Ruth Gustafson
Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian
530-752-1883
Cool Library Tools for BioAg Laboratory Staff
by Ruth Gustafson – November 23, 2021
This guide lists library resources for laboratory researchers in the biological and agricultural sciences. To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.
FOR UCD students, faculty, and staff: With the re-opening of campus, feel free to book an appointment with Ruth for assistance in using these resources or for any questions you may have. Ruth will only have Zoom appointments for Fall Quarter 2021. (Exceptions will be made if in-person is the only/best option for the requestor.)
Encyclopedias
Comprehensive Biophysics - Edward Egelman
Publication Date: 2012
Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics - Stanley Maloy and Kelly Hughes
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - William J. Lennarz
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)
The Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis, e-EROS, provides updated information on approximately 3,800 reagents with a database of close to 50,000 reactions. Each reagent entry includes properties such as physical data, solubility, form supplied in, purification, and preparative methods; examples of use in reactions; and literature references. Search options include: name, CAS number, structure and reaction.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Comprehensive online chemical technology encyclopedia with more than 1,000 articles written by a panel of prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions from around the world. Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources (Monthly updates)
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Provides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.
Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.
Library Catalogs
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as population genetics or molecular chaperones rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or Chaperonin GroEL.
- UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections. This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS? We’ll ship it to you! The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place. Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you. Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.
ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM? Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates. Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.
Due dates will become active with start of Fall Quarter. “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”
- Understanding Call Numbers
Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library
Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.
Date: 2004
Get it at UC
Get it at UC (Linking from your library databases)
Not all articles or ebooks will be available for download directly from a database. To access full-text articles and ebooks from databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science) and Google Scholar, click the Get it at UC-link button. If you are not on campus, be sure to connect to the library VPN to access your article.
This link appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of:
1) getting to online articles or book chapters (if licensed) or
2) viewing information about AVAILABILITY of print issues of a journal we own or info on a print book.
If we do not own a journal or book, do Sign In (UCD login/Kerberos passphrase + DUO) and then
3) make an Interlibrary Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library — often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.
EndNote
EndNote @ UC Davis
EndNote for Science Researchers
Data Management Plans for Grants
Data Management (Service at UCD Library)
Department to assist with data management plans, data sharing and data archiving.
DMPTool (https://dmptool.org/) ![[Restricted]](https://bigsys.lib.ucdavis.edu/img/lock.gif "Restricted to UCD Campus or VPN/Proxy Users Only")
Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)
Build your Data Management Plan using the DMPTool. The DMPTool provides a guide for drafting the document that you must submit with your grant application. Users of the DMPTool can view sample plans, preview funder requirements, and view the latest changes to their plans. The tool also permits the user to create an editable document for submission to a funding agency, and can accommodate different versions as funding requirements change.
It supports data management plans and funder requirements across the disciplines and includes multiple agency requirements. Templates for funders of BioAg and EnviSci interest include: Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative, Institute of Museum and Library Services, National Institutes of Health, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NSF-AGS: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, NSF-BIO: Biological Sciences (2013- ), NSF-CHE: Chemistry Division, NSF-DMR: Materials Research, NSF-EAR: Earth Sciences, NSF-EFRI: Emerging Frontiers in Reseach and Innovation, NSF-ENG: Engineering, and NSF-GEN: Generic.
Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)
Makes data easy to discover and cite.
Use EZID to: create identifiers for anything, texts, data, bones, terms, etc.; store citation metadata for identifiers in a variety of formats; and update current URL locations so citation links are never broken.
EZID’s Off Site programming interface allows for automated operation at scale where you can choose from a variety of persistent identifiers, including ARKs and DataCite DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers).
Author: UC Curation Center (UC3)
Archive and preserve your research. Merritt is a UC repository for all subjects.
Merritt is a cost-effective repository service from the University of California Curation Center (UC3) that lets the UC community manage, archive, and share its valuable digital content. Merritt features: an easy-to-use interface for deposit and update; access via persistent URLs; tools for long-term management; and permanent storage.
Author: University of California
Dash is a self-service tool for researchers to describe, upload, and share their research data. It is designed to be a simple self-service curation tool for researchers, and helps them perform the following tasks:
- Prepare data for curation by reviewing best practice guidance for the creation or acquisition of digital research data.
- Select data for curation through local file browse or drag-and-drop operation.
- Describe data in terms of the DataCite metadata schema.
- Identify data with a persistent digital object identifier (DOI) for permanent citation and discovery.
- Preserve, manage, and share data by uploading to a public Merritt repository collection.
- Discover and retrieve data through faceted search and browse.