by Cory Craig — September 27, 2017
by Cory Craig — September 27, 2017

Library resources for
First Year Seminar 004:
Problem-Solving in Science Education,
Spring 2017
___________________________________

 

Cory Craig

Research Support Services
Physical Sciences & Engineering Librarian

cjcraig@ucdavis.edu

530-752-0347

In this Guide:

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.

Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education

Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Coverage: June 1983-present
Tags: Education

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology
Library Catalog  (formerly Harvest Catalog)

The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

 

MELVYL UC  Library Catalog                  Melvyl Help

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:      allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 

GOOGLE Books                                Google Books Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl

 

WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

 

Electronic Journals A-Z List:

Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

 

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for journals (or articles).  Google has no way of telling you which online journals UC Davis subscribes to, unless you set your Google Scholar preferences to show UC-eLinks (see below).

Google Scholar:  How do you actually GET the articles?

On-Campus:    You should be able to access any online journal that UC Davis subscribes to.
Off-Campus:    You must install the VPN client first, to access online journals UC Davis subscribes to.

No UCD Online Subscription?:  We may have a print subscription.  Check the library catalog .  If we do not have a print or online subscription, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.


Configure Google Scholar

Google Scholar:  enable UC-eLinks & EndNote import

Enabling the 2 features below will make your Google searches easier and more productive.

1.  Add UC-eLinks:  this will make it easier to access the journal articles we subscribe to
2. 
Add “Import into Endnote”  this will make it easier to import citations to the Endnote citation management software.

 

You can make these changes (detailed instructions below) from either:


1.  Enable  UC-eLinks: 
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Click on Library Links in the left toolbar
  • By default you will see OpenWorldCat – Library Search   (that is the backend to our MELVYL Catalog System)
  • Search for “California”
    • Select:  California Digital Library –UC-eLinks
  • Search for “Davis”
    • Select:  University of California Davis – UCD-eLinks
  • You should have three Library links as shown below (Open WorldCat, California Digital Library, and University of California Davis).
  • Click SAVE

Configure Scholar Preferences to work with UC-eLinks and EndNote

Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results.


2.   Enable “Import into Endnote”:
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Go to:  Bibliography Manager:  (bottom of page)
    • Select:  Show links to import citations into ENDNOTE   (choose ENDNOTE, not BibTex).
  • Click SAVE

 

 Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the  ‘Import into EndNote’ link below each of your search results.

Use the link below to access  encyclopedias and “overviews”, these:

  • can provide focused, highly useful summary of topics, processes and products.
  • can be extremely useful in narrowing your topic, understanding the scope of your inquiry, and/or getting up to speed on a complex topic quickly.


Online Encyclopedias of Education

 

ENDNOTE:   What it is & How to Get Help

Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students. 
  • Endnote Online:   Requires online registration.  Usually the best choice for undergraduate students.  

 

Endnote: Getting Started Guide

Covers (for both versions):

  • getting references into and out of Endnote
  • using Endnote with Word
  • setting up Endnote Libraries, Preferences, Groups, and Journal Abbreviations


Citing the Literature:    Citation Formats & Journal Abbreviations for Physical Sciences & Engineering

 

Citation Guides:
Commonly used citation styles including: APA, CSE, Chicago, MLA and others.

 

ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14:
American Chemical Society (ACS) guidelines for citations of all types. See Table 14-2 (pgs 292-293) for common types of references with examples.

 

ACS Style Guide   An important reference for all chemists. In addition to providing citation guidelines, the ACS Style Guide includes chapters on:

  • Ethics in Scientific Publication
  • Writing Style and Word Usage
  • Peer Review
  • Copyright Basics
  • Electronic Submission of Manuscripts
  • conventions for forumulas, elements, substances, tables, etc.

Print: PSE Library Reference: QD8.5 A25 [YEAR]

 

CASSI Journal Abbreviations:
Use to look up journal abbreviations used in chemistry.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Citation Reference    7 page PDF
Short & efficient guide to IEEE/engineering citation format.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Editorial Style Manual    54 page PDF
Citation formats and editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.  Includes abbreviations for IEEE publications.

Use the tools on this guide to get started with your research in education and related fields. ...

Use the tools on this guide to get started with your research in psychology, human development and related fields ...

A subject guide for sociology highlighting key resources for the discovery of research literature.   ...

Library resources for the field of Chemistry ___________________________________   ...

how to get, set up, and use Endnote to manage citations ___________________________________   ...