ECI 189C Engr Planning

by Melinda M. Livas — October 6, 2021

ECI 189C Engr Planning

by Melinda M. Livas — October 6, 2021

ECI 189C Engr Planning

by Melinda M. Livas – October 6, 2021

Welcome to the course guide for ECI 189C! UC Davis Library provides a wealth of subscription and licensed resources that can help students, faculty, and researchers identify articles, proceedings, reports, standards, and books in a print or electronic format. The following guide will point you to a selection of specialized and related resources in the civil and environmental engineering fields.

Melinda Livas [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu]

Book a virtual APPOINTMENT

**********************************************************************************************************

Share your thoughts!! SELECT LINK TO COMPLETE SURVEY

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

BrowZine

BrowZine

A journal engagement platform supporting mobile apps to enable seamless access to scholarly content.

PEER-REVIEWED JOURNAL CHECK
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

How to read a peer-reviewed journal article.

How to read a peer-reviewed journal article.

Library Catalogs

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting

    UC Library Search, the new Library catalog includes all of the UC library collections.  This setting is specific for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on the top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

Get it at UC

Get it at UC (Linking from your library databases)

Not all articles or ebooks will be available for download directly from a database. To access full-text articles and ebooks from databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science) and Google Scholar, click the Get it at UC-link button. If you are not on campus, be sure to connect to the library VPN to access your article.

Get it at UC button

This link appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of:

1) getting to online articles or book chapters (if licensed) or

2) viewing information about AVAILABILITY of print issues of a journal we own or info on a print book.

If we do not own a journal or book,  do Sign In (UCD login/Kerberos passphrase + DUO) and then

3) make an Interlibrary Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library — often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

A selection of sources that can help you find technical reports and government publications

Technical Reports:

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized.

The United States Army Corps of Engineers Research and Development Center Library hosts an online digital repository of ERDC reports, publications, and more. Search Digital Reports and Publications .

DTIC helps the Department of Defense (DoD) community access pertinent scientific and technical information to meet mission needs more effectively.

A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

Government Publications:

SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI’s Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.  Documents are primarily from 1991-present and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.

The materials in this repository include information by and about the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. Most materials were published by USACE, but some collections contain materials by other government agencies written about USACE.

The database provides access to the publications of the USGS and includes references to U.S. Geological Survey reports and maps published from 1880 to date.

Search the Environmental Protection Agency Web site or search the EPA National Catalog for EPA technical publications and reports.

Online Handbooks and Tables

Below is a selected list of civil engineering handbooks available online, other editions  may be available in print at PSE Library. Check library catalog or Ask a librarian

Also check CRCNet Base – CivilENGEERINGnetBase collection for online CEE related handbooks published by CRC press.

Handbooks

Formulas and Calculations

 

How to find UC and non-UC ECE dissertations

Individual UCD ECE dissertations and masters theses are cataloged in the Library of Catalog — search for “Dissertations Academic University of California Davis electrical engineering”

This page describes how to locate and access UCD titles.

The Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database is the authoritative source for finding doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. It also provides access to the full-text of all dissertations from University of California campuses since the late 1990s.

Dissertations & theses from 31 USA colleges & universities, including Ohio State University, Rochester Institute of Technology, and North Carolina State University. This is a small subset of published dissertations & theses, but does include some that are not indexed elsewhere. Use in conjunction with other databases such as Dissertations & Theses and PQDT Open.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.

PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge.

You can Ask a librarian for help if you experience any problems accessing a dissertation or thesis in print or online.

Sources and Services to access standards at UCD

Standards and specifications are documents that describe and/or recommend a set of rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, or tested. Standards are used to establish minimum levels of performance and quality and optimal conditions and procedures for the purpose of ensuring compatibility of products and services from different sources. Specifications tend to have more limited applications than standards and generally establish requirements for materials, products, or services. Standards and specifications may be issued by voluntary technical or trade associations, professional societies, national standards bodies, government agencies, or by international organizations.

Standards and Specifications

This guide will point you to sources and services on how to discover and access standards at UCD.

Style Guides and Managing your Citations

Tools for Managing Citations

Learn how to use and cite information in your papers and projects.

The campus has a licensed subscription to Endnote, which is a bibliographic manager program that is available as software and as a web-based version. Many people use Endnote because of its compatibility with Microsoft Word. The libraries offer help and classes on Endnote.

Professional Societies / Conference Proceedings

Professional societies are great sources for information. They sponsor conferences and publish journals, proceedings, and books. They set professional and educational standards and provide job and career services for their members.

