Research Support Services
Subject Specialist Librarian
Use the Subject Guides page to identify article databases for your discipline. Click on the broad area that covers your subject (e.g. Physical Sciences or Engineering) or scroll down to see the list of subjects (departments), Subject guides list library resources, including article databases, for a given discipline.
The main databases used to find chemistry articles are: SciFinder and Web of Science, these are listed below. You can also use Google Scholar, if you only need to find a few good articles on a topic, or a known item (i.e., you know the title or exactly which article you want), but SciFinder and Web of Science are the best options for most searches.
See below for how to register for a SciFinder Account
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 49 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
Coverage: 1907 – present (with selected pre-1907 material)
Cited Reference Searching: 1996 – present (allows you to identify who is citing an article)
SciFinder Training: How to Search
One-Time Registration (on-campus):
1. Go to the UC SciFinder website, under “New User?” select Davis (UCD).
2. Review the instructions for creating a username/password, click the registration link at end of the page. You must register with your “ucdavis.edu” email account.
3. When you receive a confirmation email, click the link in the message to complete the registration. Check your spam folder if you do not see the confirmation email in your inbox.
Once you have an account, logon to SciFinder.
One-Time Registration (off-campus):
First, log in thru the VPN, then complete steps 1-3 above.
Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemistry. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an article that you specify.
Coverage: 1900 – present
Cited Reference Searching: 1900 – present (allows you to identify who is citing an article).
Web of Science Help: How to Search
for Advanced Search: Click on menu/hamburger/3 bars image (upper left)
Covers “scholarly literature… across many disciplines” but does not indicate which publishers or provide any specifics on what is included and left out. For more info, see: About Google Scholar.
Coverage: Google does not specify what they cover.
Cited Reference Searching: Google does not specify what they cover.
On-Campus: You should be able to access any online journal that UC Davis subscribes to.
Off-Campus: You must install the VPN client first, to access online journals UC Davis subscribes to.
No UCD Online Subscription?: We may have a print subscription. Check the library catalog . If we do not have a print or online subscription, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.
From the Google Scholar Settings page:
Click on Library Links in the left toolbar
By default you will see OpenWorldCat – Library Search (that is the backend to our MELVYL Catalog System)
Search for “California”
–Select: California Digital Library –UC-eLinks
Search for “Davis”
–Select: University of California Davis – UCD-eLinks
You should have three Library links as shown below (Open WorldCat, California Digital Library, and University of California Davis).
Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the ‘UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results.
An Author Profile in Google Scholar Citations allows faculty and other researchers to create a web page that lists their publications, provides citation metrics, and tracks citations to publications.
Create an Author Profile: see: Setting Up Your Profile
To find Google Scholar profiles for other UC Davis chemists:
—Search Google for: “Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label site:scholar.google.com
–Or click: “Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label site:scholar.google.com
Note: Citations to publications in Google Scholar can include duplication and citation from non-scholarly works.
For help with your search, visit a library reference desk. Tips on limiting your search by document type, year, and eliminating duplicates are below.
The SciFinder database contains both “CAPLUS” (SciFinder citations to chemistry literature) and “MEDLINE” (citations from the PubMed database to medical literature). Because of this some citations can appear more than once, see below for how to eliminate duplication
LIMITS: After conducting your search, use the blue REFINE RESULTS bar to the left to limit your search by:
Use the SORT BY option in the upper right to sort your articles by times cited:
The asterisk is a truncation symbol, so your search will include: cause or causes or causal, etc.)
Too few hits?
Focus your search by adding additional terms to your search, connected with AND:
Too many hits?
LIMIT your search:
In academic work, it is important to cite your sources anytime you quote or summarize any work that is not created by you. This includes: text, charts, photos, graphs, diagrams, ideas, or anything else that you did not create.
To cite your sources correctly, you need to understand:
Here is a citation to an article in the journal Science
C. B. . Thompson. (1995). Apoptosis in the pathogenesis and treatment of disease. Science. 267(5203), pp. 1456-1462.
Below, I use the citation above, to show what information each part of the citation is giving you:
|Author||C. B. Thompson|
|Title of Article||Apoptosis in the pathogenesis and treatment of disease|
|Title of Journal:||Science|
Many different Citation Styles exist, print manuals or online sites should be available to explain how to use them. Use the citation style your professor or TA indicates. The dominant citation style for chemistry is given in Chapter 14 of the ACS Style Guide.
ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14:
American Chemical Society (ACS) guidelines for citations of all types. See Table 14-2 (pgs 292-293) for common types of references with examples.
