by David Michalski — March 25, 2020
by David Michalski — March 25, 2020

Cultural Studies and American Studies

by David Michalski – March 25, 2020

This subject guide for Cultural Studies and American Studies highlights key resources for the discovery of research literature in cultural studies and related fields. If you have questions about the use of these databases, research in cultural studies or social sciences or if you need support with social sciences data,  I am happy to help, or get you in contact with those who can. Feel free to contact me via email, michalski@ucdavis.edu or make an appointment https://calendly.com/michalski-1/research-librarian-consultation.

David Michalski

Researcher Services
Researcher Services Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

916-392-2189

In this Guide:

This catalog allows one to search and explore the UC Davis Library collections. It contains records describing our extensive print and electronic holdings, and can be used (in Browse mode) as an inventory list of what we own or to what we provide access. Note: While our Journal collection is listed here, the articles in our journals are not listed.

Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
Coverage: 1964-present
Tags: Canada, History, United States Of America
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies
LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies database.
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Content within the Chicano Database is designed to further research, teaching and scholarship for Chicano studies programs and extended ethnic studies curricula, giving researchers targeted access to materials that explore the broad dimensions of class, race and gender within the Chicano and Latino U.S. experience.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Advanced search interface for nearly 1000 online journals published with the Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and Psychology Press imprints. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary.

13

VPN
OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries