Cited Reference Searching: Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences

by Daniel Goldstein — September 6, 2017

Cited Reference Searching: Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences

by Daniel Goldstein — September 6, 2017

Cited Reference Searching uses the references and notes of articles (and sometimes books) to let you find materials based on what sources they used.

It has three common uses

  • to locate relevant scholarship by virtue of the fact that it cites known relevant sources.
  • to quantify the impact of a specific scholar’s work.
  • to quantify the impact of the research conducted at an institution.

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

Web of Science Core Collection

— is the current incarnation of the venerable Citation Indexes  which invented this approach.  Among other segments, it includes: Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) –1900-present and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) –1975-present

Here’s how to use it for cited reference searching:

  1. If a cited article is itself indexed in the Web of Science, simply look it up in the Basic Search and “Times Cited” with a link will be on the right side of the record.
  2. If the cited item was not indexed by Web of Science, click the down arrow next to “Basic Search” and select “Cited Reference Search”.
      •   Enter the author’s name (last name [space, no comma] first initial *) and the year the item you are interested in was published.
      • The way that a work is cited can be inconsistent, so I recommend trying the search with just these two fields initially.
      • If you need to narrow the search further, try the “cited work” and other search fields.
    • Then click search. You then see a list titled “Cited Reference Index.” Each line refers to a work that matches your search criteria. The same work may be referenced in several lines because of slight differences in the data (different cited pages for example.) The number at the start of each line is the number of times that reference has been cited in other works.
    • Check the boxes in front of all relevant lines and click Finish Search. This generates a list of articles and books that cite one or more of the items you selected.

Scopus

1.If a cited article is itself indexed in Scopus, simply look it up in the Basic Search and cited by” with a number and a link will be on the right side of the record.

2. If the cited item is not indexed in Scopus, or if you are searching for citations of an author, not an item:

  • Change the search option from Article Title, Abstract Keywords to References.
  • Enter all the information you have about the item in the single search box.

 

These subject-based indices support limited cited reference searching.

America: History and Life [via EBSCO]  Icon
“Searchable cited references are provided for more than 450 key titles”
This Search option is located in blue bar at top of screen.

Art  & Architecture Source [via EBSCO]  Icon
Extent of cited reference searching unknown.
This Search option is located in blue bar at top of screen.

Business Source Complete [via Ebsco]  Icon
extent of cited reference searching unknown.
This Search option is located under “More” in blue bar at top of screen.

Communication Abstracts [via EBSCO]  Icon
“Searchable references for hundreds of titles”
This Search option is located in blue bar at top of screen.

Education Source [via EBSCO]  Icon
extent of cited reference searching unknown..
This Search option is located under “More” in blue bar at top of screen.

Historical Abstracts [via EBSCO]  Icon
“Searchable cited references for nearly 520 titles.”
This Search option is located in blue bar at top of screen.

LGBT Life [via Ebsco]  Icon
Extent of cited reference searching unknown.
This Search option is located in blue bar at top of screen.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) [via EBSCO]  Icon
Extent of cited reference searching unknown..
This Search option is located under “More” in blue bar at top of screen.

PsycINFO [via Proquest]    Icon
“there are more than 8 million cited references in 185,000 journal articles, books, and book chapters.” Available through advanced search. Some articles published as far back as 1910 have cited references listed.
Use Command Line Searching  formatted: REF(your citation information in parentheses).

Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]  Icon
“Since 2002, most records from scholarly journals also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article.”
Use Command Line Searching  formatted: REF(your citation information in parentheses).

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [via Proquest]    Icon
” references cited in the bibliography of the source article have been included for citations to core journals in political science, added to the database since 2001, and for all journals added since 2004.”
Use Command Line Searching  formatted: REF(your citation information in parentheses).

Searchable Full-Text Databases offer the opportunity to identify cited references whether they index specifically for that purpose or not.  Here is a selection of this type of resource.  See also, Subject Guides for discipline-specific full text resources.

Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]Icon
“Searchable cited references provided for more than 1,400 journals”
This Search option is located under “More” in blue bar at top of screen.

Google Scholar
Look up a known item and a “cited by” link will appear at the bottom of the item record in the results list. A keyword search on known title and author may bring up even more items although it may also bring up false hits.

JSTORIcon
Look up a known item and an “items cite this item” link will appear to the right side of the screen. However, a full-text search on known title and author may bring many more results.

HathiTrust
This is a collection of books digitized by major US research libraries. A full text search for known items will bring up books that cite those items, even if they can’t be viewed online.

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals OnlineIcon
Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage varies by journal.

Taylor and Francis: collection of online journalsIcon
Advanced search interface for nearly 1000 online journals published with the Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and Psychology Press imprints. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary.

See also: Full Text Journal Collections on the Selected Multidisciplinary Resources: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Guide.