CASSI Journal Abbreviations:
Use to look up journal abbreviations to use in your citations.
Can’t My Computer Do this for me??
Yes. You can export citations from article databases like SciFinder or Web of Science to Endnote Web.
Then have Endnote Web put them in ACS format for you.
OR, xcroll down to the box called: Endnote Online in 5 Easy Steps, and follow the instructions for setting up a Endnote Online account, and exporting citations from SciFinder.
ACS Style Guide:
The entire Style Guide is available online and provides important reference info for all chemists. Chapters include: Ethics in Scientific Publication; Scientific Papers (defines what a review paper is); Peer Review; Conventions for formulas, elements, substances, tables, etc.
Also available in print at PSE Library, Reference Area: QD8.5 A25 [YEAR]
If your professor or TA did not specify a particular Citation Style or Citation Manual, ask them which one to use, or use the library’s “Citation Styles web page” to select one.
When you are writing a paper and need to cite your sources, you will use both steps below.
When asked to cite an article, in a given format, go directly to step 3-2.
The format of both in-text and full citations will depend on the Citation Style you use.
3.1) Place in-text citations within your paper,
using the appropriate citation style:
|Example: In-Text Citations|
|number format, superscript:
|number format, italics:
|author-name and date format:
what-you-summarized-or-quoted (Thompson, 1995).
3.2) Then place full citations at the end of your paper,
using the appropriate citation style:
|Example: Full Citations At End|
Use the link above, or,
From the Web of Science database: click on the “Endnote” link (in gray bar at top screen)
From Web of Science:
Log on to Endnote Online
Search Web of Science. Then from the Web of Science results screen:
Select citations to export,
click on the Save to EndNote online link
choose Save to EndNote online
Use Numbers of Records to identify which citations to send, then for Record Content choose: (Author, Title, Source, and Abstract)
Export will happen automatically
From SciFinder: Two step process to get citations into Endnote Online
Step 1: Conduct your search in SciFinder. Then: select citations to export (use checkboxes)
Click EXPORT (near top right)
Choose TAGGED FORMAT (*.txt)
Name it or note the name of the file
Click SAVE file (remember what you named it)
Step 2: Log on to Endnote Online
Under COLLECT, select IMPORT REFERENCES
FILE: Use the BROWSE button to select the file you created above
IMPORT OPTION: Choose SciFinder (CAS).
If you don’t see it, click SELECT FAVORITES, select “SciFinder (CAS)” in the ALL box, the click COPY TO FAVORITES.
TO: Select the Endnote Online Group where you want the citations imported.
You can also cut and paste, or enter citations manually
MANAGE MY GROUPS
MY REFERENCES tab
Select references for new library
ADD TO GROUP –> New Group
To create List of References:
Select FORMAT tab
References: choose library
Bibliographic Style: choose citation style
File Format: choose RTF
Choose: SAVE, EMAIL or Preview & Print
Cite While You Write
Let’s you embed citations in your Word document, while using Endnote Online to format them
Allows you to share references with others
Manage My Groups
Manage Sharing: Add email(s)
Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents. Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:
Covers (for both versions):
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics QD65 C4, Reference (Chem Ref Table)
A collection of major chemisty reference books.
Search each title individually, or select “Combined Chemical Dictionary” to search the 5 “Dictionary of…” titles simultaneously.
Kaye & Laby Tables of Physical & Chemical Constants (16th ed., 1995) QC61 .K3 1995, Reference
Includes important physical and chemical property data from across the spectrum of chemistry and physics.
It is freely available from the UK’s National Physical Laboratory.
Use the Search Feature or browse via the Table of Contents
Merck Index RS51 M4 1996 Reference (Chem Ref Table)
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biological substances. The Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses. The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
Merck User Help Guides
Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry QD65 L36 1992, Reference (Chem Ref Table)
Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook (via CDL hosted site) TP151 P45 2008, Reference (Chem Ref Table)
Provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
In addition to being the most comprehensive bibliographic database for chemistry, SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra.
Coverage: 1907 – present (with selected pre-1907 material)
Java or Non-Java Structure Editor (optional)
SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
About SciFinder: On & Off-Campus Use, Troubleshooting & Help, Guides
Cambridge Structural Database (WebCSD) UC Davis site license funded by the Chemistry Department
The web version of Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) provides crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for more than 544,000 organic and organometallic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined by x-ray or neutron diffraction (nearly 600,000 structures).
