The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 800,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide beginning in 1971 to present.

Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile.
Tags: Asia, Literature, Multidisciplinary

“Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese (and Japanese), and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.”

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

A completely revised bibliography of Japanese history to the end of the Meiji period, by Peter Kornicki. The original appeared in 1996 (UC-Davis has this copy at H/SS Reference, call no. DS835 K67 1996.) The bibliography is arranged by period and also by topics such as foreign relations 1800-1900 and Meiji economic, intellectual, social, and military history.

The NPCC collects all data gathered from the 2010 population census, including population data at the country, province, centrally administered municipality and county unit levels.

Coverage: 2010
Tags: Census, China, Government

NICNP is provided by Shanghai Wenda Information Co., Ltd., based in Shanghai, China. The database provides internet access to titles, authors, and abstracts of newspaper/journal articles published between 1833 to 1979 in China. NICNP covers various subject areas in social sciences and humanities, such as religion, literature, culture, art, politics, economics, and history.

Coverage: 1833-1992
Tags: China, News

This collection of old journals contains more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Subject content includes, but is not limited to, philosophy, economics, politics, military, literature, history, industry, agriculture, geography and medicine. Well-known titles include The Young Companion (良友), Huang Pu(黃埔), and Wan Guo Gong Bao (萬國公報). The database can be browsed by journal title, and searched by article title, author, journal title, publishing year and publishing place. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Coverage: Late Qing Dynasty - 1949
Tags: Agriculture, Art, China, Medicine, Qing Dynasty, Science, Social Science, Technology

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao 聯合報, Jing Ji Ri Bao 經濟日報, Min Sheng Bao 民生報, Lian He Wan Bao 聯合晚報, Xing Bao 星報 in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao 歐洲日報 in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri bao 美洲世界日報 in North America. The online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source in Taiwan, but also an important information sources on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

Tags: China, News

COJ is a comprehensive databases in the area of social sciences, arts and humanities, and business and economics. The sub-databases include China Academic Conference Proceedings (Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), China Online Journals (Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China(Arts/Humanities/Social Sciences), and Policies and Laws of China. The digital resources are all in PDF, HTML format, with an integrated cross-database search platform. All databases are updated frequently.

Coverage: from 1986--
Tags: China, Multidisciplinary

TEPS offers full text articles of periodicals published in Taiwan. The subject includes humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social sciences.

This is the largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language, including abstracts and indexing from thousand of books. The database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. This collection incorporaates local histories, official documents of Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections. It covers multiple dimensions of study, including geography, local customs, politics, economics, sociology, laws and culture. Based on the Taiwan Literature Series and edited by Chou Hsien-wen. It is also useful to the research on history of China’s international trades and relations.

Coverage: From Tang Dynasty (618-907) through the Japanese occupation period (1895-1945.)
Tags: Government, Literature, Taiwan

This is a full-text Chinese academic journal database for Chinese Studies researchers. The UC system subscribes the series in the Literature/History/Philosophy, Economics/Politics/Law, and Education/Social Sciences. The database includes current issues, plus total of 1207 titles from the Century Journal Project (covers the years of 1915-1993.)

Coverage: 1915--2002 for UCD
Tags: China, Multidisciplinary

Trace 5000 years of Chinese civilization from its early origins to the Qing Dynasty. Edited by Chen Meng-lei, a renowed scholar of the Qing Dynasty. Based on the authoritative 64 volume edition from 1934 with original text, illustrations and punctuation. The collection includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine and more.

Coverage: From ancient China through the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911)
Tags: China, History, Multidisciplinary

The “People’s Daily” is the official voice of the central government of the People’s Republic of China. This database provides complete official records of the Chinese government from 1946-2005.

Coverage: 1946-2005
Tags: China, News

The ShunBao (Shen Bao)database is composed of the digitized issues of the Shanghai, China newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. Considered by many to be the longest lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China, the publication covered the major political and social developments for over half a century. The full name of the newspaper was Shenjiang Xinbao (translated as Shenjiang New Post, also known in English as the Shanghai News). Content has not been translated or transliterated from the Chinese script.

