The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter). Below are the most comprehensive article indexing databases for international classical studies scholarship.  Also listed are the most significant full-text archives and corpora for Greek and Latin literature.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more.

Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5

Coverage: 1949-current
Tags: Classics

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE.

Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.

The Regesta Imperii are a fundamental collection of primary sources for the study of European history, and an inventory of all archival and historiographic sources of the monarchs of the Holy Roman Empire ,from the Carolingian Age (9th century CE)to the time of Maximilian I(d. 1519). They include, as well, key records for the study of the papacy in the early and high middle ages.

Die Regesta Imperii sind ein Quellenwerk zur europäischen Geschichte.Sie sind das Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters. Schnittstelle auf Deutsch.

Coverage: 9th CE century to 1519 CE

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Covers over 500 journals worldwide. Topical coverage is broad (ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, the philosophies of law, education, history, etc).

Coverage: 1940 - present
Tags: Bioethics, Ethics, Philosophy

NOTE: Users must register and create an account in order to access this resource.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] Digital Library now contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453..Its’ goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

 

Searchable database of Latin texts; includes concordance.

Tags: Classics, Latin

Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. For the mission of Perseus and its current research, see here.

Perseus maintains a web site that showcases collections and services developed as a part of our research efforts over the years. The code for the digital library system and many of the collections that we have developed are now available. For more information, please go here.

Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. We have studied many problems over the past two decades, but our current research centers on personalization: organizing what you see to meet your needs.

Hae paginae proponent Musa adiuvante in lingua Latina – nunc etiam in lingua Graeca, Germanica, Anglica, Gallica, Italica, Hispanica, Polonica, Russica, Bohemica – facta et ficta. non solum «arma virumque» canunt, sed etiam «fullones ululamque».

The Patrologia Graeca (Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca) is a 19th-century edition of Greek-language patristics and other writings published by J. P. Migne.  It includes works on Christianity, philosophy, and history from the early Christian era until the fall of the Byzantine Empire.  Print holdings can be found in the Shields Library General Collection (BR60 .M4).

The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne’s Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.

Coverage: 1643-1940
Tags: Christianity, Religion, Saints

Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE.

Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.

The Regesta Imperii are a fundamental collection of primary sources for the study of European history, and an inventory of all archival and historiographic sources of the monarchs of the Holy Roman Empire ,from the Carolingian Age (9th century CE)to the time of Maximilian I(d. 1519). They include, as well, key records for the study of the papacy in the early and high middle ages.

Die Regesta Imperii sind ein Quellenwerk zur europäischen Geschichte.Sie sind das Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters. Schnittstelle auf Deutsch.

Coverage: 9th CE century to 1519 CE

Prosopography of the Byzantine World (PBW) is a reference guide to individuals as mentioned or described in contemporary records or accounts.

“This is the largest dictionary of the Latin language encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D. The entries list every single known occurrence of Latin words together with precise citations. This is a unique and indispensable tool for scholars dealing with any subject that relates to the Latin language. I.e. Classics, History, Literature, Linguistics, French, Italian, Spanish (these languages – among a couple of others – originate from Latin). It is also a tool for even the life and biomedical sciences that use Latin vocabularies. The project that produced the print version of this source started at the end of the 19th century and is still going on; the planned completion will be in 2050. The online edition of the Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is published by De Gruyter and provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters A-M, O, P-pomifer, porta-pulso), the articles in the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus. The content of TTL online is thus identical to that of the printed version of the Thesaurus. Each year the contents of the newly printed fascicles will be added to the database”

Tags: Language, Latin

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe…

Read More

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) [via VPN]

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”