Provides thermochemical data for over 6500 organic and small inorganic compounds. Data available may include: gas phase and condensed phase thermochemistry data, reaction thermochemistry data, phase change data, spectra (IR, Mass, UV), Henry’s Law data, gas phase ion energetics data, ion clustering data, vibrational and/or electronic energy levels, gas phase kinetics, and thermophysical properties of fluid systems.
Physical Reference Data (NIST Physics Lab)
Another source from the National Insititute of Standards and Technology. Categories include Physical Constants, Units, and Conversion Factors, Atomic Spectroscopic Data, Molecular Spectroscopic Data, and X-Ray and Gamma-Ray Data.
Smithsonian Physical Tables (Knovel)
Common physical and chemical data.
Landolt-Bornstein // Springer-Materials
The Library does not have a license for SpringerMaterials.
We do have online access to the predecessor to SpringerMaterials, Landolt-Börnstein for 2009 and earlier.
In most cases, you can access the 2009 and earlier information in our online volumes of Landolt-Börnstein. For the more recent content added to SpringerMaterials, you’ll need to refer to one or more of the alternate sources listed below.
Each record in SpringerMaterials has a source. If the source of the document you need is Landolt-Börnstein and from 2009 or earlier, you can get the PDF through Portico.
From SpringerMaterials, note the title of the document and volume in Landolt. Browse the alphabetical list of volumes in Portico, then that volume’s table of contents to find your document PDF. Here’s a handout (PDF) with some screenshots from both databases. At present, the volumes are listed alphabetically by their English titles, but eventually will be grouped into subject sections for easier browsing.
Some of the volumes in Portico are alphabetized by their subtitle. For example:
Crystal Structure Data of Inorganic Compounds · Key Element: O Part 2 shows up in the volume list as
Key Element: O Part 2
Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c shows up as
Crystal Structures of Inorganic Compounds · Structure Types Part 1: Space Groups (230) Ia-3d -(219)-F43-c
Phase Equilibria, Crystallographic and Thermodynamic Data of Binary Alloys · Ac-Ag … Au-Zr shows up as
Ac-Ag … Au-Zr
Alternative databases for locating crystallographic information if you find something in SpringerMaterials:
More Information on Landolt-Börnstein
Landolt-Börnstein is a vast and systematic collection of physical and chemcal properties of materials. The verified physical data available reflect numerical data and functional relationships in physics, physical chemistry, biophysics, geophysics, astronomy, materials science, and technology. Earlier volumes (to the 1980’s) are in German.
Thanks to Teri Vogel (UCSD) and Chuck Huber (UCSB): text on their pages used above.
Identify the type of compound and properties you are looking for, and ThermoDex will return a list of handbooks that may contain these data. This resource was developed for use at the University of Texas, Austin, links are provided to identify library holdings in your area – or use the Library Catalog to look for the handbooks identified.
With many thanks to the University of Texas Libraries.
Finding sources for bulk chemical pricing and market data can be quite difficult. In many cases these data simply may not be available. Use these guides to search for available information.
With thanks to David Hubbard, Texas A&M University Libraries
With thanks to Jill Powell, Cornell University Library
T55.3 H3 S3, Reference
Print copy: use the index to locate substance by name, or CAS number.
Data available include: basic properties, toxicity (generally includes LD50 data), safety profile, and regulatory information.
T55.3 H3 S54 1985, Reference
Use the index to locate substance by name, formula, CAS number, Aldrich catalog number, Sigma product number.
Data available include: toxicity, health hazards, chronic effects, first aid, incompatibility, decomposition products, basic properties.
SDS via various sources.
Safety Data Sheets provide information on how chemical substances can be safely handled, stored, and used. They generally indicate health, material, and physical hazards; exposure limits; and precautions.
Use your UC Davis credentials to log on.
Search for SDS by CAS#, substance name, or manufacturer name.
Use search box in top right to search for SDS by CAS#, substance name, or manufacturer name.
Freely available, no log in necessary.
A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes: Hazardous Substances Data Bank (good source for LD50 data), Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX, TOXLINE, Toxics Release Inventory, CHEMIDplus among others.
Contains information on drugs from a health care/clinicians perspective. Toxicology information available includes: range of toxicity, treatment overview, clinicial effects, mechanism of action (pharmacokinetics), and references.
Visit the Shields Second Floor Library Reference Desk for additional help. The librarians working there will be happy to show you how to search a database, find an article or journal, and answer any other questions you have.