Cory Craig

Research Support Services
Physical Sciences and Engineering Librarian

cjcraig@ucdavis.edu

530-752-0347

In this Guide:


Major Databases


Compendex                                               Main Database for Engineering

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.  Coverage: 1884 – present.

 

 

SciFinder                                                   Main Database for Chemistry

Registration Required     (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus)

SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 29 million citations and indexes over 10,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.  Coverage: 1907 – present (with selected pre-1907 material).   Cited Reference Searching:  1996 – present.

 

 

Web of Science                                        Covers All Disciplines

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

  • Web of Science Help
  • Citation/Email Alerts – Web of Science does 2 kinds:
    • Auto-Alert:   Email me (weekly or monthly) when articles are published on a given topic.
      HOW?:  Sign-in to WOS.  Run Search.  Click: SEARCH HISTORY (top left). Click: SAVE HISTORY/CREATE ALERT. Name it, specify frequency & format, save it.
      WOS Help:  Save History/Create Alert
    • Citation-Alert:   Email me when someone cites article X.
      HOW?:  Sign-in to WOS.  Find article, click on title.  Click:  CREATE CITATION ALERT (on right)
      WOS Help:  Citation Alerts

 

Scopus                                                        Covers All Disciplines

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

 


Additional Databases


Electrochemical Society Digital Library

Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions. Coverage: varies, some full-text back to 1955.

 

INSPEC

Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, information technology and materials science. Coverage: 1898 – present.

 

MRS Online Proceedings Library

Features over 50,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings. Coverage: 1980-present.

 

SPE (Society of Plastics Engineers) Technical Resources      

Search the 5 SPE (Society of Plastics Engineers) technical journals, ANTEC Proceedings, and TOPCON Proceedings.

 

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

 

 

Library Catalog  (formerly Harvest Catalog)

The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

 

MELVYL UC  Library Catalog                  Melvyl Help

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:      allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 

GOOGLE Books                                Google Books Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl

UC Davis ChemWiki

The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books. The development of the ChemWiki is currently directed by UC Davis Professor Delmar Larsen.

The UC Davis STEMWiki Hyperlibrary consists of seven pseudo-independently operating and interconnected “STEMWikis” that focus on augmenting post-secondary education in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) fields.

 

WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 


Major Online Book Collections


ACS Symposium Series eBooks,   1974-on

UC Davis has the ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 1974 on.  Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are also available in print.

To locate a print volume: search the Library Catalog for “ACS Symposium”  then add either the volume number or title you want.


ACS Advances in Chemistry,   1949-1998

Founded in 1949, Advances in Chemistry series was the predecessor to the ACS Symposium Series.


Annual Reviews,   1996-on

Critical reviews covering primary research literature in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences. Can provide a good overview topics you are not familiar with. Chemical fields covered include: analytical chemistry; biochemistry; physical chemistry; pharmacology and toxicology; and chemical and biomolecular engineering.

Online:  1996 – present.

Tables of Contents only: 1984 – 1995.  Use the library catalog to find these in print.

 

 International Tables For Crystallography

Theo Hahn;  U. Shmueli;  A. J. C. Wilson (editors).  1984-2012.  Dordrecht, Holland; Boston, U.S.A.  Kluwer Academic Publishers Group, most current volumes availale through Wiley.
Use the link above or this alternate link to access the volumes below.

Volume A1 Symmetry Relations Between Space Groups
Volume B Reciprocal space
Volume C Mathematical, Physical and Chemical Tables
Volume D Physical Properties of Crystals
Volume E Subperiodic Groups
Volume F Crystallography of Biological Macromolecules
Volume G Definition and Exchange of Crystallographic Data


International Tables for X-Ray Crystallography

Norman F.M. Henry & Kathleen Lonsdale (Editors), International Union of Crystallography, Kynoch Press 1969. Freely available via Internet Archive.

Volume 1:  Symmetry Groups    (also in print:  PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 2: Mathematical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 3: Physical & Chemical Tables (also in print: PSE Library QD945 .I55)
Volume 4: Revised and supplementary tables to volumes 2 and 3 (print only: PSE Library QD945 .I55)

 

RSC eBooks,   1968-on

The RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) ebooks package, includes over 1000 books published since 1968, including the Specialist Periodical Reports series and Tutorial Chemistry Texts.

 

Springer eBooks,   2005-on

Springer ebooks package includes over 28,000 scholarly books, covering all scientific disciplines.  Books are published in English and German.  Book series in chemistry include:

Advances in Biochemical Engineering/Biotechnology
Advances in Polymer Science
Progress in Colloid and Polymer Science
Structure & Bonding
Topics in Current Chemistry
Topics in Heterocyclic Chemistry
Topics in Organometallic Chemistry

 

Wiley eBooks,   2011-on

Over 1300 ebooks focused on chemistry, physical sciences, biosciences & engineering.  The UC’s purchased all 2011 and 2012 ebooks, including IEEE ebooks (older years on IEEE Xplore platform).

Browse by Subject
Browse by Publication title

 

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

 

Journals:  print &  online:

Print and online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.

 

 

Google Scholar

You can use Google Scholar to search for journals (or articles).  Google has no way of telling you which online journals UC Davis subscribes to, unless you set your Google Scholar preferences to show UC-eLinks (see below).

Google Scholar:  How do you actually GET the articles?

On-Campus:    You should be able to access any online journal that UC Davis subscribes to.
Off-Campus:    You must install the VPN client first, to access online journals UC Davis subscribes to.

No UCD Online Subscription?:  We may have a print subscription.  Check the library catalog .  If we do not have a print or online subscription, you can request articles through Interlibrary Loan.


Configure Google Scholar

Google Scholar:  enable UC-eLinks & EndNote import

Enabling the 2 features below will make your Google searches easier and more productive.

1.  Add UC-eLinks:  this will make it easier to access the journal articles we subscribe to
2. 
Add “Import into Endnote”  this will make it easier to import citations to the Endnote citation management software.

 

You can make these changes (detailed instructions below) from either:


1.  Enable  UC-eLinks: 
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Click on Library Links in the left toolbar
  • By default you will see OpenWorldCat – Library Search   (that is the backend to our MELVYL Catalog System)
  • Search for “California”
    • Select:  California Digital Library –UC-eLinks
  • Search for “Davis”
    • Select:  University of California Davis – UCD-eLinks
  • You should have three Library links as shown below (Open WorldCat, California Digital Library, and University of California Davis).
  • Click SAVE

Configure Scholar Preferences to work with UC-eLinks and EndNote

Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results.


2.   Enable “Import into Endnote”:
  • From the Google Scholar Settings page:
  • Go to:  Bibliography Manager:  (bottom of page)
    • Select:  Show links to import citations into ENDNOTE   (choose ENDNOTE, not BibTex).
  • Click SAVE

 

 Now when you search in Google Scholar: you should see the  ‘Import into EndNote’ link below each of your search results.

Use the resources below to access  encyclopedias and “overviews”, these:

  • can provide focused, highly useful summary of topics, processes and products.
  • can be extremely useful in narrowing your topic, understanding the scope of your inquiry, and/or getting up to speed on a complex topic quickly.

 


CRCNetBase:  Engineering Handbooks

A large collection of online engineering handbooks, full-text and searchable.   Extremely useful for:

  • expanding your topic,
  • getting a broad overview of your topic, or,
  • getting a highly focused book reference (available as a PDF, and substantially shorter than a typical book).

 

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

An online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

 

Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Another online encyclopedia focused on chemical engineering, Ullmann’s is also a very good resource for topics involving manufactured items, materials, or processes used in manufacturing.

 

Characterization of Materials

Print Location: PSE Reference TA404.2 .C48 2012

 

Concise encyclopedia of materials for energy systems

Print Location: PSE Reference TK1005 .C665 2009

 

Concise encyclopedia of materials processing

Print Location: PSE Reference TA402 .M37 2009

 

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology

Print Location: PSE Reference  TP1110 .E53 2003

 

FOR ADDITIONAL PROPERTY INFORMATION, SEE:

        Properties tab, Chemistry Subject Guide

        Handbooks/Properties tab, Chemical Engineering Subject Guide             

 


Large Online Handbook Collections:


EngNetBase

A very large collection of engineering handbooks.  Provides a broad focus on engineering.

 

McGraw Hill’s Access Engineering    (via CDL hosted site)

A large collection of engineering handbooks.

 


Individual Handbooks:


Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online

The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows users to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems.

 

Applied Materials Science:
Applications of Engineering Materials in Structural, Electronics, Thermal, and Other Industries

Location: PSE   TA403 .C47 2001

 

ASM Handbooks                              

Features the complete content of ASM (Metals) Handbooks volumes 1-23, and 2 desk editions (Engineered Materials Desk Edition and Metals Handbook Desk Edition).

