Business, Marketing and Management

by Adam Siegel — September 29, 2017

Business, Marketing and Management

by Adam Siegel — September 29, 2017

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is the imperative to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter). Below are the most comprehensive and significant broad disciplinary subject indexes and databases for general-interest business intelligence and market research.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

In this Guide:

“Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.”

Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Tags: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

2

VPN

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage in more than 20 languages.

Tags: Business, News

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

The State of California’s Employment Development Department offers a link to InfoUSA’s employer directory for the state as part of its Data Library. This database can be searched by keyword, NAICS code, county, or industry.

Tags: Business, Labor

EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports

Coverage: 1996-present
Tags: Business, Economics

EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Its primary purpose is to increase the efficiency and fairness of the securities market for the benefit of investors, corporations, and the economy by accelerating the receipt, acceptance, dissemination, and analysis of time-sensitive corporate information filed with the agency.

Coverage: 1996 - present
Tags: Business, Economics, Finance

7

VPN

Statista is a statistics portal that provides access to data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics.Data is Downloadable in Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.

“Updated daily. Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Full text coverage includes stock, bond, and mutual fund guides and reports; earnings and dividends reports; comprehensive company information; industry surveys for 52 major U.S. industries; and directories of companies, executives and security dealers.”Key components include:S&P’s Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys (in downloadable format)S&P’s Stock Reports and Company ProfilesS&P ratings of stocks, bonds, and mutual fundsProvides full text access for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.

Global Financial Data complies and transcribes original data sources from print materials into electronic, chain-linked, research-quality data sets.

Click on Login from the menu across the top of the homepage. From the Login screen, click button to Login Anonymously.

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

Worldcat [via FirstSearch]  Icon

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”

Subject Guides

Most people use the library for the following:

 

1. To find a book they already know they want;

2. To research a question they’ve already formulated;

3. To learn more about a topic they’re interested in.

 

To find a book you already know you want, use the library catalog.

To research a question you’ve already formulated, use the appropriate catalog or index. [hint: in the sciences, start with the appropriate subject index; in the humanities, start with the library catalog.]

To learn more about a topic you’re interested in, use the appropriate subject guide, or contact your subject librarian.