Welcome to the UC Davis Library guide to environmental toxicology.   Environmental toxicology is the study of toxic properties of chemicals (natural and man made) and their effects on humans and other species and their movement and fate in the environment.  This guide provides links to key information resources and a variety of content including articles, data, e-books, as well as encyclopedia and guides.

Alesia McManus

Research Support Services
Environmental Sciences Librarian/Lead, Instructional Services

alemcmanus@ucdavis.edu

530-752-4485

In this Guide:

1

More than 27 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes the following databases: CHEMIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). Other resources include Haz-Map, Household Products Database and TOXMAP.

Offers access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. TOXLINE is also part of TOXNET but the ProQuest version of TOXLINE has UC-eLinks which is not enabled in TOXNET.

Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Forensics, Medicine, Toxicology

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

Indexes 1000s of scientific studies from MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, and Agricola to facilitate review of the evidence of animals as “early warning” sentinels of human health hazards. For each study, curators add information about animal species, exposures, health effects, location, and whether the study includes data providing evidence linking animal sentinel events to human health risk. You can browse the database by year, journal, author, exposure, risk factor, species, outcome, or by methodology.  The database is no longer being updated.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]

4

VPN

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE. Broad biomedical scope covering the following areas:

  • Drug therapy and research, including pharmaceutics, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Clinical and experimental (human) medicine
  • Basic biological science relevant to human medicine
  • Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
  • Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
  • Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
  • Veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing
  • Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse
  • Forensic science
  • Alternative and complementary medicine
Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
Tags: Allied Health, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health

PLEASE NOTE: upgraded in May 2012 to 8 simultaneous users access — please LOGOFF when finished. FSTA (Food Science and Technology Abstracts) is the world’s largest database of food science, food technology, and nutrition information. FSTA covers topics relating to every aspect of the food chain including all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Covers over 1800 journals and patents, books, theses, conference proceedings, patents, standards, and legislation. Comprehensive coverage.

IMPORTANT: default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Database guide to all features of the FSTA database
•For assistance searching FSTA, e-mail bioagquestions@lib.ucdavis.edu

Coverage: 1969-present
Tags: Food, Technology

Organizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish water environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications.

Coverage: 1981-present
Tags: Biology, Fisheries, Marine Life, Oceanography, Science

7

More than 27 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

8

VPN

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.

Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

Offers access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. TOXLINE is also part of TOXNET but the ProQuest version of TOXLINE has UC-eLinks which is not enabled in TOXNET.

Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Forensics, Medicine, Toxicology

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

1

VPN

Build your Data Management Plan using the DMPTool which provides a guide for drafting the document that you must submit with your grant application. Users of the DMPTool can view sample plans, preview funder requirements, and view the latest changes to their plans.The tool supports data management plans and funder requirements across the disciplines and includes multiple agency requirements. Templates for funders of BioAg and EnviSci interest include: Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Gulf of Mexico Research Initiative, Institute of Museum and Library Services, National Institutes of Health, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, NSF-AGS: Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences, NSF-BIO: Biological Sciences (2013- ), NSF-CHE: Chemistry Division, NSF-DMR: Materials Research, NSF-EAR: Earth Sciences, NSF-EFRI: Emerging Frontiers in Reseach and Innovation, NSF-ENG: Engineering, and NSF-GEN: Generic.

Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Ecology, Toxicology.

Coverage: 1972-present
Tags: Ecology, Environmental Science, Pollution, Toxicology

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes the following databases: CHEMIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). Other resources include Haz-Map, Household Products Database and TOXMAP.

Includes material safety data sheets, guides to chemical safety, toxicology information, environmental sources, and laws and regulations. A WikiBook.

Tags: Toxicology

This 14-volume set covers all aspects of toxicology: Volume 1: General Principles; Volume 2: Cellular and Molecular Toxicology; Volume 3: Toxicology Testing and Evaluation; Volume 4: Biotransformation; Volume 5: Immune System Toxicology; Volume 6: Cardiovascular Toxicology; Volume 7: Renal Toxicology; Volume 8: Respiratory Toxicology; Volume 9: Hepatic Toxicology; Volume 10: Gastrointestinal Toxicology; Volume 11: Reproductive and Endocrine Toxicology; Volume 12: Developmental Toxicology; Volume 13: Nervous System and Behavioral Toxicology; and Volume 14: Carcinogenesis. Useful for “Toxicology researchers, academic and medical practitioners, food science researchers, environmental researchers and consultants, forensic scientists, and occupational health and safety institutes.”

This “compendium of definitions of all current toxicological terminology” is an “authoritative reference” illustrating and describing “words, concepts, acronyms and symbols for both the toxicological theory and applied risk assessment, as well as providing guidance on the correct selection of problematic, similar and frequently-misused terms.” All sections are peer-reviewed and updated with this 3rd edition. New to this edition is the “inclusion of all terminology and concepts relating to molecular toxicology, nanotoxicology and computational toxicology.”

