In this Guide:

SciFinder      Registration Required     (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus)

See below for how to register for a SciFinder Account

SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 29 million citations and indexes over 10,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
     Coverage: 1907 – present    (with selected pre-1907 material)
     Cited Reference Searching:  1996 – present    (allows you to identify who is citing an article)

SciFinder Auto-Alert:  Keep Me Posted    Receive an email when new articles are published you your topic
Java or Non-Java Structure Editor (optional)
SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
About SciFinder:  On & Off-Campus Use, Troubleshooting & Help, Guides

 


SciFinder: Register for Account

You must register for a SciFinder account before you can use the database. (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus)

 

One-Time Registration (on-campus):
1. Go to the UC SciFinder website, under “New User?” select Davis (UCD).

2. Review the instructions for creating a username/password, click the registration link at end of the page. You must register with your “ucdavis.edu” email account.

3. When you receive a confirmation email, click the link in the message to complete the registration. Check your spam folder if you do not see the confirmation email in your inbox.

Once you have an account, logon to SciFinder.

One-Time Registration (off-campus):
First,  log in thru the VPN, then complete steps 1-3 above.


Web Of Science                                       Covers All Disciplines

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify.
     Coverage:  1900 – present
     Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present  (allows you to identify who is citing an article).

Auto-Alert:   Receive an email me when articles are published on your topic
HOW?:  Sign-in to WOS.  Run Search.  Click: SEARCH HISTORY (top left). Click: SAVE HISTORY/CREATE ALERT. Name it, specify alert frequency & format, save it.
WOS Help:  Save History/Create Alert

Citation-Alert:   Email me when someone cites article X.
HOW?:  Sign-in to WOS.  Find article, click on title.  Click:  CREATE CITATION ALERT (on right)
WOS Help:  Citation Alerts

 

Scopus                                                        Covers All Disciplines

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

Scopus Help

 

PubMed

PubMed indexes the medical literature, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. It contains over 20 million citations and indexes over 8,400 journals. PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.

     Coverage: 1946 – present.

 

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.

     Coverage: 1887 – present.

 

Chemical Abstracts

Printed indexes of Chemical Abstracts (1907-2001) are located in the Physical Sciences & Engineering Library Reference area  (first floor).

 

All Physical Sciences & Engineering Library Databases

Databases for articles, reports, data and properties, used in physical sciences & engineering.

Library Catalog  (formerly Harvest Catalog)

The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

 

MELVYL UC  Library Catalog                  Melvyl Help

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:      allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 

GOOGLE Books                                Google Books Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl

 .
UC Davis ChemWiki

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. The development of the ChemWiki is currently directed by UC Davis Professor Delmar Larsen.

The UC Davis STEMWiki Hyperlibrary consists of seven pseudo-independently operating and interconnected “STEMWikis” that focus on augmenting post-secondary education in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields.

 

WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 


Major Online Book Collections


ACS Symposium Series eBooks,   1974-on

UC Davis has the ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 1974 on.  Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are also available in print.

To locate a print volume: search the Library Catalog for “ACS Symposium”  then add either the volume number or title you want.


ACS Advances in Chemistry,   1949-1998

Founded in 1949, Advances in Chemistry series was the predecessor to the ACS Symposium Series.


Annual Reviews,   1996-on

Critical reviews covering primary research literature in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Can provide a good overview topics you are not familiar with. Chemical fields covered include: analytical chemistry; biochemistry; physical chemistry; pharmacology and toxicology; and chemical and biomolecular engineering.

Online:  1996 – present.

Tables of Contents only: 1984 – 1995.  Use the library catalog to find these in print.

 

 International Tables For Crystallography

Theo Hahn;  U. Shmueli;  A. J. C. Wilson (editors).  1984-2012.  Dordrecht, Holland; Boston, U.S.A.  Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, most current volumes available through Wiley.
Use the link above or this alternate link to access the volumes below.

Volume A1 Symmetry Relations Between Space Groups
Volume B Reciprocal space
Volume C Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Tables
Volume D Physical Properties of Crystals
Volume E Subperiodic Groups
Volume F Crystallography of Biological Macromolecules
Volume G Definition and Exchange of Crystallographic Data


International Tables for X-Ray Crystallography

Norman F.M. Henry & Kathleen Lonsdale (Editors), International Union of Crystallography, Kynoch Press 1969. Freely available via Internet Archive.

Volume 1:  Symmetry Groups    (also in print:  PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 2: Mathematical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 3: Physical & Chemical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 4: Revised and supplementary tables to volumes 2 and 3 (print only: PSE Library QD945 .I55)

 

RSC eBooks,   1968-on

The RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) ebooks package, includes over 1000 books published since 1968, including the Specialist Periodical Reports series and Tutorial Chemistry Texts.

 

Springer eBooks,   2005-on

Springer ebooks package includes over 28,000 scholarly books, covering all scientific disciplines.  Books are published in English and German.  Book series in chemistry include:

Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology
Advances in Polymer Science
Progress in Colloid and Polymer Science
Structure & Bonding
Topics in Current Chemistry
Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry
Topics in Organometallic Chemistry

 

Wiley eBooks,   2011-on

Over 1300 ebooks focused on chemistry, physical sciences, biosciences & engineering.  The UC’s purchased all 2011 and 2012 ebooks, including IEEE ebooks (older years on IEEE Xplore platform).

Browse by Subject
Browse by Publication title

 

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

 

Electronic Journals A-Z List:

Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

 

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for journals (or articles).  Google has no way of telling you which online journals UC Davis subscribes to, unless you set your Google Scholar preferences to show UC-eLinks (see below).

Google Scholar:  How do you actually GET the articles?

On-Campus:    You should be able to access any online journal that UC Davis subscribes to.
Off-Campus:    You must install the VPN client first, to access online journals UC Davis subscribes to.

No UCD Online Subscription?:  We may have a print subscription.  Check the library catalog .  If we do not have a print or online subscription, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.


Configure Google Scholar

Google Scholar:  enable UC-eLinks & EndNote import

Enabling the 2 features below will make your Google searches easier and more productive.

1.  Add UC-eLinks:  this will make it easier to access the journal articles we subscribe to
2. 
Add “Import into Endnote”  this will make it easier to import citations to the Endnote citation management software.

 

You can make these changes (detailed instructions below) from either:


1.  Enable  UC-eLinks: 
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Click on Library Links in the left toolbar
  • By default you will see OpenWorldCat – Library Search   (that is the backend to our MELVYL Catalog System)
  • Search for “California”
    • Select:  California Digital Library –UC-eLinks
  • Search for “Davis”
    • Select:  University of California Davis – UCD-eLinks
  • You should have three Library links as shown below (Open WorldCat, California Digital Library, and University of California Davis).
  • Click SAVE

Configure Scholar Preferences to work with UC-eLinks and EndNote

Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results.


2.   Enable “Import into Endnote”:
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Go to:  Bibliography Manager:  (bottom of page)
    • Select:  Show links to import citations into ENDNOTE   (choose ENDNOTE, not BibTex).
  • Click SAVE

 

 Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the  ‘Import into EndNote’ link below each of your search results.

Use the resources below to access  encyclopedias and “overviews”, these:

  • can provide focused, highly useful summary of topics, processes and products.
  • can be extremely useful in narrowing your topic, understanding the scope of your inquiry, and/or getting up to speed on a complex topic quickly.

ONLINE


Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

An online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

 

Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Another online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, Ullmann’s is also a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

 

CRCNetBase:  Engineering Handbooks

A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable.   Extremely useful for:

  • expanding your topic,
  • getting a broad overview of your topic, or,
  • getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book).

 

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (eEROS)

Print Location: PSE Reference QD77 .E53 1995

 

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology    (IUPAC “Gold Book”)

 


GENERAL CHEMISTRY


Chemistry: Foundations and Applications

Print Location: QD4 C48 2004 Vols. 1-4, Reference

 

Dean’s Analytical Chemistry Handbook   (Access Engineering via CDL)

Print Location: QD78 .P37 2004  PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of chemistry

Print Location: QD4 .R57 2005,  PSE Reference

 

Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 2016

Print Location: PSE Reference  QD5. C5 2007

 

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry

Print Location: QD4 M33 1997 Vols. 1-4, Reference

 

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Chemistry

Print Location: QD4 .M34 2004,   PSE Reference

 

Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry

Print Location: QD4 .V36 2005,  PSE Reference

 


SPECIFIC AREAS OF CHEMISTRY


Catalysis from A to Z : a concise encyclopedia

Print Location: QD505 .C3829 2003,  PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of Catalysis,  6 volumes

Print Location: QD505 .E53 2003,   PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 10 volumes

Print Location: QD148 .E53 2005,  PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry

Print Location: QD876 .E53 2004,  PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid science

Print Location: QD506 .E63 2006,  PSE Reference

 

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry,  3 volumes

Print Location: QD95 .E55 2000,   PSE Reference

 

Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry

Print Location: QD155.5 P37 2003,  PSE Reference


BASIC Resources for Properties


CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics       QD65 C4, Reference (Chem Ref Table)

 

ChemNetBase

A collection of major chemisty reference books.
Search each title individually, or select “Combined Chemical Dictionary” to search the 5 “Dictionary of…” titles simultaneously.

 

Combined Chemical Dictionary   (CCD)

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Polymers: A Property Database

Properties of Organic Compounds

 

Kaye & Laby Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants   (16th ed., 1995)     QC61 .K3 1995, Reference 

Includes important physical and chemical property data from across the spectrum of chemistry and physics.
It is freely available from the UK’s National Physical Laboratory.
Use the  Search Feature  or browse via the Table of Contents

 

Merck Index    RS51 M4 1996 Reference (Chem Ref Table)

An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. The Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses.  The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
Merck User Help Guides

 

Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry       QD65 L36 1992, Reference (Chem Ref Table)

 

Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook    (via CDL hosted site)      TP151 P45 2008, Reference (Chem Ref Table)

 

 


 DATABASES for Properties


REAXYS

Provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions.  Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available.  Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database.  It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.

New version of Reaxys (Reaxys 2.0) launches Nov 6, 2017 at UC Davis.

Old version still available via button (REAXYS Version 1) on lower left of the launch page through January 30, 2018

Quick Start to REAXYS 2.0

 

Coverage:
1772 – present         Chemical substances
1976 – present         Chemical patents
1980 – present         Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present         Inorganic chemistry journal articles

Help:
Quick Start to REAXYS 2.0
Additional REAXYS Training materials

 

 

SciFinder      [Registration Required]      

 In addition to being the most comprehensive bibliographic database for chemistry, SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra.

Coverage: 1907 – present    (with selected pre-1907 material)
Java or Non-Java Structure Editor (optional)
SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
About SciFinder:  On & Off-Campus Use, Troubleshooting & Help, Guides

 

Cambridge Structural Database  (WebCSD)        UC Davis site license funded by the Chemistry Department

The web version of Cambridge Structural Database  (CSD) provides crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for more than 544,000 organic and organometallic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined by x-ray or neutron diffraction (nearly 600,000 structures).

 

 NIST Chemistry WebBook

Provides thermochemical data for over 6500 organic and small inorganic compounds. Data available may include: gas phase and condensed phase thermochemistry data, reaction thermochemistry data, phase change data, spectra (IR, Mass, UV), Henry’s Law data, gas phase ion energetics data, ion clustering data, vibrational and/or electronic energy levels, gas phase kinetics, and thermophysical properties of fluid systems.

Help:  Guide to NIST Chemistry WebBook

 


MORE Resources for Properties


Physical Reference Data (NIST Physics Lab)

Another source from the National Insititute of Standards and Technology. Categories include Physical Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors, Atomic Spectroscopic Data, Molecular Spectroscopic Data, and X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data.

 

Smithsonian Physical Tables (Knovel)

Common physical and chemical data.

 


Landolt-Bornstein  //  Springer-Materials

The Library does not have a license for SpringerMaterials.
We do have online access to the predecessor to SpringerMaterials, Landolt-Börnstein for 2009 and earlier.

In most cases, you can access the 2009 and earlier information in our online volumes of Landolt-Börnstein.  For the more recent content added to SpringerMaterials, you’ll need to refer to one or more of the alternate sources listed below.

 


How to Access SpringerMaterials  via Landolt-Börnstein:


Each record in SpringerMaterials has a source. If the source of the document you need is Landolt-Börnstein and from 2009 or earlier, you can get the PDF through Portico.

From SpringerMaterials, note the title of the document and volume in Landolt. Browse the alphabetical list of volumes in Portico, then that volume’s table of contents to find your document PDF.  Here’s a handout (PDF) with some screenshots from both databases.  At present, the volumes are listed alphabetically by their English titles, but eventually will be grouped into subject sections for easier browsing.

Some of the volumes in Portico are alphabetized by their subtitle. For example:

Crystal Structure Data of Inorganic Compounds · Key Element: O Part 2 shows up in the volume list as

Key Element: O Part 2

Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c shows up as

Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c

Phase Equilibria, Crystallographic and Thermodynamic Data of Binary Alloys · Ac-Ag … Au-Zr shows up as 

Ac-Ag … Au-Zr


Alternative databases for locating crystallographic information if you find something in SpringerMaterials:

Inorganic Crystal Structure Database  (ICSD)

SciFinder and REAXYS (any articles referenced in SpringerMaterials will also be indexed in SciFinder, and possibly Reaxys).

Why we don’t have Springer Materials

More Information on Landolt-Börnstein

Landolt-Börnstein  is a vast and systematic collection of physical and chemcal properties of materials.  The verified  physical  data available reflect numerical data and functional relationships in physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology.  Earlier volumes (to the 1980’s) are in German.

Thanks to Teri Vogel (UCSD) and Chuck Huber (UCSB): text on their pages used above.



If you can’t find the property you are looking for, try using:


Thermodex:  Index of Selected Thermodynamic and Physical Property Resources

Identify the type of compound and properties you are looking for, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that may contain these data.  This resource was developed for use at the University of Texas, Austin, links are provided to identify library holdings in your area – or use the Library Catalog to look for the handbooks identified.

With many thanks to the University of Texas Libraries.

 


Chemical Pricing and Market Data


Finding sources for bulk chemical pricing and market data can be quite difficult.  In many cases these data simply may not be available.  Use these guides to search for available information.

Bulk Chemical Prices

With thanks to David Hubbard, Texas A&M University Libraries

Chemical Prices

With thanks to Jill Powell, Cornell University Library

 

ICSD:  Inorganic Crystal Structure Database

A comprehensive database on fully determined inorganic crystal structures with structural and bibliographic data.  Searchable database of more than 93,000 inorganic structures, including pure elements, minerals, metals, and intermetallic compounds. Search by fields such as element(s), citation information (author/journal/title/years), chemical/mineral name, crystal system, space group, minimum distance, cell size/mass, and Pearson Symbol.

 

 International Tables For Crystallography

Theo Hahn;  U. Shmueli;  A. J. C. Wilson (editors).  1984-2012.  Dordrecht, Holland; Boston, U.S.A.  Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, most current volumes available through Wiley.
Use the link above or this alternate link to access the volumes below.

Volume A1 Symmetry Relations Between Space Groups
Volume B Reciprocal space
Volume C Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Tables
Volume D Physical Properties of Crystals
Volume E Subperiodic Groups
Volume F Crystallography of Biological Macromolecules
Volume G Definition and Exchange of Crystallographic Data

 

International Tables for X-Ray Crystallography

Norman F.M. Henry & Kathleen Lonsdale (Editors), International Union of Crystallography, Kynoch Press 1969. Freely available via Internet Archive.

Volume 1:  Symmetry Groups    (also in print:  PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 2: Mathematical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 3: Physical & Chemical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 4: Revised and supplementary tables to volumes 2 and 3 (print only: PSE Library QD945 .I55) 

 

Sax’s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials    

T55.3 H3 S3, Reference
Print copy: use the index to locate substance by name, or CAS number.
Data available include:  basic properties, toxicity (generally includes LD50 data), safety profile, and regulatory information.

 

Sigma Aldrich Library of Chemical Safety Data

T55.3 H3 S54 1985, Reference
Use the index to locate substance by name, formula, CAS number, Aldrich catalog number, Sigma product number.
Data available include: toxicity, health hazards, chronic effects, first aid, incompatibility, decomposition products, basic properties.

