Research Support Services
Researcher Services Librarian
by Cory Craig – August 28, 2020
Library resources for the field of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
Basic questions: fastest option is Ask A Librarian 24/7 chat
I’m available: email your questions, or we can set up an appt via Zoom
Worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. Also available via NAL.
Coverage: 1970 – present.
(Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau)
Covers agriculture, forestry, human health, management of natural resources, and sustainable development, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries.
Coverage: 1910 – present.
Fully searchable and browsable technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Includes:
|Annual Meeting Papers||2001 – present||S675 A516 mf11 [microfiche] 1968-2000.|
|Applied Engineering in Agriculture||v.1 (1985) – present||S671 A37, v.2 (1986)-current|
|ASABE Standards (formerly ASAE)||Current||S671 A41 Print: 2006-2011.|
|Biological Engineering Transactions
(formerly Biological Engineering)
|v.1 (2008) – present|
|Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health||v.1 (1995) – present||S565 J65, v.1 (1995)-current|
|Resource Magazine||v.15 (2008) – present||S671 R47, v.1 (1994)-current|
|Transactions of the ASABE
ASAE v. 1 (1958) — v. 48(2005)
ASABE v. 49 (2006) — present
|v.1 (1958) – present|| S671 A49: 1907-1935.
S671 A5: 1958-1962.
S671 A5: 1963-current.
Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering and biotechnology. Coverage: 1969 – present.
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records. Coverage: 1884 – present.
Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present. Cited Reference Searching: 1900 – present.
Auto-Alert: Receive an email me when articles are published on your topic
HOW?: Sign-in to WOS. Run Search. Click: Search History (top left). Click: Save History/Create Alert. Name it, specify alert frequency & format, save it.
WOS Help: Save History/Create Alert
Citation-Alert: Email me when someone cites article X.
HOW?: Sign-in to WOS. Find article, click on title. Click: Create Citation Alert (on right)
WOS Help: Citation Alerts
Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources. Coverage: 1887 – present.
Includes information on the science, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms.
Coverage: 1978 – present.
Major areas of coverage include aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology & engineering, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, and risk assessment. Databases and coverage include:
|ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts||1971-present|
|Earthquake Engineering Abstracts||1971-present|
|Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts||1950-present|
|Zoological Record Plus||1864 – 2017|
Covers fish, fisheries and aquaculture, including biology, genetics, natural history, behavior, diseases, parasites, limnology and oceanography, habitat management, culture, propagation, fish processing, marketing, and fisheries management.
Coverage: 1971 – present.
Comprehensive coverage of food sciences, products and processing including the relevant basic sciences, economics and legislation.
Coverage: 1969 – present.
Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications. Coverage: 1981 – present.
PubMed Main Database for Medicine
PubMed indexes the medical literature, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. It contains over 20 million citations and indexes over 8,400 journals. PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946 – present.
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
Coverage: 1907 – present (with selected pre-1907 material)
Cited Reference Searching: 1996 – present (allows you to identify who is citing an article)
SciFinder Auto-Alert: Keep Me Posted Receive an email when new articles are published you your topic
SciFinder System Recommendations/Structure Editor/Java (optional)
SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
SciFinderN (new platform) Help – How to Use “Classic” SciFinder Help – How to Use SciFinder Troubleshooting
Offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Coverage: 1994 – present.
Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy and zoogeography.
Coverage: 1978 – present.
Options for accessing online journal articles are numerous and evolving. See below for options. Help or links to short videos are included.
Note: some of these options rely on new techniques for accessing library subscribed content (and therefore only work for journals where we have a paid online subscription). Others provide easy access to open access articles or pre-prints, where no subscription is required.
This allows you to easily access articles the UC Davis Library subscribes to online.
NOTE: to access subscribed content from off-campus, you must install and login to the VPN client.
From the Google Scholar Settings page:
Click on Library Links in the left toolbar
Search for and check these options: (as shown in the image below)
California Digital Library –UC-eLinks
University of California, Davis – UCD-eLinks
Open WorldCat – Library Search
Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results.
A browser add-on which installs a browser button for easy access to Google Scholar from any web page.
Search google for:”Google scholar button [name of your browser]”
Kopernio is a free browser plug-in made by Clarivate (Web of Science). It uses journal subscription data from our SFX linker (UC-eLinks) to locate a legally authorized PDF of the article you are looking for.
Highly recommended. Install it in Chrome or Firefox.
After installing, look for the “View PDF” icon when using your browser to search for articles. It appears in the lower left of your screen.
Kopernio video, 1 minute
After installing, look for the green unlocked padlock when using your browser to search for articles. It appears in the middle right of your screen.
Unpaywall video, 1 minute
Clicking on the extension button from a paywalled article initiates a search for that article and, where available, provides free access. When free access is not found, OA Button can contact the corresponding author directly to help them make a self-archived version available.
Open Access Button video, 1 minute
BrowZine is a web-based journal engagement platform and mobile app. It allows you to find, follow, and access library licensed e-journals on any device. BrowZine visually presents the library subscribed e-journals in a browsable format.
More Info on Browzine at UC Davis
Getting Started with Browzine video, 11 minutes
The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out. If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.
The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions. As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)
Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)
But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl
The LibreTexts Chemistry Library is the principal hub of the LibreTexts project, a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning.
OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide. Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.
CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering, Volume 1-6 Shields S675 .C54 1999
CIGR (International Commission of Agricultural Engineering, a.k.a. Commission Internationale du Génie Rural)
ASABE Distinguished Lectures
ASABE Special Publications
UC Davis has the ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 1974 on. Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are also available in print.
To locate a print volume: search the Library Catalog for “ACS Symposium” then add either the volume number or title you want.
Founded in 1949, Advances in Chemistry series was the predecessor to the ACS Symposium Series.
Critical reviews covering primary research literature in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Can provide a good overview topics you are not familiar with. Chemical fields covered include: analytical chemistry; biochemistry; physical chemistry; pharmacology and toxicology; and chemical and biomolecular engineering.
Online: 1996 – present.
Tables of Contents only: 1984 – 1995. Use the library catalog to find these in print.
Theo Hahn; U. Shmueli; A. J. C. Wilson (editors). 1984-2012. Dordrecht, Holland; Boston, U.S.A. Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, most current volumes availale through Wiley.
Use the link above or this alternate link to access the volumes below.
Volume A1 Symmetry Relations Between Space Groups Volume B Reciprocal space Volume C Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Tables Volume D Physical Properties of Crystals Volume E Subperiodic Groups Volume F Crystallography of Biological Macromolecules Volume G Definition and Exchange of Crystallographic Data
Norman F.M. Henry & Kathleen Lonsdale (Editors), International Union of Crystallography, Kynoch Press 1969. Freely available via Internet Archive.
Volume 1: Symmetry Groups (also in print: QD945 .I55) Volume 2: Mathematical Tables (also in print: QD945 .I55) Volume 3: Physical & Chemical Tables (also in print: QD945 .I55) Volume 4: Revised and supplementary tables to volumes 2 and 3 (print only: QD945 .I55)
The RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) ebooks package, includes over 1000 books published since 1968, including the Specialist Periodical Reports series and Tutorial Chemistry Texts.
Springer ebooks package includes over 28,000 scholarly books, covering all scientific disciplines. Books are published in English and German. Book series in chemistry include:
Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology Advances in Polymer Science Progress in Colloid and Polymer Science Structure & Bonding Topics in Current Chemistry Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry Topics in Organometallic Chemistry
Over 1300 ebooks focused on chemistry, physical sciences, biosciences & engineering. The UC’s purchased all 2011 and 2012 ebooks, including IEEE ebooks (older years on IEEE Xplore platform).
Online subscriptions: the catalog will give the link. NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions: the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.
Lists journals that UC Davis has a online or print subscription to.
You can use Google Scholar to search for journals (or articles). Google has no way of telling you which online journals UC Davis subscribes to, unless you set your Google Scholar preferences to show UC-eLinks (see ARTICLE PLUG-INS & QUICK ACCESS above).
Google Scholar: How do you actually GET the articles?
On-Campus: You should be able to access any online journal that UC Davis subscribes to.
Off-Campus: You must install the VPN client first, to access online journals UC Davis subscribes to.
No UCD Online Subscription?: We may have a print subscription. Check the library catalog . If we do not have a print or online subscription, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable. Extremely useful for:
An online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.
Another online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, Ullmann’s is also a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.
Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food, and Biological Engineering, 2011
Print Location: TP368.2 .E57 2011
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food, 2011
Print Location: : Shields S494.5.B563 E53 2011
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. It includes dynamic online features, such as faculty made instructional, videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information.
This large collection includes classic handbooks such as Perry’s Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as newer resources, such as Mechatronics in Medicine.
A very large collection of engineering handbooks. Provides a broad focus on engineering.
Previously licensed McGraw Hill’s Handbooks (via CDL hosted site)
See AccessEngineering above or use the library catalog to access current versions.
Handbook of Food Engineering, Second Edition, 2006
Mendeley is citation management software.
Creating an account will give you access to both the web version and the desktop version.
Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents. Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:
Covers (for both versions):
Commonly used citation styles including: APA, CSE, Chicago, MLA and others.
ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14:
American Chemical Society (ACS) guidelines for citations of all types. See Table 14-2 (pgs 292-293) for common types of references with examples.
ACS Style Guide: An important reference for all chemists. In addition to providing citation guidelines, the ACS Style Guide includes chapters on:
Print: Reference: QD8.5 A25 [YEAR]
CASSI Journal Abbreviations:
Use to look up journal abbreviations used in chemistry.
Engineering: IEEE Citation Reference 5 page PDF
Short & efficient guide to IEEE/engineering citation format.
Engineering: IEEE Editorial Style Manual 54 page PDF
Citation formats and editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters. Includes abbreviations for IEEE publications.
Guides/resources created for library classes taught for the Biological & Agricultural Engineering department are listed here
Grad Seminar: ORCID Slides
For subject specific help, contact me.
For general help, visit a library reference desk, or contact them by email or phone.
The librarians working there will be happy to show you how to search a database, or find a journal, or answer any other general questions you have.
Reference Desk Locations and Hours (when classes are in session)
click link for ref desk location
|Physical Sciences & Engineering Library||Currently closed for construction.|
|Mon-Fri, 11 – 5 firstname.lastname@example.org||(530) 752-9862|
|Carlson Health Sciences Library
Ask for Help at the Circulation Desk
|Ask at the Circulation Desk:
Mon-Fri, 8 – 5 pm