ethicolegal (freely available or possibly at your Public Library)

If you have not found a particular reference in online databases, before manually entering the reference, you might want to see if Google Scholar has the citation. If so, keep in mind that the bibliographic data may be quite minimal or incomplete. You can “Import” Google Scholar references into EndNote but Google only allows importing of one record at a time.

Search for your topic in Google Scholar, click under the item you want on the link “Cite” and then choose “Import into EndNote”. Below is a box that you can check off to “Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on search result pages.” NOTE: Google does not send coding for the reference type (book chapter, conference etc.) so the record automatically goes to the “journal article” reference format. Scan carefully each imported record in case a reference type change is needed.

Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

Official site for California legislative information. Links to bill information and status, California law, and legislative publications.

Tags: Law

Housed in King Hall, the UC Davis Mabie Law Library was founded with the UC Davis Law School in 1966. The Library contains over 290,000 volumes of books in over eight miles of shelving, over 150,000 volume-equivalents of microforms, and has access to a number of proprietary online databases. The collection includes the basic sources of United States, British, Canadian, and Australian law, as well as International law.

PLEASE NOTE: Law Library materials are NOT included in the Library Catalog. Please search MORT, the UCD Law Library Catalog, to locate any legal-related materials in the forensic sciences areas.

Ethicolegal (licensed content available at UC Davis)

1

VPN
Full-text database of US legal periodicals.
Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Tags: Law

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

The hearings collection is included in Proquest Congressonal. The Digital Hearings Collections Part A (1824-1979) contains full-text, searchable, pdf versions of Congressional committee hearings, including both published and unpublished hearings.

Coverage: 1824-1979
Tags: Congress, Government

Provides access to citations from major legal publications and many full text articles in PDF format. LegalTrac is updated daily with coverage starting from 1980. For articles published before 1980, use Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective which covers the period 1908-1981

Tags: Law

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Law
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.

Sociocultural (freely available or public library)

If you have not found a particular reference in online databases, before manually entering the reference, you might want to see if Google Scholar has the citation. If so, keep in mind that the bibliographic data may be quite minimal or incomplete. You can “Import” Google Scholar references into EndNote but Google only allows importing of one record at a time.

Search for your topic in Google Scholar, click under the item you want on the link “Cite” and then choose “Import into EndNote”. Below is a box that you can check off to “Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on search result pages.” NOTE: Google does not send coding for the reference type (book chapter, conference etc.) so the record automatically goes to the “journal article” reference format. Scan carefully each imported record in case a reference type change is needed.

Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Search selected science and technology web sites and government databases.

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Sociocultural (licensed content available at UC Davis)

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals.

Coverage: 1956-present
Tags: Buddhism, Religion, Shin Buddhism

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Provides online access to current issues for 15 of the American Anthropological Association's most critical peer-reviewed publications. Also includes an archive of all AAA journals back to 1888.

Psychobehavioral (freely available or at a public library)

1

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

If you have not found a particular reference in online databases, before manually entering the reference, you might want to see if Google Scholar has the citation. If so, keep in mind that the bibliographic data may be quite minimal or incomplete. You can “Import” Google Scholar references into EndNote but Google only allows importing of one record at a time.

Search for your topic in Google Scholar, click under the item you want on the link “Cite” and then choose “Import into EndNote”. Below is a box that you can check off to “Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on search result pages.” NOTE: Google does not send coding for the reference type (book chapter, conference etc.) so the record automatically goes to the “journal article” reference format. Scan carefully each imported record in case a reference type change is needed.

Psychobehavioral (licensed content available at UC Davis)

1

VPN
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

2

VPN
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles.
Coverage: 1987-present
Tags: Psychology
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

Medical/veterinary (freely available or at public library)

Vet Med Resource provides access to CAB abstracts, it is not free or at libraries, but is an affordable package for private practitioners.

1

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture

If you have not found a particular reference in online databases, before manually entering the reference, you might want to see if Google Scholar has the citation. If so, keep in mind that the bibliographic data may be quite minimal or incomplete. You can “Import” Google Scholar references into EndNote but Google only allows importing of one record at a time.

Search for your topic in Google Scholar, click under the item you want on the link “Cite” and then choose “Import into EndNote”. Below is a box that you can check off to “Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on search result pages.” NOTE: Google does not send coding for the reference type (book chapter, conference etc.) so the record automatically goes to the “journal article” reference format. Scan carefully each imported record in case a reference type change is needed.

CABI have taken the vast amount of information on all aspects of veterinary medicine it has collated from around the world since 1972, and made it available to today's veterinary practitioner in VetMed Resource.
Coverage: 1972 - current
Tags: Veterinary Medicine
Related links: CAB Direct

Medical/Veterinary (licensed content available at UC Davis)

Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links:
CINAHL Complete provides coverage of journal literature related to nursing, speech and allied health.
Coverage: 1937-present
Tags: Allied Health, Forensics, Medicine, Nursing
Related links: CINAHL Tutorials

3

VPN
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science
World's oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Most comprehensive database for wildlife and extensive coverage of field studies. From aardvarks to bees to sloths to wasps to zebras, Zoo Record includes them all.
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.
BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.

Ethicolegal

Ethicolegal Government Websites

Sociocultural Online Resources

Psychobehavioral Online Resources

Medical/Veterinary Medical Resources

Ethicolegal

Sociocultural Journals

Psychobehavioral Journals

Medical/Veterinary Journals

Systematic Reviews

Articles