Ruth Gustafson
Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian
530-752-1883
EMS 200/ECH 200 Materials Science Engineering/Chemical Engineering
by Ruth Gustafson, Melinda M. Livas – November 16, 2021
This guide lists resources which are useful for locating literature across a range of materials science/chemical engineering topics. To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN.
Ruth and Melinda are happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.
FOR UCD students, faculty, and staff: With the re-opening of campus, feel free to book an appointment with Ruth or Melinda for assistance in using these resources or for any questions you may have. Ruth and Melinda will only have Zoom appointments for Fall Quarter 2021. (Exceptions will be made if in-person is the only/best option for the requestor.)
Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth [For materials and chemical questions]
Book an Appointment with Melinda [For engineering and structural questions]
Quick Links
Scientific Literature Publication Cycle
Scientific Literature Publication Cycle [Diagram]
![Scientific Literature Publication Cycle [Diagram]](http://www.unm.edu/~unmvclib/handouts/scienceresearchpublication.jpeg){kind=link}
University of New Mexico
Illustration of scientific research process using a clockwise timeline with indication of earliest research output to latter outputs of research process. Describes the type of literature generated at different points in the publishing cycle and the types of assimilation into secondary and tertiary literature.
Library Catalogs
Note that the UCD Library has many books on materials science and chemical engineering. Here are some key Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to paste into the catalog under the Subject field search: Chemical engineering ; Materials science ; Materials ; Metals ; Polymers ; Composite materials ; Ceramic materials ; Nanostructured materials ; Alloys etc.
- UC Library Search: UCD Library Local Catalog Search
Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search enables you to search through all of the University of California libraries’ collections. By selecting the ‘Local Catalog’ setting your search will be limited to items available through the UC Davis libraries. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS? We’ll ship it to you! The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place. Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you. Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.
ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM? Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates. Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.
Due dates will become active with start of Fall Quarter. “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”
OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Key Engineering eBook collections
Access Engineering
Library VPN required, if off-campus
3 year pilot, through 12/2021. Send feedback or questions to Bob Heyer-Gray at rheyer@ucdavis.edu
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. It includes dynamic online features, such as faculty made instructional, videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information.
This large collection includes classic handbooks such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook, and newer ones such as Chemical Engineering: The Essential Reference and Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations.
Specialized Reference Resources
For detailed listings on encyclopedias and handbooks, see these sections on the Materials Science Subject Guide:
Subject Guides
There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major! This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories: Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, General & Multidisciplinary Sources, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Note the following cross-disciplinary but very important guides for Materials Science researchers:
Patents , Technical Reports , and Standards & Specifications
Get it at UC
Get it at UC (Linking from your library databases)
Not all articles or ebooks will be available for download directly from a database. To access full-text articles and ebooks from databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science) and Google Scholar, click the Get it at UC-link button. If you are not on campus, be sure to connect to the library VPN to access your article.
This link appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of:
1) getting to online articles or book chapters (if licensed) or
2) viewing information about AVAILABILITY of print issues of a journal we own or info on a print book.
If we do not own a journal or book, do Sign In (UCD login/Kerberos passphrase + DUO) and then
3) make an Interlibrary Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library — often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.
Open Access plug-ins
PLUGINS
Google Scholar: Find open versions of articles via Google Scholar or, to make searching more convenient, add the Google Scholar Button to your browser; then select the title of a paper, from any webpage, and click the Scholar button to find it.
Open Access Button: Use their website or browser plugin to get free, legal research articles and data delivered immediately or automatically requested from the author. Watch our one-minute video to learn how.
Scholarly Profile/Professional Identity
As a researcher in the sciences, you will need to build up and maintain your professional and scholarly identity. There are a variety of tips and tools to help you to do this and are described on the Your Scholarly Profile & Professional Identity Guide .
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review).
Citation Management Software
The UCD Library maintains a webpage on Citation Guides, which focuses mainly on EndNote.
Some additional webpages are:
- EndNote Intro for Science Researchers
- Using Zotero
- Mendeley Getting Started Guide
- SciWheel Guide (Formerly called F1000 Workspace)