 

UC Safety Data Sheets    (SDS, formerly: MSDS Material Safety Data Sheets

SDS via various sources.
Safety Data Sheets provide information on how chemical substances can be safely handled, stored, and used. They generally indicate health, material, and physical hazards; exposure limits; and precautions.  

 

RightAnswer

Use your UC Davis credentials to log on.
Search for SDS by CAS#, substance name, or manufacturer name.

 

Sigma-Aldrich

Use search box in top right to search for SDS by CAS#, substance name, or manufacturer name.
Freely available, no log in necessary.

 

 

TOXNET (Toxicology Data Network)

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (good source for LD50 data), Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, Toxics Release Inventory, CHEMIDplus among others.

 

MICROMEDEX

Contains information on drugs from a health care/clinicians perspective.  Toxicology information available includes: range of toxicity, treatment overview, clinicial effects, mechanism of action (pharmacokinetics), and references.


Print Spectra


PSE Library has a large collection of print spectra. Frequently used titles are listed below, additional titles are available as well (browse the PSE reference shelves in the call number range QC437.A29 through QD421.H68 or search the Library catalog).

 

Aldrich Spectra

An easy to use collection of over 60,000 spectra.

Location: PSE Reference Area (1st Floor)
Indexes: are located in the back of each multi-volume set.

Aldrich Library of 13 C and 1 H FT NMR spectra QD96 F68 P67 1993 3 volumes
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra QD96 I5 D45 1986 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra QD96 I5 P66 1985 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of Infrared spectra QD96 I5 P67 1981 1 volume
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QD96 N8 P68 1983 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QC762 P68 11 volumes

 

 

Sadtler Spectra

A very large collection of over 200,000 spectra.

Location: PSE Reference Area (1st Floor)

Indexes: are separate volumes located on the Chemistry Reference Table (PSE 1st Floor)

Standard IR Grating Spectra QC457 S3 123 volumes
Ultra Violet Spectra QC459 S25 170 volumes
Standard Proton NMR Spectra QC762 S26 118 volumes
Carbon-13 NMR Spectra QC762 S28 210 volumes

Largest Sadtler Sets Are Listed Above.  Many smaller sets are available in the PSE Reference Area.

 


Online Spectra


Below are some freely available sites that provide a limited number of spectra online. See the print spectra listed above if the substance you are looking for is not available online.

 

NIST

The NIST database provides spectra and other information. Most compounds in the database are organic, a few small inorganic compounds are included as well. Spectra available may include: Gas Phase IR Spectra, Mass Spectra, UV/Vis Spectra, Vibrational and Electronic Spectra (tabular data only).

 

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)

Provides spectra for 32,000 organic compounds. Up to 6 different types of spectra may be available: electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS – 22,900 spectra); Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR – 14,000 spectra); 1 H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum (12,300); 13 C NMR spectrum (49,800 spectra); laser Raman spectrum (3,500 spectra); and electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum (2,500 spectra).

 


Databases


The SciFinder and REAXYS databases can be used to locate references to spectra and/or spectral data in the chemical literature. SciFinder provides online access to some spectra, REAXYX provides literature references only.

 

REAXYS

The REAXYS database can be used to locate spectra. Ask at the PSE Reference Desk if you need help.

 

SciFinder Scholar     [Registration Required]  

One time registration is required to use SciFinder (available only to UC faculty, students, & staff).
[How to Register for SciFinder]

To find spectra in SciFinder:  Search for a chemical substance record, click the “Get References” button and limit to references associated with “Spectral Properties”.

Science of Synthesis

Science of Synthesis provides an authoritative review of synthetic methods from the early 1800s to the present, for the field of organic and organometallic chemistry. Each method is evaluated and includes full experimental details. Source literature includes all published journal articles, books, and patent literature. Science of Synthesis is full-text, structure, and reaction searchable. A plug-in may be required for structure searching; chemical drawing packages can be used. The database also provides links to the primary literature and to related information in the Houben-Weyl electronic archive. (All 4 editions, and the supplemental “E-series” volumes, of the Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations are included in Science of Synthesis.)

Coverage:  1800’s to present

Help: Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use Science of Synthesis.
Structure searching requires either Java applet capability, or the presence of ChemDraw or ISIS/Draw on the user’s computer.

