by Sheena M Campbell — December 1, 2021
by Sheena M Campbell — December 1, 2021

Biology Academic Success Center (BASC) Library Resources Guide

by Sheena M Campbell – December 1, 2021

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

This guide is designed to connect Biology students with a spectrum of resources that can provide clarification, add nuance, and/or inspire further exploration of course concepts. This guide includes resources that will help you to form a holistic understanding of biological sciences, from the cellular basis of life to the ecosystems that we inhabit.

Types of Resources Featured in this Guide

stack of books icon

Reference Sources: Get a Quick Overview

Background sources like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks can help provide clarification for topics and concepts covered in your course readings. Most entries will include helpful links and images, as well as related terms and further readings.


book iconBooks: Gain Deeper Insight

Books (print and electronic) will provide a comprehensive view of course topics and concepts. While course readings introduce you to topics and processes, books devoted to these concepts have the space to examine them in-depth if you would like to nuance your understanding of course topics.


video player iconVideo: Great for Visual Learners

Videos can help us learn more quickly and effectively than text alone. The human brain processes information faster and retains it longer when paired with visualizations. Plus if you’re someone who likes repetition, watching a video tutorial after you’ve done the readings can help to reinforce what you’ve learned.


3-D simulation of a chemical bond iconDigital Tools: Apply Concepts

Digital tools like 3D models, simulations, and games can help you gain a deeper knowledge of course concepts through interaction. These tools enable you to observe and manipulate the processes of biological phenomena and help to to visualize underlying mechanisms.


Off Campus Access

Accessing library resources from off-campus will require you to install and activate our VPN, which enables you to log into our subscription-based electronic collections. If you have any question or issues with the library VPN, check out our information page: https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/connect-from-off-campus/

If you have any questions about accessing these resources, would like guidance in finding additional sources, or maybe you have a resource in mind you’d like the library to obtain for you–please reach out to Sheena!

Additional Library Resources

You can also explore additional library resources using our Subject Guides:

Cellular Biology

Background Sources 

  • Encyclopedia of Cell Biology – 285 articles covering every aspect of cell biology, with fully annotated figures and illustrations for full comprehension of concepts.

Study Guides 

  • Molecular & Cell Biology for Dummies – This easy-to-understand guide explains the structure and function of the cell and get up to speed on the structure of atoms, types of bonds, carbohydrates, proteins, DNA, RNA, and lipids.

eBooks

  • Cell Biology – covers key principles of cellular function with richly illustrated content.
  • Cell Physiology Sourcebook – provides clear, concise, and comprehensive coverage of biophysical chemistry, metabolism, transport physiology, membrane and ion channels.

Videos

JoVE’s Cellular Processes Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

The Cell Image Library

Genetic Science Learning Center

HHMI BioInteractive

Biochemistry

Background Sources 

Study Guides

  • Biochemistry for Dummies – designed as an un-intimidating overview of cell processes, carbohydrates to amino acids, proteins, and molecular structure.

eBooks

  • Biochemistry -fundamental principles governing the structure, function, and interactions of biological molecules.
  • Biochemistry: an Organic Chemistry Approach -reactions in biochemistry; chemical behavior of biomolecules and enzyme activity.
  • Chemistry of Biomolecules – discusses carbohydrates, amino acids, peptides, proteins, enzymes, pyrimidines, purines, nucleic acids, lipids, terpenoids, and alkaloids.

Videos

JoVE’s Chemistry of Life Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

ChemTube3D-Interactive Models

HHMI BioInteractive

PhET Simulations

Macromolecules

Background Sources 

Study Guides

  • Molecular & Cell Biology for Dummies – This easy-to-understand guide explains the structure and function of the cell and get up to speed on the structure of atoms, types of bonds, carbohydrates, proteins, DNA, RNA, and lipids.

eBooks

Videos

JoVE’s Macromolecules Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

ChemTube3D – Interactive 3D Models

HHMI BioInteractive

Genetics

Background Sources

  • Brenner’s Encyclopedia of Genetics – over 1600 articles provide definitions of key terms, suggestions for further reading, and biographical sketches of the key people in the history of genetics.

Study Guides

  • Genetics for Dummies – provides students with easy-to-understand information about genes, genetics, and genomic sequencing.

eBooks

  • Genetics – perfect text for undergraduates looking for a concise introduction to genetics.
  • Human Genes and Genomes – integrates classical genetics with the latest discoveries in structural and functional genomics.
  • Molecular Biology – introduces basic concepts of genetics including DNA sequencing, gene transcription, RNA processing, protein structure, and gene expression.

Videos

Digital Tools

DNA Learning Center

Genetic Science Learning Center

 Phet Interactive Simulations

Evolution

Background Sources

Study Guides

eBooks

Videos

JoVE’s Evolution Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

PhET Interactive Simulations

HHMI BioInteractive

Genetic Science Learning Center

Ecology

Background Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity – themes include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity.
  • Encyclopedia of Ecology – covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms to populations, to communities and ecosystems.