Aeronautical Engineering      

Automotive Engineering   

Biological & Agricultural Engineering

Chemical Engineering

  • Electrochemical Society Digital Library:  Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Civil Engineering

Computer Science   

Electrical Engineering   

Materials Science

Mechanical Engineering

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Library: ASME  conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference papers and proceedings, and ASME Press books. The entire collection can be searched via the ASME Digital Collection.

Physics

  • Optics InfoBase:  Optical Society of America’s  digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.
  • The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library:  The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

 

Data Management

Will you be starting a project from scratch that will require your attention for months, even years OR are you continuing a project started by somebody else?

The Data Management Program is here to help make both of these situations less painful. We can help you with

  • Organization: keep track of your files so that you know what is in them
  • Consistent data entry: design data collection forms in such a way that everybody doing the same experiment records the results the same way every time
  • Database structure: move from unwieldy spreadsheets to databases
  • GIS and maps: consult with our GIS expert on all stages of a project that includes geospatial data, from planning to creating interactive maps.
  • Finding data: not all data sharing portals are obvious, and we can help with that.
  • Cleaning data: stop doing repetitive copy/paste; check out some of our workshops to find a better way
  • Getting credit for data: get your dataset noticed and cited by placing it in the right data repository

    • Note: many funding agencies require that you provide open access to your data!

For more information, visit our website or contact us at dataserv@ucdavis.edu

GIS Resources

Drop-In Hours

The UC Davis DataLab provides weekly Drop-In Hours. This time is set aside for any and all questions about spatial data, from simple to complex, as well as other data science topics.

Email Lists

UC Davis affiliates can sign up for email lists through the UC Davis Information & Educational Technology’s Sympa list serve manager.  The “Geospatial” email list is a widely-used list for UC Davis faculty, students, staff, and local community members who work with any type of geospatial data.  The list can be used for announcements or questions.

Geospatial Software

The geospatial industry has a number of established, well-respected, and long running free and open source projects that may suit the needs of researchers and students.  The Open Source Geospatial Foundation oversees many of these projects, including QGIS (which runs on Mac, Linux, and Windows).

Esri’s ArcGIS suite of software is available to any UC Davis affiliate. Information on product availability, and licensing guides can be found at http://arcgis.ucdavis.edu

GIS Workstation

The lower level of Shields Library has one GIS workstation that UC Davis students, faculty, researchers, and other staff may to use for a maximum of two hours per day. The workstation room is located near, but outside the Map Room and is open the same hours as the Library. The workstation has the full suite of ArcGIS 10 software (available to campus affiliates) and QGIS 3 (available to anyone).

An 11″ x 17″ color scanner is available for maps and aerial photography.

Workstation use must comply with UC Davis Computer Use Policies and the Library Computer Use Policy as well as the following guidelines:

  • GIS software and data licensed by the library may not be used for commercial purposes.
  • Software and spatial data may be licensed and subject to restrictions on who can use it and how it can be used. We provide GIS users with public domain data and any other data and software that we can under the terms of the licenses.
  • It is advisable to save your data and project files to portable media.

Endnote Online in 5 Easy Steps

1. Register for an Endnote Online account

***Make sure VPN is on***

Use the link above, or,
From the Web of Science database: click on the “Endnote” link  (in tool bar at top screen)

2.  Getting References INTO Endnote

From Web of Science:

Log on to Endnote Online
Search Web of Science.  Then from the Web of Science results screen:

Select citations to export,

click on the Save to EndNote online link
choose  Save to EndNote online

Use Numbers of Records to identify which citations to send, then for Record Content  choose:   (Author, Title, Source, and Abstract)
click SEND

Export will happen automatically.

 

3. Create Libraries (two methods)

ORGANIZE tab

MANAGE MY GROUPS
New Group

–OR–

MY REFERENCES tab

Select references for new library
ADD TO GROUP –> New Group

4.  Getting References OUT of Endnote

To create a List of References:

Select  FORMAT tab
Select BIBLIOGRAPHY

References: choose library
Bibliographic Style: choose citation style
File Format: choose RTF

Choose:  SAVE, EMAIL or Preview & Print

Cite While You Write

Let’s you embed citations in your Word document while using Endnote Online to format them

5.  Sharing References

Allows you to share references with others

ORGANIZE tab
Manage My Groups
Manage Sharing:   Add email(s)

CITE WHILE YOU WRITE:  How to Use Endnote Web for In-text Citations

The Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature in Endnote and Endnote online allows you to create in-text citations and full citations at the end of your paper.

See the video below for instructions on how to install the CWYW Plugin, and use this feature.

Using the CWYW [Cite While Your Write Plug-In]