ENT 153: Medical Entomology

by Ruth Gustafson, Erik Davis Fausak – January 19, 2022

UC Davis has one of the most extensive entomology and arthropod library collections in the University of California Library system.    The Carlson Health Sciences Library holds veterinary-related titles pertaining to entomology and titles concerned with human diseases caused by insect vectors in the field of medical entomology.
NOTE for January 2022:  Shields Library is now open reduced hours (closing at 8pm weekdays through Friday January 28th).  All required health and safety protocols from the campus must be followed including wearing face masks to access campus buildings. The 24-hour study room at Shields is back open as of January 10, 2022.  See the latest Library COVID information for Shields at https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/coronavirus/
Carlson Health Sciences Library is closed through January 30th but delivery of materials will be provided.
Check the UCD Libraries hours for latest updates on each library’s hours (including weekend hours):

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as “medical entomol*” or “insect vector*” or mosquit* disease* rather than the more specific insect vector* viral transmission load or Zika molecular epidemiol*.  Use the literature databases listed in the categories below to search for very specific (article-level or book-chapter level) topics.

Useful subject headings (sometimes from two subject vocabularies, see information in bullets below on Library of Congress or National Library of Medicine Classification systems) for searches in this area include:  Animals as carriers of disease | Insect vectors |  Insects as carriers of disease | Zoonoses | Vector Control

  • QL xxx  Location of books on the natural history or general biology including ecology and physiology of insects/arthropods
  • QX    Parasitology – Disease Vectors  (NOTE: QX is a medical library call number area used only at Carlson Health Sciences Library and Blaisdell Medical Library)
    • QX 500 Medical Entomology, general
    • QX 600 Disease Vectors, general
    • QX 650  Disease Vectors, specific
  • RA xxx  RA is Public Health (NOTE: R call numbers are only in Shields Library)
    • RA 639.5-641  Medical entomology; insect vectors

Vector biology/Entomology areas NOT pertinent to human health/medical entomology

  • SB 818 – SB 945   Insects as plant pests (NOTE: SB is plant/botany area found in Shields Library)
  • SF  xxx  Domesticated animals and infections (Vet Med related – animal rather than human diseases)

 

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

UC Library Search: User Guide

 

Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification.  See link below). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

Date: 2004

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural and Environmental SciencesArts & HumanitiesBiological SciencesEngineering & TransportationGeneral & Multidisciplinary SourcesGovernment InformationHealth SciencesPhysical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as ASFA & PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to search by journal title and then look for the black and white striped  symbol  Refereed (referee shirt) indicating the publication is refereed or peer-reviewed.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.