Also in print at PSE Reference TA459 M43 1990

 

Composite Materials Handbook, MIL-HDBK-17    (See  “MIL-HDBKs & MMPDS” section below)

 

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, 3rd edition

PSE Reference TA403.4 .C74 2001

 

Engineered Materials Handbook, Desk Edition    

Also in print: PSE Reference TA459 M288 1998

Use toolbar on right, Engineered Materials Desk Edition, is listed under ASM Desk Editions and General Reference.

 

Engineered Materials Handbook, 4 volume set

PSE Reference TA403 E497 1987

 

Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nanotechnology

PSE Reference TA418.9 N35 H36 2000

 

MatWeb: the Online Materials Information Resource

 

Metals Handbook   

The Metals Handbook is an earlier edition of the  ASM (Metals) Handbook   Consult the online edition for the most recent information.

PSE Reference TA459 A5 1978  (17 volume set)

 

Metals Handbook, Desk Edition    

Use toolbar on right, Metals Handbook Desk Edition, is listed under ASM Desk Editions and General Reference.

Also in print: PSE Reference TA459 M288 1998

 


MIL-HDBKs and MMPDS:

MIL-HDBK-17:  Composite Materials Handbook, MIL-HDBK-17    June 2002

 

MIL-HDBK 5 (rev. J):   Metallic Materials and Elements for Aerospace Vehicle Structures

January 2003


MMPDS-01: Metallic Materials Properties Development and Standardization      

January 2003

Available though the NTRL database, logon via VPN for off-campus access (UCD students, faculty & staff only)

 
MMPDS-04: Metallic Materials Properties Development and Standardization
(plus change notice 1)

April 2009

Available on CD-ROM, ask for it at PSE Library Circulation Desk: TL698 .M48 2009 CD-ROM

 


Modeling and Simulation for Material Selection and Mechanical Design, 2004

Location: PSE  TN698 .M63 2004

 

NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables

PSE Reference QD511 N57 1998

 

Wood Handbook: Wood as an Engineering Material

USDA, General Technical Report FPL-GTR-190,  April 2010

 

Overview of patent resources for UCD inventors and researchers _____________________________________________ For helpful information about copyright see the Library’s Scholarly Communications Program Copyright and Licensing Page  ...

Overview of Standards resources available at UC Davis ___________________________________ ...


ORCID iD:  What is it?  

 

ORCID IDORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID) is an independent, non-profit, community-driven organization that provides unique, persistent identifiers (ORCID iDs) for researchers in all fields.

ORCID iDs:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • integrate your work in the digital scholarly ecosystem
  • will soon make it possible to create an automatically updated list of your publications (if:  you include your ORCID iD when submitting manuscripts; enable the Auto-Update feature; publishers allow/require ORCID iDs as part of manuscript submission, as increasing numbers are doing).  

 

How to get one:

Go to  ORCID  and click “register now” to obtain an ORCID iD.

Recommended:

  • Use the search & link wizards to add your works (publications and other scholarship)
  • Use the search & link wizards to list funding you have received

All aspects of your ORCID record are entirely under your control.

 

What it’s used for // How to improve your profile and correct errors

  • Include your ORCID iD when submitting manuscripts (where possible/required)
  • Link other IDs you have to your ORCID iD (Web of Science Reseacher ID, Scopus Author ID, Loop profile, etc.).
  • Consider unifying the “beyond the PDF” aspects of your scholarship (Google Scholar Profile, Twitter account, blog, FigShare, GitHub, ImpactStory, etc.) by listing them in the “Websites” section of your ORCID iD.
  • Include your ORCID iD on your: departmental web page/profile,  C.V.,  email signature, twitter profile, grants, and anywhere else you provide a list of your work.

 


Google Scholar Profile:   What is it?

If you have publications indexed in Google Scholar, you can create a profile that will show up when people search on your name. It will display your publications, any information you provide, and a set of metrics including h-index.

 

How to get one:

Go to  Google Scholar Citations  and sign in with your Google account. You will then be asked for your name, affiliation, etc. Next, Google Scholar will automatically suggest publications to add to your profile. Select the ones that are yours to add to your profile. Add your research interests as keywords, which can then be used to search on by people looking for other researchers in a field.

 

What it’s used for:

A Google Scholar profile will show up at the top of results when people search for your publications in Google Scholar. It increases visibility of your work by providing a bibliography, indicates which publications are yours if you share a common name. It also shows a citation count to your work, provides an H-index measure.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

See Google’s FAQ for answers to how to add missing publications or correct other errors.

