BIS 103: Bioenergetics and Metabolism

by Sheena M Campbell, Ruth Gustafson – March 17, 2022

 INSTRUCTOR: Mona Monfared — mmmonfared@ucdavis.edu

Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your BIS infographic.

 

This Fall 2021 guide will focus on online-only library resources.  Keep in mind that major publications on general topics such as bioenergetics or metabolism may be textbooks, handbooks or other resources that do not have online copy.  Options for getting to print-only resources are noted within the Library Catalogs section.

Locating bioenergetics/metabolism literature:  The top journals SCIENCE and NATURE include literature across all sciences. Top licensed biology-focused journals include: Biological Reviews, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B – Biological Sciences (oldest continuously published biology journal in the world),  Quarterly Review of Biology, BioScience, FASEB (Federation of the American Societies of Experimental Biology) Journal and BioEssays. Top open-access journals focusing on the biological sciences which might provide ideas for topics include PLOS Biology, eLIFE and BMC Biology. Premier licensed medical journals include JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association), NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine),  Lancet , BMJ (British Medical Journal), and Nature Medicine.  Top open-access medical titles include PLoS Medicine and BMC Medicine.

Once you’ve picked your topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. The UC Davis Library online catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Each library subject database — such as BIOSIS Previews or PubMed — also uses subject lists (Concept Codes for BIOSIS or MeSH for PubMed) that can help you precisely search your topic.
NEWS FLASH!!!   The UC Libraries now have access again to nearly all Elsevier journals – many of which are important for all areas of biology including bioenergetics and metabolism.   See the new Elsevier agreement (implemented April 1, 2021) information at: https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/news/transformative-open-access-agreement-with-elsevier-goes-live/

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

Accuracy
Does the author cite references to support her/his thesis? Are the references also from credible sources?
Authority
Who produced the information? What can you find about the author’s credentials? What is the reputation of the journal or the institution the author comes from?
Objectivity
Is the content presented as fact or speculation? What is the source’s purpose? Is there bias (many research articles now have to have a conflict of interest statement about their funders)
Timeframe
When was the source written/created? Is the information still relevant?  A molecular sciences article may be outdated within 5 years while an article on basic biology (protein structure, taxonomy, anatomy) may be valid for decades.

A useful similar method to evaluate websites — CRAAP test: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose

Abstract
A brief summary of the main points in a book, article or other work.
Bibliography
A list of works cited at the end of an article, book or other information source.
Catalog
A list of records that represent the holdings (what is owned) of a library.
Database
An organized, searchable collection of information, often related to a specific subject area. One of the primary tools for locating articles by topic. Most subject databases available through the library are licensed resources with access restrictions.
Peer Review
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts (in addition to the editor) before being accepted for publication.
Scholarly Journal
A publication containing articles that usually has undergone peer review, a process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality by one or more subject experts (in addition to the editor) before being accepted for publication.  Some very specialized scholarly journals may have articles assessed only by the editor because of the narrow scope of the journal.
  • Scientific Literature Publication Cycle [Diagram]

    University of New Mexico

    Illustration of scientific research process using a clockwise timeline with indication of earliest research output to latter outputs of research process. Describes the type of literature generated at different points in the publishing cycle and the types of assimilation into secondary and tertiary literature.

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on communicating in the sciences including visual methods.  Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include:  Visual Communication ;  Communication — Graphic Methods ; Information visualization ; Biology — Authorship ;         Life sciences — Authorship ; Communication of technical information ; Report writing ; Technical writing
For titles specifically about infographics,  use the Any Field (Keyword) search   Infographic* and then look to the right column of the results to the AVAILABILITY section and choose Full Text Online
  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS?  We’ll ship it to you!  The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place.   Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you.  Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.

ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM?  Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates.  Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.

Due dates will become active with start of Fall Quarter.  “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

    Library of Congress Classification Outline

    Lists the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification.  Explore the Q area for Science and S area for Agriculture.

Guide provided by the UCD Health Sciences Libraries to their eBook collections including a select list of major textbooks.   Click on the “Select eBooks by Subject” link to get to the books organized by medical specialties.   Medical textbooks are an excellent source for authoritative knowledge about diseases and disorders including standard information on:   clinical presentation (symptoms), pathogenesis, diagnosis, treatment/therapy and much more.

Health Sciences eBooks

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, General & Multidisciplinary Sources, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped  symbol or referee shirt  Refereed  indicating the publication is “Refereed”.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines.

NOTE that review journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, pushing rankings for original research titles lower, so use with caution.  Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)  Icon

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely