Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info

UC Cooperative Extension Services

by Leyla R Cabugos, Ruth Gustafson – September 5, 2019

This guide brings together information resources for UC Cooperative Extension Specialists and Advisers. Your librarians are happy to help any time you have questions.

 

 

Leyla Cabugos

Research Support Services
Researcher Services Librarian

lrcabugos@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5691

In this Guide:

Services for Library Users at Remote Sites

Find out how to establish your library privileges, borrow books by mail, or request electronic delivery of an article or book chapter from resources we have only in print.

Access VPN
Instructions and software download for UC Davis affiliates to access our licensed resources from off campus.

Contact Your Librarian

Axel Borg, Post-harvest agriculture subject specialist.

Leyla Cabugos, Plant sciences subject specialist.

Ruth Gustafson, Animal and ecology subject specialist.

Deanna Johnson, Veterinary medicine subject specialist.

Alesia McManus, Environmental sciences subject specialist.

        David Michalski, Human development subject specialist.

Adam Siegel, Agricultural economics subject specialist.

Find Other Subject Librarians for specialized research help or to suggest a purchase of materials by the library.

 

 

Subject Guides

UC Davis librarians have prepared lists of key resources for researchers in specific subject areas, to help you navigate the vast amount of information available through the library and beyond.

Subject Databases

Curated collections of articles, data, grey literature, and other resources, indexed to facilitate searching by researchers in specific subject areas.  These collections may contain resources that you cannot find by searching the open internet (e.g. via Google or Google Scholar).  Key resources for agriculture and related fields are listed here.

Search Tips for Extension Publications

Guide to searching for Cooperative Extension documents from any state, developed by a librarian at Michigan State University.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture
AGRIS covers all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature not available through normal publication and distribution channels, such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers and government publications.
Coverage: 1975-present
Tags: Agriculture, Crops, Horticulture, Irrigation, Pomology, Soils
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

5

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help
BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.

FAOSTAT is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.  FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.  Topics include food and agricultural production and trade, fisheries, land use and irrigation, fertilizers and more. The comprehensive databases cover many countries over long periods of time.

Tags: Agriculture

“AgEcon Search – Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics” is a World Wide Web site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. AgEcon Search collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. AgEcon Search will serve as the permanent archive for this literature and encourages authors and organizations to use this electronic library as the storehouse for additional appropriate scholarly electronic works.”

Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases.

Borrow by Mail

As a user at a remote site, you can have library books from any UC campus mailed to your office. Shipping from the library is free to you; you are responsible for return shipping.  For more information, see Services for Users at Remote Sites.

UCD Library Catalog

Search Catalog for items held in the UC Davis Library.  This includes  books and ebooks, journals, maps, government documents, films, musical scores, manuscripts and photos.  Start with Advanced Search, and use Browse Search to see resources organized by subject.

All UC Libraries Catalog (Melvyl) 

Search physical resources (e.g. print books) held by any UC campus.

Here is a list of electronic book collections with content in agriculture.

Tip: Some titles appear in the E-book databases before they are added to the library catalog. In some cases, searching in an E-book database, rather than the library catalog, will allow you to search within chapter titles or the full text.

 

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2019. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2019
Tags: Multidisciplinary

CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.

PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by CABI but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. {RG 12/16/13}

Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Environmental Science, Plants, Science
Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences published by Elsevier.

Taylorfrancis.com is a brand new platform for all academic, science, technology and medical e-Book content from Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.

Former CRCnetBASE collections are incorporated in this collection including:  AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

Here are links to online collections of information resources in agriculture and related fields, including digitized UC Cooperative Extension publications.

California Agricultural Resources Archive (CARA)

Digital collection of materials on crop research, agricultural production, technology, land use, socioeconomic development, 4-H and youth development, among other subjects, from the County Offices of the UC Cooperative Extension Service.  A built-in search tool locates UCANR publications across several online databases, including Calisphere, Hathi Trust, and Internet Archive.

Calisphere

Calisphere “provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration [which have been] digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state“.

Online Archive of California

“The OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions [and in some cases digital copies] of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses”.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid provides descriptions of documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. The majority of the records are from US institutions, and were harvested from WorldCat.

Hilgardia

Hilgardia was the primary technical publication of University of California Division of Agriculture and Natural Resources for 70 years, published from 1925 to 1995.  The full series has been digitized.

California Agricultural Experiment Station Publications

The following CAES publications have been digitized, and can be found in the catalog of the UC Davis Library: Bulletin, Circular, Extension Service Circular, Lithoprint, Manual, and Publications in Agricultural Sciences.

**Note: each volume is cataloged separately. To find everything in the series, choose the “Advanced Search” option, and enter the publication name and the phrase “California Agricultural Experiment Station”.

A collection of CAES publications is also available in the Internet Archive. It contains:

Bulletin series, 1884 to 1983.

Circular 

Published from 1903-1974, Circulars are the third series produced by the California Agricultural Experiment Station.  It was intended for distribution only as called for by those specially interested in the subjects embraced in them. From 1921-1951 the Circular was supplemented by the Extension Circular, which was subsequently absorbed by Circular to become the California Agricultural Experiment Station Extension Service, Circular.

A. P. Giannini Foundation Research Report Series

The Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics promotes and supports research and outreach activities in agricultural economics and rural development relevant to California.  Members of the Giannini Foundation are University of California faculty and Cooperative Extension specialists in agricultural and resource economics on the Berkeley, Davis, and Riverside campuses. Established in 1930.

 

Finding Open Access Resources

A library guide to freely available information resources for the agricultural sciences.

Open Access Publishing

A library guide to UC Open Access Policies, UCD open access funds for authors, and more.

Copyright and Licensing

Information on using copyrighted work, and on your copyrights at UC Davis.

 

Please help make this guide a more useful resource by responding to this survey, which should take 5 minutes or fewer.  Thank you!