Study Guides

  • Princeton Guide to Ecology – covers population ecology, communities and ecosystems, landscapes and the biosphere, and conservation biology.

eBooks

  • Ecological Speciation  – reviews the three components of ecological speciation and discusses the geography and genomic basis of the process.
  • Ecology Pocket Guide – explains more than sixty basic ecological concepts in an easy-to-use A-to-Z format.

Videos

JoVE’s Ecology Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

Genetic Science Learning Center

Virtual Biology Labs

hhmi BioInteractive

Human Biology

Background Sources

  • Atlas of Human Anatomy – world-renowned, exquisitely illustrated atlas of the human body with a clinical perspective.

Study Guides

eBooks

  • Human Biochemistry – offering immediate application of biochemical principles into clinical terms.
  • Medical Cell Biology – a concise focus on eukaryotic cell biology as it relates to human and animal cytology.

Video

JoVE’s Human Biology Video Tutorials

Digital Tools

Genetic Science Learning Center

Animal Biology

Background Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior – covers communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior.
  • A Dictionary of Zoology – over 6,000 entries providing full taxonomic coverage; includes terms from the areas of ecology, animal behavior, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology.

eBooks

  • Animal Behavior – addresses the physiological foundations of behavior, homeostatic mechanisms, behavior and conservation, and behavioral aspects of disease.
  • Animal Evolution: Interrelationships with the Living Phyla – provides a comprehensive analysis of the evolutionary interrelationships and myriad diversity of the Animal Kingdom.
  • How Microbes Shape Animal Biology – microbial partners drive ecologically important traits, from thermal tolerance to diet, and have contributed to animal diversification over long evolutionary timescales.

Videos

Digital Tools

HHMI BioInteractive

Plant Biology

Background Sources

  • Encyclopedia of Plant Viruses – provides up-to-date information on the viruses and viroids infecting all types of cultivated and weed plants at the global level.
  • Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences – presents both foundational and applied information on plants used by humans as sources of food, raw materials, and amenity purposes.

eBooks

  • Plant Cell Biology -connects the fundamentals of plant anatomy, plant physiology, plant growth and development, plant taxonomy, plant biochemistry, plant molecular biology, and plant cell biology.
  • Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics – provides a comprehensive treatment of all aspects of plant gene expression.

Videos

JoVE’s Plant Biology Video Series

Digital Tools

Genetic Science Learning Center

HHMI BioInteractive

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - over 500 articles that help define and explore biochemistry.Encyclopedia of Genetics - provides definitions of key terms, suggestions for further reading, and biographical sketches of the key people in the history of genetics.Encyclopedia of Cell Biology - covering every aspect of cell biology, with fully annotated figures and illustrations for full comprehension of concepts.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity - themes include the evolution of biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity.Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - covers communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and applications of animal behavior.Encyclopedia of Ecology - covers all scales of biological organization, from organisms to populations, to communities and ecosystems.
Encyclopedia of Virology - explores viruses in the environment as well as pathogenic viruses of humans, animals, plants and microorganisms; virus classification, structure, and epidemiology.Encyclopedia of Microbiology - covers the entire field of microbiology--including animal and plant microbiomes--from basic principles, to applied technologies.Encyclopedia of the World's Biomes - entries on land and water biomes; covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations.
hhmi BioInteractive

Includes a video library of animations, visualizations and interactive tutorials on:

Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Cell Biology
Genetics
Microbiology
Anatomy & Physiology
Evolution
Ecology

DNA Learning Center

Visualizations of cellular and molecular processes explained in interactive animations covering:

DNA Molecule
DNA Transcription & Translation
DNA Replication
Disease & DNA Mutation

Genetic Science Learning Center

Includes video, infographics, and interactive tutorials on:

Genetics
Cell Biology
Human Health
Neuroscience
Evolution
Ecology
Plants

Harvard LabXchange

A vast library covering topics in biological sciences. Use keyword searching to find resources, or you can browse by collection:

Animation Lab
iBiology
Genome Campus
Concord Consortium (3D animations)

The Cell Image Library

Database of images, videos, and animations of cells; browse by organisms, cell types, and cellular processes:

Cell Process
Cell Component
Cell Type
Organism
Interactive Cells

PhET Interactive Simulations

Interactive, research-based science simulations in the fields of:

Biology
Chemistry
Physics
Math
Earth Sciences

ChemTube 3D

Contains interactive 3D chemistry animations and structures, with supporting information for:

Organic Chemistry
Chemical Structures & Bonding
Interactive Periodic Table

Ameoba Sisters

Cartoons that present Biology concepts and phenomena in a playful way to demystify science.

Checkout the Ameoba Sisters:
YouTube Channel
Web Comics
Biology GIFS

Cells Alive!

Animations of molecular and cell biology processes, virtual labs, cell models and study guides.

Cell Biology
Microbiology
Genetics