EEC 247 Advanced Semiconductor Devices

Doing a cited reference search in science and engineering

Doing a cited reference search answers the question: who has cited a particular author or paper? Knowing this can help you find related papers to the one you have, and help determine how well-known a particular author or paper is in a field.

The main database that offers cited reference search is Web of Science:

Web of Science(WOS)

“Web of Science” was the first database to offer cited reference searching. You can use it to look up an author or a specific work and find out how many articles in the database have this author or work in their footnotes/reference.

Note: Our subscription to Web of Science includes Book Citation Index to the footnotes of books or essays published in books after 2005. Also keep in mind, Web of Science  does not index every journal in every field, only a selection of what it regards as core titles.

See this short video (~3 mins) to learn more about WoS cited reference searches

Instructions:

This short video (~5 mins) gives an overview and tips on how to do author and cited work searches

1. On the home page of Web of Science, select Cited Reference Search
2. Enter a name in the Cited Author field- this can be tricky. Start by the author’s name (last name [space, no comma] first initial *). Add the cited work and/or year the item you are interested in was published.
3. Click “search.” You then see a list titled “Cited Reference Index.” Each line refers to a work that matches your search criteria. The same work may be referenced in several lines because of slight differences in the data (different cited pages for example.) The number at the start of each line is the number of times that reference has been cited in other works.
4. Check the boxes in front of all relevant lines and click “Finish Search.” This generates a list of articles that cite one or more of the items you selected.

The following sources will also help you find books (online and print) available at UCD and beyond:

Access Engineering

AccessEngineering provides seamless access to a large collection of online engineering handbooks. Search the collection or browse by subject.

Library Catalog 

The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an ebook that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.

MELVYL UC  Library Catalog                  Melvyl Help

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences.

The Yellow REQUEST button allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

GOOGLE Books                                Google Books Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl

WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

Individual UCD  dissertations and masters theses are cataloged in the Library of Catalog — Search by subject  “Dissertations Academic University of California Davis Electrical and Computer Engineering”

• Current Research @ University of California
  Searches all University of California dissertations published in the Dissertation Abstracts database.
• Proquest Digital Dissertations  The Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database is the authoritative source for finding doctoral dissertations and master’s theses. It also provides access to the full-text of all dissertations from University of California campuses since the late 1990s
•  EBSCO Open Dissertations now includes the content from American Doctoral Dissertations. It is a free database with records for more than 800,000 electronic theses and dissertations from around the world.
• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) is resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
• PQDT Open  provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses.

You can ask Me for help if you experience any problems accessing a dissertation or thesis in print or online.