This guide replaces and updates the Energy Efficiency Institute Guide and the Energy Graduate Group Guide.
Melinda Livas email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org are available to assist undergraduates desiring assistance
Daniel Goldstein email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org are available to assist graduate students and faculty desiring assistance
Key Resources: Indexes to Scholarly Literature
These are some the principal disciplinary indexes in engineering and other pertinent fields that conduct energy-related research. For additional energy-related resources be sure to check out the subject guides for those fields–especially engineering.
Compendex [via Elsevier, Engineering Village]
Tags: Aerospace, Agricultural Engineering, Automation, Automotive Engineering, Bioengineering, Chemicals, Communications, Computers, Engineering, Food Technology, Forensics, Mechanical Engineering, Standards, Technology, Transportation
Related links: Engineering Research Profile, Help
Scopus [via Elsevier]
Web of Science Core Collection [via Clarivate Analytics]
PAIS Index [via ProQuest]
Sociological Abstracts [via ProQuest]
Business Source Complete [via EBSCO]
EconLit [via Proquest]
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world’s economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association’s Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.
SciFinder [Registration Required] [via American Chemical Society]
Tags: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Materials Science
Related links: UC Davis Registration Instructions for SciFinder and SciFinderN, SciFinderN (new platform), SciFinder: How to Use, SciFinderN: How to Use, Keep Me Posted: Alert Service, SciFinder Troubleshooting
Key Resources: Current Awareness
These are some of the principal news and other current awareness resources that cover energy-related topics
Designed for those who need to know what’s happening to issues on Capitol Hill. From federal agency appropriations to comprehensive energy legislation, E&E Daily is the place insiders go to track their environmental and energy issues in Congress.
Wall Street Journal – Current Newspapers [via ProQuest]
EnergyWire is designed to provide deep, broad and insightful coverage of the transformation of the energy sector. EnergyWire focuses on the business, environmental and political issues surrounding the rapidly expanding energy industry.
Gartner Campus Access
Gartner provides technology-related information and insights, containing research findings and advice on technology markets, topics, and industries that help inform decisions related to information technology. Among the type of research that can be found in Gartner are: * Technology products, services, and trends * Global IT industry perspectives * IT management and organizations* IT strategies and governance * Business-IT issues* Market research* Real-world case studies
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY OFFICE OF SCIENTIFIC & TECHNICAL INFORMATION
Access journal articles, accepted manuscripts and more resulting from DOE research funding
U.S. ENERGY INFORMATION ADMINISTRATION (EIA)
Provides industry information regarding the key sectors of energy. Data encompasses domestic and international energy information.
INTERNATIONAL ENERGY AGENCY
An international group committed to sustainable energy with sections on policies and data and more.
NATIONAL RENEWABLE ENERGY LABORATORY
This is a U.S. Government research institute focused on technological innovation in energy generation, consumption, storage and distribution.
DOE OFFICE OF ENERGY EFFICIENCY & RENEWABLE ENERGY
This unit focuses on renewable electricity generation, energy-saving construction and manufacturing, and sustainable transportation
U.S. ENERGY INFORMATION ADMINISTRATION
This is an excellent source for statistics and current news on an array of energy sources and use patterns.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
This site provides current information and data about U.S. energy sectors, markets, legal issues and more.
DATABASE OF STATE INCENTIVES FOR RENEWABLES & EFFICIENCY
A resource to identify state-level policies and incentives.
ENERGY POLICY RESEARCH FOUNDATION
Energy economics, mostly oil.
Engineering Full-Text Collections
These collections of ebooks, have significant energy-related content.
AccessEngineering [via McGraw Hill]
Ebook Collection [via EBSCO]
Taylor & Francis eBooks
OHE: O’Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Tech Books Online) [via Proquest]
Annual Reviews [via Annual Reviews]
Annual Reviews provide comprehensive, critical reviews, written by leading scientists across a range of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
ScienceDirect eBook Collection [via Elsevier / ScienceDirect]
Catalogs and Resources
Information on the new library catalog and “Get it at UC” replacing “UC-elinks”
Set to “UC Davis Libraries” to search campus holdings. Set to “UC Libraries” to search across the UC System
Browse UCD holdings by title author, subject, call number
Researcher Services Department––Faculty and Graduate Student assistance
- Student Services Department–Undergraduate and Professional Student assistance
- Connect From Off-Campus via Shibboleth
An alternative authentication method that doesn’t require downloading any software, it works with selected licensed resources.
Bibliographic Management and Other Tools
- Guide to Citation Styles
Information about Endnote, Zotero, and Mendeley
ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)- provides you with a unique, persistent digital identifier that you can attach to your publications.
- resolves potential name ambiguity
- seamlessly links to multiple research formats, i.e., grants, manuscripts, etc.
- ensures that your work is recognized
Sign up for an ORCiD account: https://orcid.org/
Other Author Identification Systems include:
Researcher ID can be requested for use in Web of Science. It can be linked to your ORCID ID.
Scopus Author ID is automatically assigned by the publisher Elsevier for use in its Scopus database.
Google Scholar Profile. If your work is indexed in Google Scholar, you can sign up for a profile at Google Scholar Citations . It will appear when people search for your publications.
Altmetrics Bookmarklet provides a social media profile of references to your work.