English Language and Literature

by Roberto C. Delgadillo – June 19, 2018

This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of English Language and Literature at UC Davis.

Roberto C. Delgadillo

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

rdelgadillo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑8266

In this Guide:

Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature
An array of literary databases (including the full text of poems, plays, and fiction), reference works (including bibliographies, encyclopedias, etc.), and links to other Web resources for the study of literature. The complete text of journal articles is available on the database for all or some of the journals indexed. Fully searchable texts of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Iter, meaning ‘a journey’ or ‘a path’ in Latin, is a non-profit research project with partners in Toronto, Canada (the headquarters), New York City, and Tempe, Arizona. The goal of Iter is to increase access to all published materials pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and, eventually, to the Middle Ages (400-1500), through the creation of online bibliographic databases.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Indexes citations and provides linked page images of works represented in the microfilm series Early English Books I and II, based on The Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard and Redgrave, 1475-1640); the Short-Title Catalog II (Wing, 1641-1700), The Thomson Tracts (1640-1661), and The Early English Books Tracts Supplements.
Coverage: 1450-1700
Tags: Great Britain, History, Language, Literature

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.

Coverage: 1701-1800
Tags: Europe, History, Language, Literature, North America

Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell’s Acting Edition of Shakespeare’s Plays (1774).

This collection contains more than sixty volumes of lyric poetry written between 1789 and 1832 by fifty-one Scottish women. In addition, the database contains biographical, critical, and contextual information for each poet

Search the full text of the following Chadwyck-Healey literature databases: 20th Century African-American Poetry, 20th Century American Poetry, 20th Century Drama, African-American Poetry (1750-1900), American Drama, American Poetry (1600-1900), The Bible in English (990-1970), Early American Fiction, Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700), Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911), Eighteenth-Century Fiction (1700-1780), English Drama (1280-1915), English Poetry (600-1900), The Faber Poetry Library, Nineteenth-Century Fiction, The W.B. Yeats Collection (1885-1995)

A searchable, full-text collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women’s rights. The texts, collected between the late 1800s and 1945 are in fifteen different languages and cover four centuries

Coverage: 1543-1945
Tags: History, Women

“The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world.” HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. HCPP includes all the “sessional papers” of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics. It also includes the full text from “Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament,” from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.

Coverage: 1715-2003/04
Tags: Government, Great Britain, History, Politics
A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.
Coverage: 1643-1940
Tags: Christianity, Religion, Saints
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program.
Coverage: 1982-2004
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Corsair, the website for the Pierpont Morgan Library includes a searchable database of more than 15,000 images selected from the Pierpont Morgan Library’s collection of medieval manuscripts.

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

Offers full, interactive access to scholarly approved editions of great works of literature that are fully annotated for seven literary elements (characters, plot, setting, style, themes/issues, vocabulary, and voice/point of view) and illuminated by artwork and related video clips. Also provides digitized access to Common Core Titles, in keeping with Common Core State Standards in education for Grades 9 through CCR (College and Career Readiness).
The digital Burney Collection provides full text access to almost 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English and British colonial news media that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The “Access World News” database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

Coverage: 1785-2011
Tags: News
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Tags: News

Search Palmer’s Index to The Times, 1790-1905 and the Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980. Includes full-text for 1800-1870.

Aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 71 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Also available in the database Literature Online (LION).

Coverage: 1920-present
Tags: Literature

Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage: 1900-present
Tags: Art, Humanities

Gale’s Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.

Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.

Coverage: 1665-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.

Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly
Tags: History, Language, Literature, Medieval Studies

The ESTC lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800. Most (but not all) of the listed items are written in English and were published the British Isles or North America, with some items from other parts of the world.

Coverage: 1473-1800
Tags: Great Britain, History, Language, Literature

The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1960 and the present. Also includes book reviews.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Literature, Shakespeare

The English Literary Periodicals series consists of 233 titles published during the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in England. This index provides valuable information on the contents of the titles.

Coverage: 1681-1914
Tags: Great Britain, History, Language, Literature

Play Index searches publication details of over 30,000 plays published after 1949 and written from Antiquity to the present. Search for plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, cast type, and more. This database searches for copies of plays published both separately and in collections/anthologies.

Related: The print version of Play Index is available for the years 1949-2002 in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, Z5781.P53

Tags: Drama

This is an index of translated books published in approximately 100 countries. Published by UNESCO, it contains “more than 1.600,000 entries in all disciplines : literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth.” For earlier years, see the hard copy volumes in the Humanities and Social Sciences Reference Collection.

Coverage: 1979-current
Tags: Language, Literature

The Old English machine-readable corpus is a complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. A catalogue of the over 3000 texts included in the corpus is available in Angus Cameron’s “A List of Old English Texts” in A Plan for the Dictionary of Old English, ed. R. Frank and A. Cameron.

Offers access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.

Coverage: 1100-1500
Tags: Language, Literature, Middle East

Compiled and edited by UC Davis faculty member Lynette Hunter. From the welcome page: “…Represents work by many bibliographers and social historians over the past three decades, who have given permission to use their original research in the creation of a resource for people interested in English-language printed books related to food, drink and diet, and their associated economics, technologies, science and sociocultural history.”

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.