AveE Transfer Bridge

by Melinda M. Livas – August 31, 2021

This course guide is designed to assist AvenueE Transfer Bridge students with accessing library resources such as books,  peer-reviewed articles, databases, conference proceedings and much more.

See LEADR-ENG 11A- Orientation to Library Resources

Feel free to email me, [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu] or we can set-up a virtual appointment via Zoom.
Select the link below and find a date that works for you.
Use my personnel Zoom link to attend our virtual meeting, after you find a date- [https://ucdlibrary.zoom.us/my/mmlivas]
________________________________________________________________________________________

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

UC Library Search

UC Library Search connects all 10 University of California campuses through a unified discovery and borrowing system. At UCD, our researchers can also search the collections of Mabie Law Library, which is part of the School of Law.

For full access- remember to sign into your account

GOOGLE Books                                Google Books Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UC Library Search.

WorldCat Discovery @UC Davis

Search millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

Professional societies are great sources for information. They sponsor conferences and publish journals, proceedings, and books. They set professional and educational standards and provide job and career services for their members.

Aeronautical Engineering      

Automotive Engineering  

Chemical Engineering

  • Electrochemical Society Digital Library:  Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Civil Engineering

Computer Science   

Electrical Engineering   

Materials Science

Mechanical Engineering

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Library: ASME  conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference papers and proceedings, and ASME Press books. The entire collection can be searched via the ASME Digital Collection.

Physics

  • Optics InfoBase:  Optical Society of America’s  digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.
  • The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library:  The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

 

Also see  Citation Guides: This guide describes what a publication citation is and provides information on the most common disciplinary styles — MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and more.


EndNote@UCDavis

Using Endnote, citations can be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals. Endnote makes identifying and formatting citations for publications a breeze.