Quick Start Guide (8 pages)  PDF

Quick Article Search (6 pages)  PDF

List of All Volumes

 

Organic Syntheses  

Also in print: Collective Volumes: PSE Reference QD262 .O7;   Volumes 1-74  PSE 2nd Floor: QD262 .O7

Organic Syntheses provides reliable, detailed methods for the preparation of organic compounds. Methods have been evaluated for reproducibility in the laboratory. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds; others illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility.

Online version: is freely available to the public and contains the contents of the entire series, up to one year before the present, searchable by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, other text terms, and by structure or substructure. Requires a Java-capable browser.

Print version:  Collective volumes include revised and updated syntheses from annual volumes. There is a cumulative index for the first eight collective volumes.

 

Inorganic Syntheses  

Also in print at: PSE Reference QD151.A1 I5

Provides detailed, tested methods for the synthesis of inorganic and organometallic compounds including boranes, synthetic metals, ceramic superconductors, etc.  Includes reaction yields and safety information.

Online version: is keyword searchable across the entire series; chapters may be displayed and printed as PDFs.

Print version: has no collective volumes, but there is a collective index to volumes 1-30; and indexes cumulate every 5 volumes.


ORCID iD:  What is it?  

 

ORCID IDORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is an independent, non-profit, community-driven organization that provides unique, persistent identifiers (ORCID iDs) for researchers in all fields.

ORCID iDs:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • integrate your work in the digital scholarly ecosystem
  • will soon make it possible to create an automatically updated list of your publications (if:  you include your ORCID iD when submitting manuscripts; enable the Auto-Update feature; publishers allow/require ORCID iDs as part of manuscript submission, as increasing numbers are doing).  

 

How to get one:

Go to  ORCID   and click “register now” to obtain an ORCID iD.

Recommended:

  • Use the search & link wizards to add your works (publications and other scholarship)
  • Use the search & link wizards to list funding you have received

All aspects of your ORCID record are entirely under your control.

 

What it’s used for // How to improve your profile and correct errors

  • Include your ORCID iD when submitting manuscripts (where possible/required)
  • Link other IDs you have to your ORCID iD (Web of Science Reseacher ID, Scopus Author ID, Loop profile, etc.).
  • Consider unifying the “beyond the PDF” aspects of your scholarship (Google Scholar Profile, Twitter account, blog, FigShare, GitHub, ImpactStory, etc.) by listing them in the “Websites” section of your ORCID iD.
  • Include your ORCID iD on your: departmental web page/profile,  C.V.,  email signature, twitter profile, grants, and anywhere else you provide a list of your work.

 


Google Scholar Profile:   What is it?

If you have publications indexed in Google Scholar, you can create a profile that will show up when people search on your name. It will display your publications, any information you provide, and a set of metrics including h-index.

 

How to get one:

Go to  Google Scholar Citations  and sign in with your Google account. You will then be asked for your name, affiliation, etc. Next, Google Scholar will automatically suggest publications to add to your profile. Select the ones that are yours to add to your profile. Add your research interests as keywords, which can then be used to search on by people looking for other researchers in a field.

 

What it’s used for:

A Google Scholar profile will show up at the top of results when people search for your publications in Google Scholar. It increases visibility of your work by providing a bibliography, indicates which publications are yours if you share a common name. It also shows a citation count to your work, provides an H-index measure.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

See Google’s FAQ for answers to how to add missing publications or correct other errors.

 

To find Google Scholar profiles for other UC Davis reseachers:

Search Google  for: “Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label    [replace “chemistry” with subject/topic of interest]
Or click:     Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label


Altmetrics:  What is it?

Altmetrics: is a term coined in 2010 to refer to metrics that offer alternative (or additional options) to widely accepted metrics such as journal impact factor, number of citations to a given article, h-index, etc. Altmetrics provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

 

Altmetrics Bookmarklet:   is available free.
Go to:  Altmetrics Bookmarklet
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.

 

What it’s used for:

Add the Altmetrics Bookmarklet to your tool bar, visit any paper available online, click the bookmarklet to get article level metrics for that paper.  Track the impact of your articles, or articles of interest to you, in social media.

 


ResearcherID:   What is it?

