June 22, 2020
June 22, 2020

Try these resources: database trials, temporary access

We need your help as we shape the library of the future.  As new resources are developed and marketed, we receive or initiate temporary access to them. Our list of trial or temporarily accessible resources has increased during the COVID-19 emergency.

Give theses resources a try, and tell us what you think.

Which of these are useful for your teaching? How do they advance your research?  Tell us how these products support your academic projects, so we can make sure the Library continues to support the academic mission of UC Davis.

Library Resource Trial Survey

By filling out this survey you agree to share your opinions with the Library for planning purposes. 
Your responses will not be shared with the public or with the publishers of the resources. They will be kept for internal library use. We may reach out to you about your participation in this survey and your experience with the trial resource.

Fill out this survey for each resource you trial. 

Note: The resources listed below are only accessible for a limited time, on a trial basis. Many of them were activated in response to COVID-19.  The UC Davis Library’s provision of temporary access or trial access to these resources does not guarantee that the UC Davis Library can provide future access.

VPN required for remote access.

In this Guide:

Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International Propaganda
Adam Matthew
Trial
http://www.socialismonfilm.amdigital.co.uk/

 

Black Thought and Culture
Alexander Street Press
Trial 6/11
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/bltc

LGBT Thought and Culture
Alexander Street Press
Trial 6/11
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/gltc

North American Indian Thought and Culture
Alexander Street Press
Trial 6/11
https://search.alexanderstreet.com/ibio

 

BCC industry reports
BCC Research
Free for now 5/31
www.bccresearch.com

 

Bloomsbury Collections
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburycollections.com/

Arcadian Library Online
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.arcadianlibraryonline.com/home

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyappliedvisualarts.com/

Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyarchitecturelibrary.com/

Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyculturalhistory.com/

Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburydesignlibrary.com/

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.becs-bloomsbury.com/

Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyphilosophers.com/

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyfashionvideo.com/

Bloomsbury Food Library
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburyfoodlibrary.com/

Bloomsbury Medieval Studies
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburymedievalstudies.com/home

Bloomsbury Popular Music
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsburypopularmusic.com/

Churchill Archive
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
http://www.churchillarchive.com/

Drama Online
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
www.dramaonlinelibrary.com

Human Kinetics Library
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.bloomsbury.com/dr/digital-resources/products/human-kinetics-library/

Screen Studies
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.screenstudies.com/

Theology and Religion Online
Bloomsbury
Trial 6/30
https://www.theologyandreligiononline.com/

 

Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge
Free for now 6/11
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-companions

Cambridge Elements
Cambridge
Free for now 6/11
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/elements

Cambridge Histories Online
Cambridge
Free for now 6/11
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

Cambridge Textbooks
Cambridge
Free for now 6/11
https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/textbooks

 

DeGruyter eBooks
DeGruyter
Free for now 7/31
http://www.degruyter.com

 

African American Historical Serials Collection
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=h7i&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=asb&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Art Index Retrospective
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=air&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=h6b&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Atla Historical Monographs Collection- Series 1
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=h7h&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 2
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=h8h&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

The Atlantic Magazine Archive: 1857-2014
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=ama&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Bloomberg Businessweek Archive: 1929-2000
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=bwa&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Business Periodicals Index Retrospective: 1913-1982
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=bpr&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Ebony Magazine Archive: 1945-2014
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=ear&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Forbes Archive: 1917-2000
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=fba&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Fortune Magazine Archive: 1930-2000
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30 https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=fma&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=fai&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Humanities Index Retrospective: 1907-1984
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=hmr&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
EBSCO
30 day trial until 7/2
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=puh

Life Magazine Archive: 1936-2000
EBSCO Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=lma&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Nation Magazine Archive: 1865-2020
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=nih&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

People Magazine Archive: 1974-2000
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=pmg&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1983
EBSCO
Free for now 6/30
https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?profile=ehost&defaultdb=ssr&authtype=ip&custid=s3350970

 

Primary Sources
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=GDCS&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Series 1-6
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=AAHP&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: Archives Unbound
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=GDSC&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: British Library Newspapers: Part I-V, 1800-1950
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=BNCN&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: Digital Scholar Lab
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=DSLAB&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCCO&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCUK&u=crlc19

Primary Sources: Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970
Gale
Free for now 6/30
https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=PHIA&u=crlc19

 

Films On Demand
Infobase
Trial 6/5
http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=239892&u=1565077-user

Today’s Science
Infobase
Trial 6/5
https://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx?aid=239892&pid=WE59

Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center
Infobase
Trial 6/5
https://online.infobaselearning.com/Direct.aspx?aid=239892&pid=WE34

 

Academc Video Online
ProQuest
Trial 6/30
https://trials.proquest.com/access?token=eYisceIIpCuwGaErHmquTfNXR

Education Magazine Archive
ProQuest
Trial 6/11
https://search.proquest.com/ema/advanced?accountid=14505

Harper’s Bazaar Archive
ProQuest
Trial 6/11
https://search.proquest.com/harpersbazaar/advanced

Periodicals Archive Online
ProQuest
Trial 6/11
https://search.proquest.com/pao/advanced?accountid=14505

Women’s Wear Daily Archive
ProQuest
Trial 6/11
https://search.proquest.com/wwd/advanced?accountid=14505

 

Sage Reference + eBooks
Sage
Trial 90 days (~7/15)
https://sk.sagepub.com/

 

Statista
Statista
Trial 6/15
https://www.statista.com/