In this Guide:

1

VPN

ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN.

NOTE: Artstor’s site videos (QTVR) are not currently available.

General Collections

This free database contains images of over 300,000 works of art from the Met’s collections. The database is searchable and it is also divided into 22 subject groups including, for example:

  • American Decorative Art
  • Asian Art
  • Islamic Art
  • Musical Instruments
Tags: Art

CAMIO–Catalog of Art Museum Images Online–contains around 80,000 images of works of Art from 24 different museums. The artwork selection draws from a wide range of places and time periods. The images in CAMIO are licensed for non-commericial, educational use (teaching and research).

Tags: Art, Museums

WorldImages “contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images can be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. . . . The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 900 portfolios.”

Tags: Geography

The Grove Dictionary of Art is the standard multi-volume reference work on all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present. Now,it has been combined with three other reference works in the new Oxford Art Online. It can be searched separately or in conjunction with The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. It also incorporates a related collection of more than 5,000 digital images.

This is a collection of high-resolution images from museums and cultural institutions around the world.

Tags: Art

Over 10,000 images of the fine arts from the J. Paul Getty Museum freely available online.

Tags:

7

Searchable image collection composed of “over 200,000 artworks from the UK’s national collection.”

Tags: Art

Topical Art Collections

An online exhibit of Islamic art objects drawn from Museums around the world. It is a project of the Museum With No Frontiers.

Tags: Art, Islam

Corsair, the website for the Pierpont Morgan Library includes a searchable database of more than 15,000 images selected from the Pierpont Morgan Library’s collection of medieval manuscripts.

The Museum’s “collection of 152 Chinese painting and calligraphy has never been studied in depth and is heretofore largely unpublished. For the first time, it is being introduced and made universally accessible through this newly developed online catalogue, which features thoughtful and provocative essays about major works by renowned scholars, with high-resolution, zoom-able images of the works of art, and thorough documentation—including transcriptions and translations of inscriptions and colophons, and seals which are transcribed, identified and located.”

Tags:

This is a juried site of work by contemporary ceramic artists. It includes images of selected works that can be used for educational purposes. Most of the artists represented are from North America.

Tags:

CLAROS is an international interdisciplinary research federation led by Oxford University. It provides searchable access to online image collections of art and artifacts of the Ancient World at several British and European institutions. includes images from Asia and South Asia as well classical Europe. Thematic Collections include, among others :

  • Eastern Bronzes
  • Western Ceramics
  • Antiquarian Photographs
Tags: Art

This growing collection consists of images of Ottoman architectural monuments in the Balkan countries taken by Dutch scholar Machiel Kiel mostly from the 1960s through the 1990s. It is a project of the Netherlands Institute in Turkey (NIT). Currently it contains images from Southeastern Europe.

This innovative site seeks to “provide the user. . .with new ways to understand the relationship of hundreds of buildings conditionally described as ‘Gothic’. . .within a defined period of time and space that corresponds to the advent of the nation of France.” It “seeks to establish linkages between the architectural space of individual buildings, geo-political space, and the social space resulting from the interaction (collaboration and conflict) between multiple agents—builders and users.”

The Museum maintains the nation’s largest and most comprehensive collection of artifacts relating to the art, history, and technology of the moving image—one of the most important collections of its kind in the world.

From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.

Coverage: 1903 - 1967
Tags: Film, History, United States Of America

Here are the online collections in the Library of Congress’ that contain motion pictures. Topics include the history of film itself, advertising, newsreels, and more. They span the Twentieth Century ending with material related to the September 11, 2001 attack.

Tags: Film, History

This page provides a list of links to international archives with moving image collections.

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Los Angeles Public Library’s History and Genealogy Department’s Photo Collection emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California.

The Everett D. Graff Collection is one of the major special collections on the American West. This database contains a full-text selection of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources from that collection. It also includes such supplementary materials as scholarly essays and data maps. It is a rich resource to explore almost any aspect of the history of the American West.

“The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter.”  Some of this material is available online.

This extraordinarily rich image database of over 870,000 photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings is divided into 30 distinct collections. Collections are organized in numerous ways; most of them are either by the administrations of city mayors and borough presidents, or by municipal department, or by material or subject type.

Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries.
Tags: History, New York, United States Of America

This is an online collection of 19th and early 20th century photographs of the Mississippi Valley along the Iowa/Illinois border. They are selected from the collections of several libraries, museums and colleges in the area.

Photographs from the first half of the Twentieth Century on a surprisingly wide range of subjects including the San Francisco Earthquake, the Boy Scouts and Farming.

See also their Photo Galleries, to browse selected subject collections.

Tags: Forestry, History

This growing collection of historical images from France is a collaborative project of several academic and cultural institutions and the French government. The images are carefully selected and fully described.

Tags: France, History

Special Collections at California State University, Chico’s Merriam Library has a fine collection of scanned historic topographic maps of California.

“The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. . . .”

Over 50,000 online map images from the University of Texas’s Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection. Maps are of all sorts, some reflecting current issues others are historical. The site also links to other major map collections.

The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 11,000 maps online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps.