This guide lists resources related to ecology and conservation biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including:  autoecology; biomes and ecoregions; community ecology; ecosystem services; ecosystems; endangered species conservation; history of ecology and general principles; landscapes and the biosphere; managing the biosphere; molecular ecology; and population ecology.  To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

Ruth Gustafson

Research Support Services
Animal and Ecology Reference Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as ecological genetics or marine conservation rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or sea otter biodiversity.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

Primary database for wildlife researchers. The world’s oldest continuing database of animal biology.  Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.

Coverage: 1864-present
Tags: Animals, Science

UCD’s *most* important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.

Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present;earlier for selected core titles
Tags: Aquaculture, Biology, Fish Biology, Marine Biology
Related links: ASFA LibGuide [ProQuest] , Setting up Alerts

Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications.

Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
Tags: Animals, Biology, Ecosystems, Wildlife, Zoology

More than 1 million records. Covers fish, fisheries and aquaculture, including biology, genetics, natural history, behavior, diseases, parasites, limnology and oceanography, habitat management, culture, propagation, fish processing, marketing, and fisheries management. Merged content from thirteen databases including records from the now ceased database Aquatic Biology, Aquaculture, & Fisheries Resources (ABAFR), and from FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations (ABC), the Fishing Industry Research Index (FIRI), Fisheries Review, and a database from the Worldfish Center’s Library. Database producer from South Africa — excellent coverage of African publications.

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Africa-Wide Information (formerly Africa Wide NiPAD) combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of sources offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes over 2.4 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.The advanced search allows the research to search all the collected datasets or focus on particular sets.

Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Africa, Cultural Studies

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.

Coverage: 1964-

Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Ecology, Toxicology.

Coverage: 1972-present
Tags: Ecology, Environmental Science, Pollution, Toxicology

11

VPN

F1000Prime is a “literature awareness tool that is updated continuously and comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors’ peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear.

“Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals.

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2017. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2016
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in: agriculture; biomedical science; chemistry; environmental sciences; food science and nutrition; forensic science;  math and statistics; veterinary medicine and more.The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following TEN packages are subscribed by the University of California/UC Davis libraries and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts “with information on over a 150 million species names.” {RG 12/11/13}

Related links:

EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from “The Birds of America” as well as the complete contents of the three-volume “The Quadrupeds of North America”.

NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.

Over 3,000 books with 2013- current publication dates. The Elsevier eBook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The current year’s books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.

Coverage: 2013-

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

Digital repository on coastal and marine topics with electronic versions of Sea Grant Publications under ten categories: coastal hazards; diving safety; education; responsible aquaculture; global warming; HACCP (FDA Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point programs); harmful algae; marine careers; Sea Grant history; and seafood safety/foodborne illnesses. Additional pre-designed workforms facilitate online searching of the entire Sea Grant database for information on either print or online Sea Grant publications on marinas, aquaculture, habitat restoration or education.

“The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments . It includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. It is complementary to OceanDocs, which is supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) specifically to collect, preserve and facilitate access to all research output from members of their Ocean Data and Information Networks (ODINS). The records of both repositories are harvested by Avano which aggregates records from marine and aquatic repositories around the World.” {RG 12/11/13}

Journal Citation Reports is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. Journal Citation Reports indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences.

NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.

Coverage: 1997-2015 release; 1996-2014 data
Tags: Multidisciplinary, Science

A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O’Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O’Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.

Coverage: 2004-present
Tags: Coding, Cyber Security, Digital Media, Forensics, Gaming, Html, Java, Technology

Started in 2010, the entire journal is dedicated to protocols, field methods and “promotes the development of new methods in ecology & evolution, and facilitates their dissemination and uptake by the research community.”

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Ten-page User Guide

A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. {RG 12/11/13}

Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help

Nature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a ’recipe’ style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures that users can take to the lab bench and immediately apply in their own research. Protocols on the site are fully searchable and organized into logical categories to be easily accessible. Together, ’Nature Protocols’ and the interactive ’Protocols Network’ create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols. Also includes Stem cell series, Stepwise blog, Discussion Forum, Tools & reagents, and Featured videos.

Coverage: 2005-

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of ecology. Articles range from agroecology to wildlife ecology including “autoecology, population, community, and ecosystem ecology, the main biomes of the world, as well as articles related to the synthesis of ecology with other disciplines including human ecology … and chemical ecology …” The Ecology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year. See the list of Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UC Davis subscribes

The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates

Online version of this 3-volume encyclopedia provides “detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans’ culture and economy.”

Coverage: 2008
Tags: Ecology

Comprehensive 12-volume work on all aspects of coastal and estuarine science.

Includes chapters as follows:
v. 1. Classification of estuarine and nearshore coastal ecosystems
v. 2. Water and fine sediment circulation
v. 3. Estuarine and coastal geology and geomorphology
v. 4. Geochemistry of estuaries and coasts
v. 5. Biogeochemistry
v. 6. Trophic relationships of coastal and estuarine ecosystems
v. 7. Functioning of ecosystems at the land-ocean interface
v. 8. Human-induced problems (uses and abuses)
v. 9. Estuarine and coastal ecosystem modelling
v. 10. Ecohydrology and restoration
v. 11. Management of estuaries and coasts
v. 12. Ecological economics of estuaries and coasts

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.

•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Coverage: 2003
Tags: Animals, Life Science, Science

WILDLIFE. An electronic encyclopaedia and a library of electronic books and documents providing information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. The Wildpro® Electronic Library contains more than 200 documents ranging in size from single page factsheets or pamphlets to whole books such as the classic 1910 text “Elephants and Their Diseases” (G.H. Evans), the “Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases” (National Wildlife Health Center, USGS) and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust’s “Wetlands, Wildlife and Industry: a manual of principles and practice.”

