Astronomy and Astrophysics

by Sheena M Campbell – August 10, 2021

Welcome to the library subject guide for Astronomy and Astrophysics! UC Davis Library provides a wealth of subscription and licensed resources that can help students, faculty, and researchers identify articles, proceedings, reports, data, and books in a print or electronic format. The following guide will point you to a selection of specialized and related resources in astronomy and related fields.

Get help from a Librarian

If you would like support from a librarian in conducting research, you can contact Sheena Campbell. Feel free to reach out with questions via email, or to schedule a research consultation via Zoom by clicking on the link to ‘Book an Appointment.’

Off-Campus Access

  • To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN.

COVID-19 Related Library Updates

Find the latest information about library resources and services during the COVID-19 response.

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

Guides & Tutorials 

Resources to help you find, evaluate and use information.

Citation Managers

Software to organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Compare popular citation management products: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and Sciwheel.

Methods Pre-Registration

Funding for Open Access Publishing

Access up to $1,000 per article from the UCD Library toward publishing fees in fully open access journals.

Not all articles or ebooks will be available for download directly from a database. To access full-text articles and ebooks directly from databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science) and Google Scholar, click the Get it at UC button. If you are not on campus, be sure to connect to the library VPN to access your article.

Note that Get it at UC e-links can only connect you to material licensed or owned by the library. However, we can borrow material from other libraries, if you put in an Interlibrary Loan request:

A database of particle physics literature maintained and run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. Many citations are to preprints or e-prints hosted at SLAC.

SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors.

Database of NRAO papers

A selection of astronomy related professional societies who publish books, articles, and conference proceedings:

A searchable index to Optical Society of America (OSA) articles and conference proceedings with links to full text.

Online conference proceedings from the American Institute of Physics (AIP). The proceedings library also offers the ability to search AIP-published journals.

IOPscience is an online service providing journal content published by IOP Publishing.

Searches American Institute of Physics (AIP) publications along with some other publishers such as American Physical Society

Reference books: Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

These are great sources for introductions to a topic, background on a topic, definitions, histories, chronologies, and data.

Available online or in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QD65.C4.

  • Treatise on Geochemistry, 2014: v.1 Meteorites and cosmochemical processes – v. 2 Planets, asteroids, comets and the solar system

Available online

From the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Categories include Physical Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors, Atomic Spectroscopic Data, Molecular Spectroscopic Data, Nuclear physics, Condensed Matter physics, and X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data.

Available online or in print at PSE Library, call no. QB136 .Z65 1990

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 .E525 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no.  QB14 A873 1992

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 A88 1987

 Available online and earlier editions in print at PSE Reference QB501 .E53 2007

Available online

Available online and earlier editions in print at PSE Reference

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, QB14 .D52 2003

Available in print at PSE Library, call no. QB14 .M55 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 .K497 2002

Available online and in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no.  QB14 .D53 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 R66 1988

Available online and in most recent editions in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, Call no. QB8 U6 A77

Available at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB63 A1 S5

Available online, and earlier editions in print at PSE Library, Reference Collections, call no. QB9 A5

Selecti

Reference books: Encyclopedias, Handbooks, and Dictionaries

These are great sources for introductions to a topic, background on a topic, definitions, histories, chronologies, and data.

Available online or in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QD65.C4.

  • Treatise on Geochemistry, 2014: v.1 Meteorites and cosmochemical processes – v. 2 Planets, asteroids, comets and the solar system

Available online

From the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Categories include Physical Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors, Atomic Spectroscopic Data, Molecular Spectroscopic Data, Nuclear physics, Condensed Matter physics, and X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data.

Available online or in print at PSE Library, call no. QB136 .Z65 1990

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 .E525 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no.  QB14 A873 1992

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 A88 1987

 Available online and earlier editions in print at PSE Reference QB501 .E53 2007

Available online

Available online and earlier editions in print at PSE Reference

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, QB14 .D52 2003

Available in print at PSE Library, call no. QB14 .M55 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 .K497 2002

Available online and in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no.  QB14 .D53 2001

Available in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB14 R66 1988

Available online and in most recent editions in print at PSE Library, Reference Collection, Call no. QB8 U6 A77

Available at PSE Library, Reference Collection, call no. QB63 A1 S5

Available online, and earlier editions in print at PSE Library, Reference Collections, call no. QB9 A5

A selection of sources that can help you find technical reports and government publications:

Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available in the three collections that are integrated in NTRS. Types of documents in NTRS include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, and research reports.
Coverage: Various Dates

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized.

Provides access to and transfer of scientific and technical information for DoD personnel, DoD contractors and potential contractors, and other U.S. government agency personnel and their contractors.

SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI’s Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.  Documents are primarily from 1991-present and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.

VizieR provides access to the most complete library of published astronomical catalogues and data tables available on line organized in a self-documented database.

NED is a database of ~750,000 extragalactic objects with bibliographic references and basic data.

 

Individual UCD  dissertations and masters theses are cataloged in the Library of Catalog — search for “Dissertations Academic University of California Davis physics”

This page describes how to locate and access UCD titles.

The Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database is the authoritative source for finding doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. It also provides access to the full-text of all dissertations from University of California campuses since the late 1990s- See Current Research @ University of California, Davis 
Searches all University of California, Davis dissertations published in the Dissertation Abstracts database.

Dissertations & theses from 31 USA colleges & universities, including Ohio State University, Rochester Institute of Technology, and North Carolina State University. This is a small subset of published dissertations & theses, but does include some that are not indexed elsewhere. Use in conjunction with other databases such as Dissertations & Theses and PQDT Open.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

You can Ask a librarian for help if you experience any problems accessing a dissertation or thesis in print or online.