ESP 161: Environmental Law

by Sheena M Campbell – October 11, 2021

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

Guides & Tutorials 

Resources to help you find, evaluate and use information.

Citation Styles

Find resources to help you follow the APA, MLA or CSE style guidelines for formatting and citing information sources.

Citation Managers

Software to organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Compare popular citation management products: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and Sciwheel

Get help from a Librarian

Book a Research Appointment with Sheena

Columbia Law School Litigation Database

This site provides two databases of climate change caselaw. Cases in the databases are organized by type of claim and are searchable. In many cases, links are available to decisions, complaints, and other case documents.

Environmental Law Reporter - Judicial Watch

This database contains all judicial decisions published by ELR. The most recent decisions are reported in ELR Update. Cases reported in previous issues of ELR Update can be found in the archives.

ELR articles are relevant to both legal policy and practice. For the current issue click on “This Month’s Issue“. The Subject Matter Index allows you to search for articles by topic.

Environmental Law & Policy Monitor

The legal firm Troutman Pepper’s team of environmental lawyers track important environmental law and policy developments and posting about them here, along with analysis as to what they could mean for the private businesses to which they apply.

UC Berkeley Law School - Legal Planet

Legal Planet, a collaboration between faculty at UC Berkeley School of Law and UCLA School of Law, provides insight and analysis on energy and environmental law and policy. The blog draws upon the individual research strengths and expertise of the law schools’ legal scholars and think tanks. Blog posts focus on court decisions, regulatory actions, and state and legislation that affect climate change policy, water resource management, toxic waste disposal, renewable energy, air quality, land use, and more.

Natural Resources Defense Council - Environmental Law Blog

The latest opinion and analysis from NRDC’s science, legal, and policy experts.

Environmental Law Foundation - Litigation Blog

ELF continues to work on improving environmental quality for communities and consumers by providing access to information and through the enforcement of environmental, toxics, and right-to-know laws. This list includes cases in active litigation

Use the UC Davis Library Catalog to search collections available in and through the Library.

 

Tips for locating books in the library:

  1. Note the call number for any title you would like to find, e.g. QH101.C45 2010
  2. Library Map: This will be helpful in locating books with call numbers.
GreenWire

The one-stop source for those who need to stay on top of all of today’s major environmental and energy action. With an average of more than 25 stories a day, covering the complete spectrum, from electricity industry restructuring to Clean Air Act litigation to public land management.

See also the related resources linked from this site: EnergyWire; Climatewire; E&E Daily; E&E NewsPM.

Newsbank

Full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for over 600 U.S. newspapers. The “America’s Newspapers” product has been expanded to “Access World News” with many more U.S. and California titles plus hundreds of international news sources.

Newspaper Source

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text from more than 335 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

Citing Sources

This guide includes information about commonly used citation styles (MLA, Chicago, APA, etc.). It includes information about style manuals and recommends citation guides that will help you be consistent and clear with your citations.