 

To find Google Scholar profiles for other UC Davis reseachers:

Search Google  for: “Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label    [replace “chemistry” with subject/topic of interest]
Or click:     Verified email at ucdavis.edu” chemistry -label


Altmetrics:  What is it?

Altmetrics: is a term coined in 2010 to refer to metrics that offer alternative (or additional options) to widely accepted metrics such as journal impact factor, number of citations to a given article, h-index, etc. Altmetrics provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

 

Altmetrics Bookmarklet:   is available free.
Go to:  Altmetrics Bookmarklet
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.

 

What it’s used for:

Add the Altmetrics Bookmarklet to your tool bar, visit any paper available online, click the bookmarklet to get article level metrics for that paper.  Track the impact of your articles, or articles of interest to you, in social media.

 


ResearcherID:   What is it?

Researcher ID  is a unique identifier scheme developed by Thompson Reuters and used in Web of Science as well as being compatible with other ID schemes.

 

How to get one:

Go to  ResearcherID  and click “join now”, and enter your information. You will be sent an email; click on the link in the email and finish entering your information (such as your

institution name) to create the ResearcherID. You will then be able to link the ID to ORCID.

 

What it’s used for:

ResearcherID, like ORCID and SCOPUS author ID, is used to tell authors with similar names apart and produce profiles of author work. If you use Endnote or Web of Science, ResearcherID ties into these systems seamlessly. Use your ResearcherID on your CV, grants, and other profiles.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

Once you have gotten the ResearcherID, you can add to your publications list by clicking “add publications” and then searching Web of Science, adding a RIS file from Endnote or RefManager, or connecting directly to Endnote. You can also connect to ORCID, and import the publications from your ORCID profile (or vice-versa).

 


Scopus Author ID:   What is it?

SCOPUS  is a database of literature from all fields, produced by Elsevier. The database automatically assigns unique ID numbers to authors. These IDs help SCOPUS distinguish between similarly-named authors as well as helping to group all the documents by an author together.

 

How to get one:

If you have publications indexed by SCOPUS, you have automatically been assigned a SCOPUS author ID number. You can check this by going to SCOPUS  and entering your information.

 

What it’s used for:

In addition to being the tool SCOPUS uses to identify authors, some grant agencies will ask you for SCOPUS ID numbers.
How to improve your profile and correct errors.

 

How to improve your profile and correct errors

If there are errors in your profile, you can fill out the author feedback form: in SCOPUS, run an author search, click on the author’s name, then on the link that says “request author detail corrections.”
You can add your SCOPUS ID to your ORCID profile by clicking “add to ORCID” from your author page in SCOPUS; directions are here.  Once you do this, you will be asked to log into ORCID, to verify that you authorize SCOPUS to access your ORCID account, and then you will walk through adding the appropriate SCOPUS profile and publications to your ORCID profile.

ENDNOTE:   What it is & How to Get Help

Endnote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).
Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students. 
  • Endnote Online:   Requires online registration.  Usually the best choice for undergraduate students.  

 

Endnote: Getting Started Guide

(Covers both versions):

  • getting references into and out of Endnote
  • using Endnote with Word
  • setting up Endnote Libraries, Preferences, Groups, and Journal Abbreviations


Citing the Literature:    Citation Formats & Journal Abbreviations for Physical Sciences & Engineering

 

Citation Guides:
Commonly used citation styles including: APA, CSE, Chicago, MLA and others.

 

ACS Style Guide, Chapter 14:
American Chemical Society (ACS) guidelines for citations of all types. See Table 14-2 (pgs 292-293) for common types of references with examples.

 

ACS Style Guide   An important reference for all chemists. In addition to providing citation guidelines, the ACS Style Guide includes chapters on:

  • Ethics in Scientific Publication
  • Writing Style and Word Usage
  • Peer Review
  • Copyright Basics
  • Electronic Submission of Manuscripts
  • conventions for forumulas, elements, substances, tables, etc.

Print: PSE Library Reference: QD8.5 A25 [YEAR]

 

CASSI Journal Abbreviations:
Use to look up journal abbreviations used in chemistry.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Citation Reference    7 page PDF
Short & efficient guide to IEEE/engineering citation format.

 

Engineering:  IEEE Editorial Style Manual    54 page PDF
Citation formats and editorial guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters.  Includes abbreviations for IEEE publications.

Guides created for library classes taught for the Materials Science department are listed here.

 

EMS298-ECH298 Library Assignment and Session Outline 2017