Researcher ID  is a unique identifier scheme developed by Thompson Reuters and used in Web of Science as well as being compatible with other ID schemes.

 

How to get one:

Go to  ResearcherID  and click “join now”, and enter your information. You will be sent an email; click on the link in the email and finish entering your information (such as your

institution name) to create the ResearcherID. You will then be able to link the ID to ORCID.

 

What it’s used for:

ResearcherID, like ORCID and SCOPUS author ID, is used to tell authors with similar names apart and produce profiles of author work. If you use Endnote or Web of Science, ResearcherID ties into these systems seamlessly. Use your ResearcherID on your CV, grants, and other profiles.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

Once you have gotten the ResearcherID, you can add to your publications list by clicking “add publications” and then searching Web of Science, adding a RIS file from Endnote or RefManager, or connecting directly to Endnote. You can also connect to ORCID, and import the publications from your ORCID profile (or vice-versa).

 


Scopus Author ID:   What is it?

SCOPUS  is a database of literature from all fields, produced by Elsevier. The database automatically assigns unique ID numbers to authors. These IDs help SCOPUS distinguish between similarly-named authors as well as helping to group all the documents by an author together.

 

How to get one:

If you have publications indexed by SCOPUS, you have automatically been assigned a SCOPUS author ID number. You can check this by going SCOPUS  and entering your information.

 

What it’s used for:

In addition to being the tool SCOPUS uses to identify authors, some grant agencies will ask you for SCOPUS ID numbers.
How to improve your profile and correct errors.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

If there are errors in your profile, you can fill out the author feedback form: in SCOPUS, run an author search, click on the author’s name, then on the link that says “request author detail corrections.”
You can add your SCOPUS ID to your ORCID profile by clicking “add to ORCID” from your author page in SCOPUS; directions are here.  Once you do this, you will be asked to log into ORCID, to verify that you authorize SCOPUS to access your ORCID account, and then you will walk through adding the appropriate SCOPUS profile and publications to your ORCID profile.

ENDNOTE:   What it is & How to Get Help

Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students. 
  • Endnote Online:   Requires online registration.  Usually the best choice for undergraduate students.  

 

Endnote: Getting Started Guide

Covers (for both versions):

  • getting references into and out of Endnote
  • using Endnote with Word
  • setting up Endnote Libraries, Preferences, Groups, and Journal Abbreviations


Citing the Literature:    Citation Formats & Journal Abbreviations for Physical Sciences & Engineering

 

Citation Guides:
Commonly used citation styles including: APA, CSE, Chicago, MLA and others.

 

ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14:
American Chemical Society (ACS) guidelines for citations of all types. See Table 14-2 (pgs 292-293) for common types of references with examples.

 

ACS Style Guide   An important reference for all chemists. In addition to providing citation guidelines, the ACS Style Guide includes chapters on:

  • Ethics in Scientific Publication
  • Writing Style and Word Usage
  • Peer Review
  • Copyright Basics
  • Electronic Submission of Manuscripts
  • conventions for forumulas, elements, substances, tables, etc.

Print: PSE Library Reference: QD8.5 A25 [YEAR]

 

CASSI Journal Abbreviations:
Use to look up journal abbreviations used in chemistry.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Citation Reference    7 page PDF
Short & efficient guide to IEEE/engineering citation format.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Editorial Style Manual    54 page PDF
Citation formats and editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.  Includes abbreviations for IEEE publications.

Guides created for library classes taught for the Chemistry department are listed here (or will be listed here, after being recreated on Word Press)

 

FYS 004: Problem-Solving in Science Education
Ozcan Gulacar,   Spring 2017

 

Chem124L: Laboratory Methods in Inorganic Chemistry
Daniel Walters,   Spring 2017

 

 

 

ChemDraw: 

ChemBioDraw (also known as ChemDraw) is available to UC Davis students, faculty, and staff via MyUCDavis, not through the library website.

To download the program:

Log on to MyUCDavis,

Click on UCD RESOURCES –> Software –>

then click SOFTWARE again under “Software License Coordination Home”

 

From MyUCDavis software page:

“UC Davis ChemBioDraw license is funded by the Chemistry Department”

This program is also known as:  ChemBioDraw and ChemBioDraw Ultra