Education

by Melissa Browne – June 26, 2020

Use the tools on this guide to get started with your research in education and related fields.

Working Off Campus?

  • For quick questions, use Ask A Librarian (24/7 chat service staffed by librarians from the U.S. and U.K.)
  • For more detailed inquiries, Send Me an Email . Zoom appointments are also an option.

Melissa Browne


Student Services Librarian

mabrowne@ucdavis.edu

530-754-5962

In this Guide:

Education Source provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Coverage: 1880-present
Tags: Education
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology
Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology
The database covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Language
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science
Related links:
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Sage Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of authoritative information resources (e.g., journals, books, reference, videos, podcasts, cases) on how to perform hundreds of research methods, including statistical analyses, in a wide variety of disciplines (e.g., social science, medicine and health, engineering, public policy). Also includes a suite of research tools (e.g., Methods Map, Project Planning, Which Stats Tool?).

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Advanced search interface for nearly 1000 online journals published with the Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and Psychology Press imprints. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences published by Elsevier.

The DOAJ covers nearly 5500 open access scholarly journals that range in subject coverage spanning the sciences, humanities and social sciences; half of these periodicals are searchable at the article level. All journals are peer-reviewed or have high editorial quality. Content includes scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full text. Publications may emanate from international academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. To be included in the DOAJ, an open access journal must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and allow researchers to “read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles”.

Coverage: Varies by journal title
Tags: Humanities, Science, Social Science
Oxford Bibliographies - Education Icon

Includes more than 175 entries on a variety of education-related topics. Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a scholarly encyclopedia to provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship.

Oxford Bibliographies - Childhood Studies Icon

The scholarly study of children and young people is a relatively new multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed. From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, Childhood Studies is one of the most active fields in academia today. It encompasses the meanings that adults place on children’s innocence or competence, and interrogates the notion of childhood as a social category.

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education
Cover ArtLocation: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LC1099 .E39 2012 (Lib Use Only)

Presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs. Covers the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education.

Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
Cover ArtLocation: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB17 .E53 2009 (Lib Use Only)

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. The first two volumes consist of A-Z entries and include essays representing the major disciplines (philosophy, history, sociology, etc.). A third volume is made up of documentary, photographic, and visual resources.

Encyclopedia of Language and Education Icon
Cover ArtLocation: ebook

Offers the newest developments in research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. Includes contributions from non-English speaking parts of the world, providing truly global coverage.

Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education Icon
Cover ArtLocation: ebook

Covers many topics in the field with entries ranging from short descriptions to much longer pieces where the topic warrants more elaboration. The entries provide access to theories and to research in the area and refer to the leading publications for further reading.

Encyclopedia of Science Education Icon
Cover ArtLocation: ebook

Covers the range of methodologies and perspectives via contributions from leading researchers. Because of the ways in which science education scholarship has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia has broad significance.

A Dictionary of Education
Cover ArtLocation: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB15 .D483 2008 (Lib Use Only)

Provides clear and concise definitions for 1,250 terms that anyone studying education or involved in teaching is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning.

Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning Icon
Cover ArtLocation: ebook

Provides up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.

The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education Icon
Cover ArtLocation: ebook

Presents the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education. Coverage of language and education issues in specific and diverse regional/geographic contexts, pedagogical issues, and perspectives on the needs of specific learner populations.

Includes a wide array of information about the university.

Includes data on University of California students and employees.

Data and statistics collected from California schools and learning support resources to identify trends and educational needs and to measure performance.
DataQuest has Reports for accountability (e.g. API, AYP), test data, enrollment, graduates, dropouts, course enrollments, staffing, and data regarding English learners.
Ed-Data has State, county, district, and school level reports covering topics such as students, staffing, finances, and performance rankings.

U.S. Department of Education site for educational statistics. Link to data tools, tables and figures, fast facts, publications and more from NCES home page. Data includes school district data, educational assessment, and public library data.

Related: Link directly to popular annual reports with statistical data: Digest of Education Statistics, Condition of Education, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics.

"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.