Coverage: 1872-1949
Tags: Asia, China, Cultural Studies, News

The “Siku Quan Shu=Complete Library in Four Branches” was compiled during the years 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3460 works, with a total of more then 36,000 volumes. In the “Siku Quan shu”, the important works include history, astronomy, geography, rules and regulations, politics, economics, society, science and technology, and philosophy. Its four main bibliographic divisions are jing 經, shi 史, zi 子, and ji 集. NOTE: Access to the “Siku Quan Shu” is available ONLY by using the Internet Explorer (IE) browser.  NOTE: Some of the advanced search features which use pop-up windows no longer work and, per the vendor, cannot be repaired.  Off campus the database is accessible using the VPN Client (PulseSecure).

Coverage: 878 BC--1600
Tags: China, History

Database covers sources on Chinese political movements between 1955-1958. Included are more than 10,000 government documents and files, speeches, bulletins and articles labeled “Rightist” at the time. Searchable in both Chinese and English.

Coverage: 1957-1958
Tags: China, Government, History, Politics

CiNii (Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics) is a bibliographic information system for scholarly journal articles, with which users can (1) search article citations originally from various databases, covering ca. 17,000 journal titles in 8 million articles; (2) view photographic image of the full-text articles for ca. 1500 journal titles in 2 million articles; (3) trace articles that were referred to in the article, and trace articles that cite the article, covering ca. 1200 titles in 0.8 million articles. As a periodical index to Japanese academic journal as well as an access to full text articles from some journals, CiNii, at present, is the only resource that provides full text access to Japanese journal articles.

Online access to Japanese-language reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), etc. English-language interface: http://japanknowledge.com/en/contents/

This is an index of Japanese language journals and periodical articles.

Coverage: 1975-present.
Tags: Japan, Language

Bungei kurabu was originally published by Hakubunkan from 1895 to 1933. This online version of the journal offers access to 284 issues published between 1895 and 1912 in 108,070 pages, comprising articles by ca. 2,600 authors, including Higuchi Ichiyō, Izumi Kyōka, Ozaki Kōyō, Tayama Katai, and Yamada Bimyō. In addition to literary texts, the journal features also color illustrations at front pages (kuchie) by well-known artists of the time. Article titles in 3 journals included in the series (Taiyō, Bungei kurabu, Kōyūkai zasshi)can be searched. Full-text access is available only for “Taiyō and “Bungei kurabu.”

Coverage: 1895-1912
Tags: 20Th Century, Japan, Literature, Meiji Period

Yomidas Rekishikan is the full text database of the Yomiuri shinbun, Japan’s largest newspaper. Coverage ranges from 1874 to the present. More than 11 million Japanese-language articles from the Yomiuri shinbun 読売新聞 are supplemented by English-language articles from the Daily Yomiuri (1989-present). Am image file and biographical sketches (Who’s Who in Japan) of nearly 26,000 contemporary individuals are included in the database.

Coverage: 1874 - present
Tags: Asia, News

This is a full text edition (in Japanese) of the Asahi Shimbun from 1879, when it was first issued to the present.  It is possible to compare the Tokyo and Osaka editions of the paper.    Among other features, the database also includes articles from two magazines “AERA” and “Shukan Asahi” as well as a roughly 10,000 image photographic archive, taken mostly during World War II.

“”History keyword” system is a distinctive feature of Kikuzo II Visual, which is designed to efficiently search for the articles of the Meiji, the Taisho and the Showa periods. History keywords consist of selected major events of those days and names of historical figures as opposed to regular keywords given in the articles. By searching the database by history keywords, all relevant articles, even those which do not contain the very keywords, can be searched interrelatedly. In addition, a variety of history keyword lists (e.g. its chronological table and one organized by field of activity) further helps one’s search. A click on a keyword on the lists is enough to retrieve all relevant information all at once.”