Includes 104 chapters over two volumes. The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Ecotoxicology “reveals the diversity of issues, problems and challenges that have faced, and are facing today, receiving environments. It also indicates ways by which tools, strategies and future investigations can contribute to correct, minimize, solve and prevent water quality degradation.”Entries range from: Acid Rain Toxicity, Biomarkers of Ecological Relevance in Ecotoxicology, Estrogenic Endocrine-Disrupting Chemicals, Nanomaterials in the Environment, Polychaetes in Ecotoxicology, to Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Ecosystems. [RG 1/15/14]

Coverage: 2013

Free portal which organizes topic pages on Chemicals and Drugs, Diseases and the Environment, Environmental Health, Occupational Safety and Health, Poisoning, Risk Assessment and Regulations, Toxicology, and Pesticide Exposure. User-focused portals for the Public, Researchers/Scientists, Health Professionals, Students/Educators, and Emergency Responders. Includes excellent Reference tools section with A to Z list of resources.

Full-text searchable database collection of more than 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in: agriculture; biomedical science; chemistry; environmental sciences; food science and nutrition; forensic science;  math and statistics; veterinary medicine and more.The full database can be searched, or any of the licensed subsets. The following TEN packages are subscribed by the University of California/UC Davis libraries and are also listed separately under their respective Subject Guides: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.

Over 3,000 books with 2013- current publication dates. The Elsevier eBook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The current year’s books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.

Coverage: 2013-

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2017. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2016
Tags: Multidisciplinary

EPA’s central repository of all EPA documents with over 7,000 titles available in paper or electronic form.

Provides information on many common household products which includes: a listing of chemical ingredients (with CAS number), health effects, handling, disposal, and manufacturer (with contact information). Can be searched by: brand name, chemical name, health effects, type of product, manufacturer, product category or alphabetical list of products.

How To Search the Household Products Database

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas. Includes the following databases: CHEMIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), TOXLINE, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology and Environmental Teratology Information Center (DART/ETIC), GENE-TOX, Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS), International Toxicity Estimates for Risk (ITER), LactMed, and Toxics Release Inventory (TRI). Other resources include Haz-Map, Household Products Database and TOXMAP.

Collection of searchable major chemical reference works.

Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Includes Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs (formerly Pharmasource), Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, and Dictionary of Organic Compounds
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Dictionary of Carbohydrates
Dictionary of Food Compounds
Dictionary of Natural Products
Dictionary of Marine Natural Products
Properties of Organic Compounds
Polymers: A Property Database

Tags: Chemistry

3rd edition. This extensive 1,000+ page handbook “provides an updated practical reference source for practicing toxicologists in the pharmaceutical and chemical industries, contract laboratories, regulatory agencies, and academia. Written by experts in their specific toxicology fields, the chapters provide both fundamental and applied information. Topics range from General Toxicology, to Genetic Toxicology, Human Clinical Toxicology, Histopathology, Clinical Pathology, Metabolism and Toxicokinetics, Risk Assessment, and more.”

Comprehensive 2-volume set on ” basic toxicological data, emphasizing toxic effects primarily in humans, but also those of animals and biological systems in vitro.” The 4th edition also “contains several new chapters on important topics such as nanotoxicology, metals in prosthetics and dental implants, gene-environment interaction, neurotoxicology, metals in food, renal, cardiovascular, and diabetes effects of metal exposures …”

Provides information on many common household products which includes: a listing of chemical ingredients (with CAS number), health effects, handling, disposal, and manufacturer (with contact information). Can be searched by: brand name, chemical name, health effects, type of product, manufacturer, product category or alphabetical list of products.

How To Search the Household Products Database

NOTE: Individual registration required–although access is free to UC Davis affiliated users.

Includes information (some full-text) on thousands of potentially hazardous chemicals, focusing on effects of hazardous substances on humans and the environment. Most information duplicates what is already in TOXNET but the major resource unique to RightAnswer is RTECS (Registry of the Toxic Effects of Chemical Substances).

Free, up-to-date SDSs (Material Safety Data Sheets) provided by manufacturers.

SDS via UC Safety

The primary source for those who need to evaluate the hazardous potential of substances used in commerce. Combines data on toxicological, flammability, reactivity, explosive potential, and regularity information on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2600 new entries. Also includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDLH) levels for approximately 1,000 chemicals. It also covers exposure-level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation. Especially important in areas of industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policy making.

Coverage: 2005
Tags: Chemistry, Toxicology

A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. {RG 12/11/13}

Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

EPA offices and laboratories, and outside organizations, have developed approved methods for measuring the concentration of a substance or pollutant.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Psychology

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

Nature Protocols is an interactive online resource for experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry. Protocols are presented in a ’recipe’ style providing step-by-step descriptions of procedures that users can take to the lab bench and immediately apply in their own research. Protocols on the site are fully searchable and organized into logical categories to be easily accessible. Together, ’Nature Protocols’ and the interactive ’Protocols Network’ create a dynamic forum for scientists to upload and comment on protocols. Also includes Stem cell series, Stepwise blog, Discussion Forum, Tools & reagents, and Featured videos.

Coverage: 2005-

Springer Protocols contains more than 34,000 (as of September 2014) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Ten-page User Guide