This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This “complete” online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Tags: Science

Geographic database of over 165,000 entries including place-names, physical characteristics and attributes, political properties, economic parameters, and natural and agricultural resources. Global in scope, updated monthly. {RG 12/11/13}

Tags: Geography

Data Papers are compilations and syntheses of data sets and associated metadata deemed to be of significant interest to the ESA membership and the scholarly community. Data papers are peer reviewed and are announced in abstract form in the appropriate print journal as a Data Paper. Data papers differ from review or synthesis papers published in other ESA journals in that data papers normally will not test or refine ecological theory.Data Papers can facilitate the rapid advancement of ecological knowledge and theory at the same time that they disseminate information. In addition, Ecological Archives provides a reward mechanism (in the form of peer-reviewed, citable objects) for the substantial effort required to compile and adequately document large data sets of ecological interest. {RG 12/17/13}

2

“Dryad is an international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences. Dryad enables scientists to validate published findings, explore new analysis methodologies, repurpose data for research questions unanticipated by the original authors, and perform synthetic studies.” Dryad started with “an initiative among a group of leading journals and scientific societies in evolutionary biology and ecology to adopt a joint data archiving policy (JDAP) for their publications, and the recognition that easy-to-use, sustainable, community-governed data infrastructure was needed to support such a policy.” {RG 12/17/13}

NEON collects “data across the United States on the impacts of climate change, land use change and invasive species on natural resources and biodiversity. NEON is a project of the U.S. National Science Foundation, with many other U.S. agencies and NGOs cooperating.”

NEON is “the first observatory network of its kind designed to detect and enable forecasting of ecological change at continental scales over multiple decades.” The data NEON collects is freely and openly available to all users.

DataONE serves “as a distributed framework and sustainable cyberinfrastructure that meets the needs of science and society for open, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and easily discovered Earth observational data.”

Supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation, DataONE ensures “the preservation and access to multi-scale, multi-discipline, and multi-national science data.” DataONE transcends “domain boundaries and makes biological data available from the genome to the ecosystem; makes environmental data available from atmospheric, ecological, hydrological, and oceanographic sources; provides secure and long-term preservation and access; and engages scientists, land-managers, policy makers, students, educators, and the public through logical access and intuitive visualizations.” {RG 12/17/13}

Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).

RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories.  PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

Database of field guides that were reviewed and assessed to create a listing of over 5,900 titles. Useful for field researchers who wish to determine if a published, portable guide exists which covers a geographic region and/or type of species, or natural history topic. NOTE: If a field guide you need is not owned by the UC Davis libraries, please contact Ruth Gustafson at ragustafson@lib.ucdavis.edu to purchase the item.

Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.

This digital photo collection includes “the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up” NOAA.

This “collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun” and “includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. … The geographic range of NOAA work encompasses polar region to polar region and much of the World’s oceans.”

“Morphbank :: Biological Imaging is a continuously growing database of images that scientists use for international collaboration, research and education. Images deposited in Morphbank :: Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. The project receives its main funding from the Biological Databases and Informatics program of the National Science Foundation (Grant DBI-0446224). “

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) was founded in 1948 as world’s first global environmental organization and is the largest professional global conservation network. Over four decades ago, the Red List started as the IUCN Red Data Book and is currently compiled through the IUCN Species Programme working with the IUCN Species Survival Commission (SSC). “IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalog and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction (i.e. those listed as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable).” “IUCN Red List also includes information on plants and animals that are categorized as Extinct.

CITES (the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora) is an international agreement between governments. Its aim is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.

Roughly 5,000 species of animals and 28,000 species of plants are protected by CITES against over-exploitation through international trade. They are listed in the three CITES Appendices. The species are grouped in the Appendices according to how threatened they are by international trade. They include some whole groups, such as primates, cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises), sea turtles, parrots, corals, cacti and orchids. But in some cases only a subspecies or geographically separate population of a species (for example the population of just one country) is listed.

The Census of Marine Life (CoML) is a research program that seeks to assess the diversity, distribution and abundance of ocean life and to explain how it changes over time. The portal provides access to a global network of researchers in more than 45 nations engaged in this ten-year marine life initiative. Includes three major projects: Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS), the History of Marine Animal Populations project (HMAP), and the Future of Marine Animal Populations project (FMAP). Seven studies have been initiated to collect data for these projects: Biogeography of Deep-Water Chemosynthetic Ecosystems (ChEss); Census of Diversity of Abyssal Marine Life (CeDAMaR); Gulf of Maine Program (GoM); Mid-Atlantic Ridge Ecosystems Project (MAR-ECO); Natural Geography in Shore Areas (NaGISA); Pacific Ocean Shelf Tracking Program (POST); and Tagging of Pacific Pelagics (TOPP). {RG 12/10/13}

Online amphibian catalogue initiated as a program to develop a high-quality taxonomic catalog in response to the needs of CITES (Convention on Trade In Endangered Species of Fauna and Flora). Described as tracking “the state of current taxonomic literature and the state of evidence, not the opinions of self-appointed experts.” Per history of the resource, it includes “synonymies (including the literature source of the synonymy), amphibian species described since 1985, English names, and enormously expanded citations to and abstracts of relevant taxonomic literature.” Species counts for Class: Amphibia (7044 sp.); and three orders Order: Anura (6200 sp.); Order: Caudata (652 sp.); and Order: Gymnophiona (192 sp.) {RG 12/16/13}

Coverage: 1980-present