Note: the license permits only a limited number of simultaneous users so please log off if you aren’t actively searching.

Coverage: 1879-present
Tags:

TBRC actively seeks out new publications, rare literature, and electronic texts for incorporation into the TBRC Library full text digital holdings. Tibetan publications from small printing houses, monasteries, and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal are included. The TBRC Library contains works that span the range of every major literary genre of Tibetan literature. The mission of TBRC is seek out works and organize them in all in a single place. This library is continually expanding.

Coverage: Varies
Tags: Literature, Tibet

The annuals of the Choson Dynasty comprises 1893 books, covering 472 years (1392-1863) history of the Choson Dynasty, from the reign of King Taejo (the founder) to the end of the reign of King Cheoljong. Thick extensive set of records is considered to deal with the longest period of a single dynasty in the world.

Coverage: 1392-1863
Tags: History, Korea

These are China-specific resources.  See the Social Science Data Resources: International Guide, (link below) for resources that also contain statistics about/from East Asia.

The China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; (2) China Census Databases; and (3) China Spatial Data Service (China Geo-Explorer). It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.

The NPCC collects all data gathered from the 2010 population census, including population data at the country, province, centrally administered municipality and county unit levels.

Coverage: 2010
Tags: Census, China, Government

The collection supports the undergraduate programs in Chinese, Japanese and East Asian Studies, and the graduate programs in Chinese history, art history, and comparative literature in the UC-Davis. Although there are some volumes of Korean materials in this collection at present time, systematical collection will be added in the future when programmatic needs arise. Language teaching manuals and readers, scripts for Chinese and Japanese movies, translated works that were originally written in English, and audio-visual materials, such as records and tapes on poetry reading, are usually not collected. Literature for secondary school level will be purchased only at faculty request as materials for student supplementary readings. Albums and portfolios of Chinese and Japanese art will be collected when funds permit. Bilingual dictionaries on all subjects will be collected.

Subject emphases of this collection are: History of East Asia, Languages of Eastern Asia, Fine arts, general works, and reference materials, such as dictionaries, catalogs of other East Asian collection, indices, and encyclopedias. Chronological emphases in history are: from the Qing dynasty to the early Republic period of China and from the Meiji period to the post World War II period of Japan; in literature are: the Modern and contemporary period of Chinese, and the Heian and the modern period of Japanese. Presently the geographical focuses are in the four regions: China, Hong Kong, Japan, and Taiwan.

This collection contains materials mainly in printed form and in Chinese and Japanese of non-Roman or vernacular languages. Microcopies are usually purchased to substitute for titles no longer in print. The collection includes monographs (books), periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), serials (irregular periodicals), microfilms, and some electronic resources, for topics related to and publications from China, Japan and Korea. Materials of Chinese, Japanese, and Korean are inter-shelved in the stacks of the East Asian Languages Collection area. Current periodicals are kept in the lower level of the Shields Library, and older issues are kept in the Main Library Stacks. Multi-languages materials, for example, text of the books written in Chinese and in English, are inter-shelved in the stacks of the main Library collection.

Collection Statistics

The East Asian Languages Collection is one of the major East Asian collections in the University of California system. As of June 30, 2007, there are 79,014 volumes of books and bound periodicals, of which 48,064 are in Chinese, 28,333 in Japanese, and 2,605 in Korean; also contains 197 titles of current periodicals, 330 titles of Chinese films, some titles of microfilms, and approx. 12 electronic databases.

Location of the East Asian Languages Collection

Most of the collection is located in the Shields Library of the University of California-Davis (UC-Davis). After entering the front entry, turn right or left and walk through the hallway (the courtyard is in the center of this building), the collection is situated in the end of hallway section. In addition, many periodicals are located by call number in the general stacks.

Research Support

Assistance is available on the second floor of Shields Library at the Research Consult Desk during scheduled hours. Or, please contact library’s East Asian Studies Specialist, Daniel Goldstein, dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu to schedule an appointment.