This guide outlines some of the databases and research tools most useful for examining community development issues.

Office Hours: Schedule an Appointment

David Michalski

Research Support Services
Social and Cultural Studies Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2086

In this Guide:

This catalog allows one to search and explore the UC Davis Library collections. It contains records describing our extensive print and electronic holdings, and can be used (in Browse mode) as an inventory list of what we own or to what we provide access. Note: While our Journal collection is listed here, the articles in our journals are not listed.

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology

Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy – journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.

Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration policy.

Coverage: 1975-present
Tags: Politics

An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women’s Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: Community Development, Social Policy, Social Science, Welfare

Provides easy access to current and historical demographic data: ◦Including over 40 billion data elements, 200,000 variables and more than 18,000 interactive maps from 1790 to 2010. ◦The entire US Census from 1790 to 2000, plus the first 2010 census data release. ◦All annual updates from the American Community Survey. ◦InfoGroup data on religious congregations for the United States for 2009, including maps for counties, and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations (to be updated yearly). ◦The Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2000. (To be updated in 2012.) ◦Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project. •Creates thematic and interactive maps that make it easy to visually explore all historical and modern US census data across the centuries and even down to street level detail where available. •Creates reports at all geographic levels including the state, county, census tract, block group, zip code and census place (where the data exist).

Coverage: 1790-2010
Tags: Census, Social Science

A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world’s economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association’s Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.

Coverage: 1969-present
Tags: Business, Economics

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]