Melinda M Livas
Student Services Librarian
by Melinda M. Livas – August 26, 2021
Library resources for Automotive Engineering.
UC Library Search connects all 10 University of California campuses through a unified discovery and borrowing system. At UCD, our researchers can also search the collections of Mabie Law Library, which is part of the School of Law.
Books is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:
HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:
|The Beaulieu encyclopedia of the automobile||Location: PSE Reference TL9 .B43 2001|
|Delmar’s automotive dictionary||Location: PSE Reference TL9 .S64 1997|
|Dictionary for Automotive Engineering: English, French, German||Location: TL9.C67 1986|
|Dictionary of Automotive Engineering||Location: PSE Reference TL9.G64 1995|
|Delmar’s Automotive Dictionary||Location: PSE Reference TL9.S64 1997|
|SAE Glossary of Automotive Terms||Location: PSE Reference TL9.S17 1992|
|Automotive Electronics Handbook||Location: TL272.5 .A982 1999|
|Automotive Handbook||Location: PSE Reference TL151 .B613 2011|
|Handbook of automotive engineering||Location: TL240 .V48 2005|
|Handbook of automotive power electronics and motor drives||Location: TL272.5 .H296 2005|
|McGraw Hill’s Access Engineering||250 engineering handbooks and a dictionary, searchable and online|
|SAE Ground Vehicle Standards Index||Location: PSE Reference TL240 S3 April 1998|
|SAE Handbook||Location: PSE Media TL5 .S6 2008 CD-ROM|
Patents are defined as “A license to manufacture, sell, or deal in an article or commodity, to the exclusion of other persons; in modern times, a grant from a government to a person or persons conferring for a certain definite time the exclusive privilege of making, using, or selling some new invention.” (Oxford English Dictionary 2nd edition)
Patent literature is a rich source of technical and research data much of which is never published or disclosed elsewhere. In addition, patents and patent applications are often published earlier than academic papers.
There are generally 4 types of patents:
Utility Patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, article of manufacture, or compositions of matters, or any new useful improvement thereof. This is the primary type of U.S. Patent.
Design patents may be granted to anyone who invents a new, original, and ornamental design for an article of manufacture.
Plant patents may be granted to anyone who invents or discovers and asexually reproduces any distinct and new variety of plants.
Reissue Patents are granted if there is a substantial error or errors in the original patent.
In addition to the USPTO, esp@cenet and Google databases linked to below, there are a number of other resources available to UCD that index patent literature. Among those are: BIOSIS, NTIS and SciFinder Scholar.
|United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)||Conducting a Patent Search at a Patent and Trademark Depository Library (PTDL)|
|Patent Offices (list maintained by WIPO)||UC Davis Intellectual Property Management|
|Essentials of Patents (PSE T333 .G53 2003)||Patent fundamentals for scientists and engineers
3rd ed. (requires UCD IP)
|Filing Patents Online: A Professional Guide (requires UCD IP)||Fundamentals of patenting and licensing for scientists and engineers (PSE T339 .M3 2009)|
|Title 35 — U.S. Code — Patents||Title 37 — Code of Federal Regulations Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights|
Standards and specifications are documents that describe and/or recommend a set of rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, or tested. Standards are used to establish minimum levels of performance and quality and optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of ensuring compatibility of products and services from different sources. Specifications tend to have more limited applications than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations.
The PSE Library has only a limited number industry standards and specifications in its collection. See Standards available at UCD for those that we do currently have access to. Please search either UC Library Search or WorldCat Discovery @ UC Davis (usually by the title of the standard or specification) to determine whether we own standards from other standards organizations such as AASHTO, ANSI, ASHRAE, ASME, ISO, etc.
Most standards organizations have websites that allow you to search and order standards directly from the publisher. There are a number of more comprehenisve standards indexes available for searching and ordering as well.
Need an industry standard for your research, teaching, or a project? The IHS Standards Expert (https://login.ihserc.com/login/erc?) database searches about 1.6 million standards from 370 technical societies worldwide.
The UC Davis Library will now purchase print copies of standards for UC Davis affiliated faculty and researchers for the library’s collection and make them available to you.
Please keep in mind that we do already provide full-text online standards from ASTM, IEEE, ASCE, and ASABE and also have current print editions from a handful of other societies and standards bodies. If you aren’t sure if we already have access to a standard, please feel free to send an e-mail to Melinda M. Livas at email@example.com.
Searching and ordering through the IHS Standards Expert database does require registration. Step by step instructions are available at http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/IHS_setup. You are not required to request standards through the IHS interface and/or if you happen to already know what standard you need, you can either request using the following order form or by contacting Melinda M. Livas at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Use IHS Standards Expert resource to search for, and order specific Standards; please register to set-up an account.
Select link to Set-Up your IHS Account- http://people.lib.ucdavis.edu/~bobhg/IHS-Account-Ordering.pdf
Faculty interested in getting copies of ISO or IEC Standards for use in the classroom can now get copies for students via the ANSI University Outreach Program.
To learn more about access to complimentary standards, the University Outreach Pilot Program, or a copy of the enrollment form, please send a message to Melinda M. Livas at email@example.com.
|AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials)||AASHTO specifications include Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing PSE Reference TE200 .A615 2009; AASHTO Provisional Standards PSE Reference TE200 .A53 2009; Roadside design guide PSE Media TE228 .A49 2006 CDROM; AASHTO LRFD bridge design specifications PSE Reference TG310 .A43 2010; and Standard specifications for highway bridges PSE Reference TG310 .A6 2002 among others, please check the Library catalog.|
|AATCC (American Association of Textile Chemists and Colorists)||Current Test Methods and Procedures are available via the AATCC Technical Manual Shields TP890 .A25. Earlier years and discontinued Methods are available from UCD/NRLF TP890 .A25|
|ACI (American Concrete Institute)||Most recent edition of ACI manual of concrete practice is available at PSE TA682 .A5. Earlier print volumes are avaialble from UCD/NRLF TA682 .A5.|
|AISC (American Institute of Steel Construction)||AISC specifications can be found in the Steel construction manual in PSE Reference TA684 .A5 2011.|
|ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)||Web access to current ASABE standards requires UCD IP. Current paper copies are available at PSE Reference S671 .A41. Earlier versions in print are available from UCD/NRLF S671 .A41.|
|ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)||Online for standards 2016 to present. We should have a fairly complete set of current ASCE standards and provisions in print prior to 2016. Search the library catalog by the standard/provision title.|
|ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials)||Online access to all ASTM standards (active, historic, and withdrawn) covering a broad range of engineering disciplines (aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering). Standards are searchable by keyword or standard number, with full text access to all standards in either PDF or HTML format. ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library also includes online access to journals, e-books, manuals and symposia papers published by ASTM. 2011 standards, also available in print at PSE Reference TA401 .A68. Previous years available in print from UCB/NRLF TA401 .A53.|
|AWWA (American Water Works Association)||Most recent edition of Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater, available at PSE Reference QD142 .A5. Ealier years are available at PSE & Shields QD142 .A5.|
|ICC (International Code Council)||PSE Reference K3538 .I68 2014, this set includes: [v. 1.] International building code — [v. 2.] International residential code — [v. 3.] International fire code — [v. 4.] International energy conservation code — [v. 5.] International plumbing code — [v. 6.] International mechanical code — [v. 7. ] International private sewage disposal code — [v. 8.] International fuel gas code — [v. 9. ] International property maintenance code — [v. 10.] International zoning code — [v. 12.] International existing building code — [v. 13.] International Code Council performance code — [v. 14.] International wildland-urban interface code — [v. 15.] International swimming pool and spa code.|
|International Telecommunication Union Recommendations||Free web access to all currently approved ITU standards.|
|IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)||Web access to current IEEE & ANSI/IEEE approved standards requires UCD IP.|
|NISO (National Information Standards Organization)||Web access to all currently approved ANSI/NISO standards.|
|SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers)||Current SAE ground standards are available via the SAE Handbook, PSE Media TL5 .S6 2008. Earlier years are available at PSE TL5 S6.|
|UBC (Uniform Building Code)||Replaced by International Building Code, see ICC above.|
|ASSIST||ASSIST-Quick Search provides direct access to Defense and Federal specifications and standards available in the official DoD repository.|
|Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)s Scientific and Technical Information Network||Provides access to citations of unclassified unlimited documents that have been entered into DTICs Technical Reports Collection from December 1974, as well as the electronic full-text of many of these documents.|
|Document Center||Global Engineering Documents|
|ILI Standards & Specifications (requires registration)||NSSN: A Global Resource for Standards|
EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents. Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:
Visit these reputable sources for examples of APA style citations.
This comprehensive resource from Purdue University includes instructions on creating in-text citations and References lists.
Created by the University of California Libraries.
These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!
Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.
This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.
Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.
This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.